My new lodger

Yesterday’s adventurous lone long ranger, the monarch caterpillar, is now my new lodger. It is settled in to its cocoon and is safely attached to the brick work at my front door.  It is in an ideal position for me to keep an eye on it. Thank you, little critter, for choosing my home for your confinement.Getting settledIn my corner

Footnote: I must remember to put a DO NOT DISTURB sign next to my lodger before the window cleaner comes tomorrow.

© silkannthreades

28 thoughts on “My new lodger

        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes I live in New Zealand. I am not sure what the history of the monarch is in NZ but they are certainly treasured here. And I report my butterfly sightings to a NZ Monarch butterfly website.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Thanks for the link. They are remarkable travellers. I laughed reading that the male monarch sometimes obtains moisture by mud puddling. What a great term; mud puddling.

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    This is so much fun! thank you for sharing, even if you’re not happy with the images! Sometimes I place my hand in front of the camera at the same distance as the insect or gecko or flower. My camera will lock on to that distance if I hold the shutter down half way. Then I turn the camera to the subject and try to match that same distance…. Then, “click.” I do that five or six times and hope for a good likeness!

    You did great, and I look forward to the next installment!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s the first time I have been able to see the shed skin like that.The green is very pale. I suppose that is because it is new. The other cocoons by the swan plants are a much darker green. They are older and very hard to find amongst the vegetation.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I have found it really difficult to take good photographs of the caterpillars and the cocoons. You would think it would be easy to capture a photo of such still beings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

