Lone long ranger

Yesterday I read a fascinating post on the theme of Wanderlust in far off South America. (http://playamart.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/the-wanderlust-breed/ ) Little did I expect that, this morning, I would witness something very like Wanderlust at my own front door.

Here it is; a solitary monarch caterpillar climbing up the brick facade of the house.Onward and upward

What possessed this little creature  to travel at least 15 metres from the other caterpillars and cocoons. Why was it not happy to stay near the others and the security of the swan plants and other vegetation? Does moving to the hot bricks of my front door, give it a competitive advantage? Or is it just an insatiably curious caterpillar full of wanderlust and the spirit of adventure?  Who are you?How far will I wander?Tomorrow I will see if there is a cocoon decorating my bricks, or if the caterpillar has continued its wandering lone, long ranger journey.

© silkannthreades

16 thoughts on “Lone long ranger

  1. ordinarygood

    Some caterpillars really travel a distance to find their very own spot. If only we knew why! Great that you can record your sightings on a website. I noted a similar one for Keruru spotting recently.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I really found it so extraordinary that this one caterpillar had ventured so far. Have you made any kereru spotting reports? I love doing the annual bird survey but have yet to report a kereru.

      Reply
      1. ordinarygood

        No I have not seen any Keruru since seeing the mention of the website. We live near a very busy road and while there are some large trees around our street they prefer the quieter, wooded areas in our suburb.
        I do the annual bird survey too! Marvellous stuff.

        Reply
  2. lensandpensbysally

    Monarchs are one of my favorites and such beneficial creatures. I can feel your delight and joy. It will be a weeks and weeks before our monarchs emerge. Will be watching for next episode in the unveiling of these wonders in your part of our universe.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The cocoon is forming as I write. We have a monarch website here where we can report sightings. I have made two butterfly sighting reports so far. 🙂 Makes me happy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

