No caterpillars, no computer, no butterflies, no earrings; just Swans!

My faithful five-year old laptop decided to have a tantrum last week, followed by a meltdown. Ditto for me when it happened. I am hapless and brainless without my technology. My son kindly agreed to lend me his laptop until mine is repaired ( hopefully it  is repairable ). It is  wonderful to have a laptop again but my son’s is so  much newer than mine that I hardly know what to do with it. It makes me feel as though I am back in school struggling with long division.

However, in the spirit of having a go, here is my first attempt at a post from a strange (to me) laptop.

The caterpillars on my swan plants are no more. They are all in their cocoon stage. One of the cocoons looks almost ready to be a butterfly  The others are still cogitating and storing up memories. The swan plants are putting out new leaves and, at the same time, they are producing the swans that give them their name.

Here are the swans; not sure if they get any more swan like  when the seed balloons open. Apparently the seeds have silky tufts.Little green swan

Closer swanSwan

The swans and the cocoons make me think of pretty earrings which is, perhaps, why I almost bought a pair of pearl drop earrings this afternoon.  Almost; they weren’t very expensive, for pearl earrings, but I thought, “No, that money will pay for a laptop assessment. Restrain your impulse shopping!” So, I came home, minus new earrings, to write this post.

All done; time for dinner 🙂

© silkannthreades

26 thoughts on “No caterpillars, no computer, no butterflies, no earrings; just Swans!

  1. Mrs. P

    Hey, just wanted to stop by and let you know that I have nominated you for a Leibster Award. Check out today’s post on my blog. I love your blog!

    Reply
  2. Letizia

    I wasn’t familiar with the swan plant so I just looked it up and will now be looking for it when it comes time to plant this Spring as I love anything in my garden that attracts the Monarch butterfly! Due to the heavy winters here, it will have to be an annual, but it looks worth it!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Let me know how it grows in your garden. I am hoping the seed balloons will burst and bring me lots of new swan plants for next year. I don’t know how the present ones will fare over our winter, which will be very mild compared to yours.

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        I will let you know (not for some time yet as we still have snow on the ground). However, I find that the best way to make these last weeks of winter go by quicker is to make plans for Spring planting! As much as I love winter snow I am starting to miss the colour green.

        Reply
  3. melodylowes

    Technology – what a love/hate relationship I have with it. When it works the way I want – LOVE! And when it doesn’t, it’s enough to drive a girl to drink. 😦 I hope your issues work themselves out..

    Reply
  4. lizzierosejewellery

    Oh dear – I hope it can be fixed. That explains why I didn’t hear back from you (I was starting to worry)! Hope you can remedy the Etsy problem, if not, you can bypass Etsy by letting me know which design you like and I’ll send you details on how to finish the transaction. Don’t forget I can custom make anklets in most colours and any length. Email me at Lizzierosejewellery@gmail.com if you want to go ahead, although I understand your computer needs are more pressing! Good Luck, Cath.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks! I will try and sort out my computer first. Then I will have another go at Etsy. It should be so easy but I can’t understand why it is befuddling me. Etsy ie.

      Reply
      1. lizzierosejewellery

        Any questions, just ask and I’ll try to help! I’m still on the learning curve of technology myself but like to sort out any problems, especially if it’s in connection with my shop! Good luck with the computer… Cath

        Reply
  5. Mrs. P

    Isn’t it strange how dependent we have become of our computers. I feel and understand your frustration. Technology changes so rapidly that it is hard to keep up with the updated versions. What’s wrong with old reliable, I say? I had noticed growing pains in mine as well and for security measures bought a removable hard drive to back up all of my research. Computers can be replaced, losing years of research is a pain that I am not willing to experience. I eventually decided to break my comfort zone and upgrade…at least a little by going from XP to Win 7. I’m not impressed by Win 8 and don’t have fancy gadgets to sync things to, so went for simpler.

    The swans are lovely…what kind of camera are you using? Your close ups are quite nice.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My laptop has been taken to the repair shop. I await for the verdict. I was amused that the technicians in the shop thought my laptop would be repairable whereas the salesman in the shop was sure I would be better off buying a new laptop. Either way the business will end up with a chunk of my money 🙂 My camera is a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1. It’s very basic but suits my style. I recently read a review of the latest version of this basic camera and apparently it is an excellent camera too.

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        I think computer repair/sales people know our addiction and dependency on our computers as so they can get away with large ransoms for their return. Great news about the camera and updated version. Mine is due for replacement. It’s moving parts make noise…ever since I stood under one of the falls at Niagra. It still takes okay pictures but I need one with better quality. Simple is better…but I’d like good, too!

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And I was thinking today as I put out the compost that I am so glad that we don’t have snakes. My garden has so many nice spots for a snake to hide, especially near the compost area.

      Reply
  6. ordinarygood

    I definitely relate to learning how to use the new technology. Part of my “drought” feelings in the past week were caused by swapping from a 7 year old laptop ( it was creaking and groaning) to a brand new slim and sleek new laptop. It is running Windows 8 and new Microsoft Office programmes….I am beginning to feel more confident in some aspects of the system but spending long hours fruitlessly trying to find my way around became very tedious.

    I hope your laptop can be revived.

    Thank goodness for digitally savvy children!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

