My Garden of Well-Being

Last year, I was meandering through the internet, searching for ways to strengthen my support for those near and dear to me who struggle with mental health well-being.  I came across the Wellbeing Garden on this website    http://www.slam.nhs.uk/wellbeing-garden

According to the website, there are five evidence based ways, or actions, to improve personal well-being. And it matters not if your mental health is near perfect ,or less than, because these 5 actions benefit us all.The five actions  are  Connect,  Be Active, Take Notice, Keep Learning, and Give.

I thought I would make a good start to the New Year by working in my Wellbeing Garden. I decided my action for the day would be Give. I enjoy making bread and, usually, make a good job of it, so I set out  to make a loaf of bread to give away. I make bread by hand and by machine.  I chose the machine option for today and look what happened to my first gift of the year…….Flattened

I felt that not even my very best friend would want an improperly risen loaf, so my bread has been gifted to the birds. Not quite what I was planning but the birds are feasting. Or, as in this photo, they are considering the feasting possibilities.Birds discuss, "Is it safe to eat?"

Now, to start at the end of the list and work backwards which seems to suit my day’s endeavours gone awry:

I gave to the birds;

I learned that even failures have a plus side, even if it’s mostly for the birds;

I noticed that I didn’t take enough notice when measuring my ingredients;

I was active making bread;

I connected with the birds, my fallibility, and the mysterious wonderous art of bread making.

And I feel fine and I think the birds do too.

18 thoughts on “My Garden of Well-Being

  1. Pingback: Connecting the World with Maps and Music | silkannthreades

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I am just about to give the birds a bit more of the bread. I didn’t let them have the whole loaf in one go, in case they developed severe indigestion.

      Reply
  2. cindy knoke

    You are a wonderful person & this is a nice philosophy!
    At least you didn’t burn your hand! I did on Christmas and New Years Eve. Smacked right into the oven heating coil. 3rd degree burns both time, inches from each other. I would have rather burnt the carrots! 🙂

    Reply
  3. pleisbilongtumi

    lesson learned: in all work we do is not always successful. Unfortunately you didn’t tell us how did it taste before you throw it to the bird. Wonderful thing to share. thank you

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, well, I did taste the bread. The taste was okay but the texture was sticky. I do have some left because it was too much to give, all at one time, to the birds. I may try to use it for toast for breakfast. And, yes a lesson learned. It is a hard one to learn too.

      Reply
  4. Clanmother

    You had a plan. It didn’t work out as you thought it would. Rather than giving up or giving into to frustration, you changed your plan. Then you assessed the results and then integrated the solution into experience/wisdom. While this project seems to be rather straightforward, if you break down the steps that took you from point A to point B and finally to point C, there was quite a few decision points. I think that we forget that we must stop, even for a minute, in the middle of whatever we are doing and recognize that the decisions we make, how insignificant they may seem, add up to a life. Brilliant post!!

    Reply
  5. leapingtracks

    There must be a lesson there too! I also meant to say that I was not surprised to see that the brillian Garden of Wellbeing tool had been developed by the UK’s South London and Mausdley’s NHS Health Care Trust. They are known as one of the best Trusts in our public health care system and were magnificent when successfully treating a friend of mine for breast cancer a few years ago.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That’s good to know. Until I stumbled upon that website my only knowledge of Mausdley was as the place where our NZ author Janet Frame spent time and was told that she was not, in fact, mentally ill. Imagine the relief after years of hospitalisation for a misdiagnosis of schizophrenia.

      Reply
  6. leapingtracks

    What a wonderful philisophy to live by. This is such an elegant, witty post, thank you, but I particularly like the reference to the birds considering their ‘feasting possibilities’ with its accompanying photograph. Made me really chuckle.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. My bread was not the only ‘disaster’ today. I have just burnt the carrots and overcooked the broccoli. Can we start the day again?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

