Something old, something new

In case you hadn’t noticed, I love blue; any blue;  all blues.

Inside

Inside

Inside, outside, any side, I will take blue any way I can, including  in edible form.

Even many of my books are blue, or so I discovered after Letizia reminded me to check what lay under the dust jackets. Mind you, in the case of these books, most of the dust jackets have long since gone to mysterious parts unknown. ( Where DO dust jackets go?  The same place as missing socks?)Book blues

So, in love with blue as I am, is it any wonder that my eyes lit up when I saw the cover  Britt had chosen for her latest novel, Nola Fran Evie?

I wanted to get my hands on it but, but…..here was the problem.  The book was only on Kindle (as far as I could tell) and I didn’t have a Kindle or any kind of e-reader. What to do?

Well, in the spirit of Britt’s book, I came up with a game plan.

First Base ~ download Kindle app, with accessibility plugin, for  PC

Second Base ~ download Nola Fran Evie

Third Base ~ start reading, and testing Kindle … ( including an attempt to read with my ears, via Microsoft Narrator; not the best of experiences, but good to know how these apps might work for those who really need them )

Home ~  decide Kindle is great/user-friendly and go to store to buy one; strike it lucky; the Kindle I want is on sale. 😀 😀

Gallivanta's world is set alight as she enters the Kindle age

Gallivanta’s world is set alight as she enters the Kindle age

Score ~ Amazon two; me one; Britt one.  I guess that’s a draw of sorts…..maybe?

Now, if only  the Kindle were blue……..

© silkannthreades

 

126 thoughts on “Something old, something new

  1. Pingback: I love to tell a story….honouring a long tradition of story telling through the ages | silkannthreades

  2. Wendy Macdonald

    I’m thinking you could make yourself a blue Kindle pouch to keep it in when you’re not using it. Isn’t Kindle great? I finally got one this summer and I love it. I keep mine in a small tote I made using leftover fabric and vintage buttons. Enjoy!

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Your tote sounds perfect. I made need to do something similar, or find something similar, you are right. I am loving my Kindle. I am about to buy my second book for it.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          There should actually be a way but what the signatures would look like I can’t imagine. I hate signing those little screens presented to me by the signature required courier. My signature comes out so badly every time!

  3. V. Roche

    I hope you’re prepared for the consequences, because your Kindle will soon become a money sink…I’ve spent $300 on books since I got mine this year :3

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Help! Fortunately, I am a very slow reader so perhaps I won’t manage to spend that much money initially. Mind you, I don’t mind giving money to writers. Most of them make the world a better place.

      Reply
  4. melodylowes

    You and your blue! I love blue, too – blue figures prominently in my garden, and in my house. I don’t have many blue books, however. 😦 Most of my treasured classics seem to be red, of all things. I feel compelled to conduct a thorough study of the possible whereabouts of socks and dust-jackets. I will let you know of my findings as soon as I find a pen…

    Reply
      1. melodylowes

        Oddly enough, I sorted my sock drawer this morning and threw out 4 socks without mates. I will very likely find their partners next week when I least expect it. 😉

        Reply
        1. melodylowes

          I seriously can’t believe that so many go unaccountably missing – and that it happens all around the world! Surely there must be some sort of un-Santa-like creature who, instead of giving presents, raids our sock drawers and cackles maniacally. Yet I have never seen him. I am positively baffled….

  5. Clanmother

    You will love your Kindle App! Although I really like the feel and smell of books, especially the way you positioned them for your photos. You are a creative spirit! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    I’m still not quite at the Kindle stage yet…I do have the software and I just download e-books to my computer. I can see how useful an e-book reader would be when travelling, though – no need to lug a suitcase full of paperbacks to the beach! 🙂 I’m still in love with paper books, I will never change….

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am still very in love with paper books, too, and that creates a problem…..space! I don’t want to give away any of my books but there is less and less room for all the books I buy or want to buy! The Kindle adds to my book options.

      Reply
  7. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    Wow, there’s a lot of us that love blue. Your post makes me want to run into the garden where I always plant one area in all shades of blue/purple/mauve/pink. It’s one of my favorite areas of the garden as it’s wildflowers and there heads drift in the wind as if they didn’t have a care in the wind.
    Congratulations on the new Kindle. I do hope you enjoy it. So many people love them. I received mine as a gift and used it often until the nerve damage in my right hand and arm occurred and now can no longer hold it. I often use it for fact checking and other research when I’m working on another document and it’s really handy that way. I do hope you enjoy.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I would like to run in to that area of your garden, too. And, although I am managing quite well with the Kindle, I can see how it could be difficult to use if one has any issues with hand or fine motor control.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Laurie, it takes me a while to catch up with technology but I enjoy it when I do. Your Victorian house must have looked wonderful. Do you have any photos of it on your blog?

      Reply
  8. Steve Schwartzman

    I like your phrase “read with my ears”, which led me to imagine you running an ear across the page of a book.

    The Russian language has two words that get translated into English as blue. One covers what we would call light blue or sky blue, while the other covers darker shades of blue.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Your image is almost correct. I had to just about glue my ear to the computer screen to fully understand the computerized narrator. It was not far off from running my ear across the page of the book. Your comment about the Russian words for blue made me think of the Russian Blue Cat which is silver blue with green eyes. I wonder which Russian word is used for the Blue of the cat?

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Most of my blue books are rather old. Perhaps red is a younger colour. 😉 I notice that many of the newer books have cream covers. Maybe there are fashions/trends in book cover colours.

      Reply
      1. Gallivanta Post author

        Hmmmm…..if I consider only my own books, then I would estimate 90% read to 10% unread. If I look at all the books in the house, which would include my daughter’s books, then I would say 70% read and 30% unread.

        Reply
  9. pattisj

    Pretty blue collage, and I love the blue books. I’m surprised Kindle isn’t available in blue. Barnes & Noble offers their Nook in many varieties.

    Reply
  10. KerryCan

    My students used to tease me about wearing blue–they noticed it before I did! I think it’s great that you found a way to get the book you wanted–the delivery method seems less important to me than the words and meaning!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Now, how often does one get a compliment about one’s back. I believe that is my first. 😀 Was it taken in a mirror? No. I had the camera set up on a box on the bench behind me and, then, I set the timer on the camera and ta-dah!

      Reply
  11. shoreacres

    It’s interesting how many people seem to really, really enjoy living with lots of blue this and blue that. I love Caribbean waters, and the blue of glaciers, and the absolutely vibrant blue of a sky after a storm clears it out, but otherwise? Blue jeans are ok, though.

    By preference, I’ll take greens, white and yellows. And Santa Fe colors – turquoise and adobe. (I guess turquoise is blue, isn’t it?) At least we’re all out of the 50s, when combinations like maroon and chartreuse were popular.

    Congrats on the Kindle. It will be interesting to hear how you like it after you’ve gotten accustomed to it. I’m feeling more and more like this fellow, . I’ll probably start creaking when I walk, soon.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, Turquoise, that’s a firm favourite of mine. It’s probably hard to tell in my photo but the walls in the kitchen are a green colour called White Island. Yep, a green paint called White Island! And White Island is named for this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whakaari_/_White_Island, so go figure, as they say. About the only connection I can make is that my kitchen does get steamy sometimes. I also have a similar green in the living room and another delicious blue green upstairs. So I guess I like greens, too.
      And thanks for Father William. I laughed and laughed. It’s so long since I read that. I am sure I find it funnier now than I did when I was young.

      Reply
  12. Mrs. P

    I love blue too, but even more I love purple…especially blue and purple flowers together! 🙂

    Great project, great for sales, I’m interested in the narrative app for a friend. Is it horrible or could one get used to it after a bit?

    Mostly, I love the selfie, or perhaps the helpi of your photo with the kindle. 😀

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure one could get used to a narrative app. I am not able to try the Kindle Fire but it may have the best narrator; not sure. Mrs P, I was pleased with the way the back-selfie turned out; not really a selfie, of course, except that I did it all by myself. 😀

      Reply
  13. Tiny

    Welcome to the Kindle era, Gallivanta! I did my shift four years ago due to sheer lack of shelf space in out downsized beach home. Then I realized I could carry many books on my travels without adding much weight to my hand luggage. After that I realized I could get a new book on a whim late in the evening when I wanted to read in bed…win, win all around. You just need to get a blue cover for your kindle 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh dear, don’t tell me I can get books on a whim in the middle of the night….dangerous idea. 😀 Maybe I should get a bright blue, glow-in-the-dark cover so I can find the Kindle when it falls under the bed; which it is sure to do at some stage. My paper books seem to go there and my glasses; not sure how, but they do.

      Reply
      1. Tiny

        Your cover idea is great! Just make sure the cover protects the corners in case your Kindle takes the trip “downstairs” quite regularly. Mine has now survived 4 years as a frequent traveler 🙂

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Right! I will remember about the corners. I am pleased to know that these e-readers have a long life span. Actually I was reading today that tablets sales would probably improve if they would break more easily when people dropped them. That was just someone’s throw away comment on falling tablet sales.

  14. Travelling Kiwi

    I loved the photo of your books – as you probably know, I am the kind of dinner guest who checks out the host’s bookshelves as soon as I can 🙂 . I was pleased to recognise some old friends in the Anne books, P&P and The Long Winter, as well as my dear friend the dictionary. But sadly I was unable to make out the titles on a few of them. Many of my dear old books are also blue; one of the popular children’s publishers in days gone by was Seagull, and their books were almost always blue.
    I am glad you are enjoying your Kindle. I have one that is wonderful for travelling – so many books in such a small package!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You can come to dinner at my house anytime! You will be so busy checking out the bookshelves that all we’ll need to keep you happy, food wise, will be a couple of jam sandwiches. As you probably guessed some of the books in the photo are old! One is a text book of Mum’s from her first year at high school. It is on the Ancient World.
      And then there is Dad’s poetry book from about 1935. It’s a gem ~ Palgrave’s Golden Treasury with additional poems.
      I think I remember the Seagull books. We may have had some. Or perhaps I saw them at your home.
      Well, everyone says the Kindle is great for travel. So maybe now I have a Kindle, the travel will follow. Does it work like that? 😉

      Reply
      1. Travelling Kiwi

        Yes, of course! Have Kindle: will travel. I love Palgrave’s Golden Treasury – I was first introduced to Palgrave at school (of course) and began a fond relationship on the spot. Sadly with the busyness of advancing years it is a while since I have dipped into his treasures.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I have had Palgrave’s in the house for years, too, but had completely forgotten about it. I don’t remember meeting it at school but, perhaps, it was once a standard text at schools. Can’t think why else my father would have had.

  15. YellowCable

    I think blue is therapeutic color. I think it can makes you feel better – calm and comfort. People like looking or staring far into blue sky. I like blue too.

    Now, congratulations with your Kindle! Now you can have books that do not need dust covers (well you may still need a cover for your Kindle but one only). You will never lost a book – all your books are there with you all the time (as long as you have a reader). You can easily search the contents in the book too!!! This reminds me to decide on the next book from Kindle soon too.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      YC, it seems that you already have a lot of experience with e-books. And, you are quite right, with e-books I can stop worrying about lost dust covers. In fact, I can stop worrying about dusting books, if I have them all on a Kindle.

      Reply
  16. thecontentedcrafter

    You love blue too! There we go – special friends 🙂 I live in a sea of shades of blue and blue-green – I buy stuff just because it is that colour [hangs head in shame!] But I don’t own a kindle – or any kind of e reader. I have an app on my computer but have never used it. I like books. I am however impressed with the fact that you like your kindle. Is it easier to manage in bed than a weighty tome I wonder? Currently I am reading a 620 page novel that is quite heavy and bulky and not that enjoyable to heft about. I was wondering if I was getting less deft in my book handling skills or if it really is just too big and bulky a book……. a kindle would put that all to rest! Love your photo and the teaser……..

    PS If I had a kindle I would be spending some happy hours on-line tracking down a stunning blue skin for it to wear 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I know you love blue! And I love looking at all your blues. Small disappointment though…where is your Russian Blue cat? 😉 ( It’s okay, Orlando; I am just teasing. Orange goes very well with blue. I hope you noticed the spot of orange in my big blue collage.) Big books are hard for me to manage. I do tend to go for little books for bed time, so the Kindle is really ideal, hand and weight wise.

      Reply
      1. thecontentedcrafter

        I did note the dash of orange in your collage – no piece of art is finished without a dash of red! Is the kindle kind to your eyes? That is one of the reasons why I haven’t gone there [yet].

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Pauline, the Kindle is very kind on my eyes. I haven’t tried it outdoors yet, but it is supposed to be kind on your eyes outdoors, too. The one small problem I have, at the moment, is that when I hold the Kindle too tightly I seem to accidentally press the page turn button. Perhaps I need to relax my grip.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yay for blue! I think I am going to enjoy my Kindle. The main problem with it may be trying to remember where I have left it; as with keys, handbags, cellphone etc, the same will probably apply to the Kindle. 😀

      Reply
  17. coulda shoulda woulda

    interesting marketing point you make about the blue kindle – you jest but i dont use my kindle at all – it is so darn gray!! if it were a color i think i would be enticed to use it but between the screen and the plastic it is so depressing. I think there is something in this blue kindle idea…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure Kindle does the bland black and gray on purpose to entice you to buy accessories. After whining about the lack of blue for my Kindle, I did find a blue Kindle cover on Amazon. But the cost of the cover plus the postage almost equals the price of another Kindle!

      Reply
  18. womanseyeview

    I love the photo collages – very clever of you! I’ve read the occasional book on my tablet but still like the old fashioned kind – I like to share books and it’s not possible with a download.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Carol. I use Picassa to make photo collages. They are fun to do. You raise a good point about not being able to share e-books. It seems rather unfriendly. I wonder if I would share my Kindle? Maybe…but not yet. 🙂

      Reply
  19. Lavinia Ross

    Blue is a very calming color. Our veterinarian’s office is painted blue. A blue-themed flower garden that has something blue blooming all season…might try that!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Blue is so calming. And our vet’s office has some blue paint too. The outside of the office is blue and white. Blue and white are quite often used on medical based facilities; not sure why.
      I did have a blue-themed flower garden one year. Blue and white, actually. It was lovely. My hanging baskets were full of blue and white flowers, as well. Now I just have touches of blue here and there.

      Reply
      1. LaVagabonde

        The women in my family don’t go gray until very late in life. My 90 year old Grandma still isn’t totally gray. But if and when I ever do, I fully intend to try out purple.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          One should! The women in our family start to go gray in their early thirties. I would love to try purple but my hair is just so darn thick, it’s practically impossible to colour.

  20. gpcox

    I never would have guessed – blue? 🙄 I just can’t get into the pads for reading, I’m just an old fuddy-duddy with my printed books! Enjoy!! 😉

    Reply
  21. Britt Skrabanek

    Yay! Look at you, Gallivanta! Thank you so very much for the second Nola Fran Evie mention. Gee whiz, I am beyond honored to be your very first ebook!!!

    The real book vs. ebook debate continues on and it took me a very long time to succumb to ebooks myself. I enjoy both, personally. Ebooks give me the opportunity to read indie works which I would never have experienced, as most of us can’t afford to print our work. Hopefully one day I can do some print copies in the future. Obviously, nothing will ever compare to the awesomeness of a real book!

    P.S. Still working on the totem pole challenge. I called the Oregon Zoo on Sunday, but after some recent renovations to make room for the elephant park, the totem pole has been moved and the woman I spoke to did not have an answer for me. I’m going to contact the zoo’s construction manager next. To be continued… : )

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Even though it has taken me so long to get an e-reader, I, like you, think that they have a place in our reading lives. I buy as many paper books as I can and whilst that is money well-spent, the postage on the book items is simply horrendous. A Kindle will let me read a wider variety of books than I would otherwise, because it eliminates the freight costs, which I can’t really afford.
      I am not sure how you viewed my post but I hope you saw your blooper video on the side bar. I also found some art work to complement your book but I decided I couldn’t post it on the side bar in case there were copyright issues. But take a look and be amazed. http://christchurchartgallery.org.nz/bulletin/171/speaking-sticks-moving-targets/ A New Zealand artist, Shane Cotton, who is a baseball fan and paints beautiful art on baseball bats. How about that?
      I am sorry that totem pole challenge is so challenging….but, now, I am really curious. What has happened to it? I know you are wanting to read now, but it strikes me that you have a piece here that would be good enough to sell to a newspaper or magazine.

      Reply
      1. Britt Skrabanek

        Ha! You and I are such old-fashioned gals, so it takes us a while to come around and we only do so when it’s a useful tool. : )

        Aw, thanks for including the bloopers there too! I didn’t see that originally…you are too sweet.

        The artistic baseball bats are really something! Thanks for sharing that. You always find the most interesting things, Gallivanta.

        The totem pole plot thickens. I just got off the phone with one of their admin people who has passed me along to another gal for more info. The second gal is out of the office until Thursday. It sounds like the totem pole is being reinstalled in the fall, but I’m still not sure. Everyone I spoke to there so far had no idea about the New Zealand replica. We’re all learning together. This detective work is fun! : )

        Reply
  22. April

    I finally broke down and bought an online only book. I like the smell of books, and love watching my hoard grow. I think you may be able to purchase a cover or what they call a skin. Maybe you can find one in blue?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      In recent years I have enjoyed accessing a few online books from the library, but this is my first purchase of an online book. The experience has been pleasant so far, so I expect I will make some more purchases. But that might mean I won’t have enough money for a blue cover. 😀 😀 I love real books, too. But my hoard is beginning to worry me. 😦

      Reply
  23. lensandpensbysally

    Sorry, but I can never envision myself reading books on an electronic device. I must hold the precious printed materials in my hands. Oh, and you miss the book’s design and literal page turning. That’s me. Enjoy.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Sally, the lack of real page turning is the thing I am finding hardest to adjust to. But the Kindle is much easier to use than I expected it to be. I can’t imagine ever being without my ‘real’ books, though.

      Reply
  24. Mary

    I love blue too! Who knew that so many wonderful things come in this calming color. Yeah for kindle, I have it loaded onto my pc which works like a charm. Happy week!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Mary, I love blue but I didn’t realise I had so much of it in my house till I started taking photos of all things blue. The Kindle on my laptop is fine but I wanted something to take to bed and the laptop was a bit awkward.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

