The appearance of pears

I came home this afternoon to find a bag of pears had appeared on my doorstep, courtesy of my good neighbours who have a pear tree, but don’t much care for pears. Not in their uncooked state, anyway. These are the first pears of the new season.First appearance of the Season

They look ,and are, slightly scruffy and diseased but their less than perfect appearance belies their delicious flavour, once they have been allowed to ripen and sweeten in storage.

Last year, my neighbours kept me well supplied with pears and I kept them busy tasting all my pear inspired baking and jam making. I think, maybe, just maybe, I managed to persuade them to grow a little fonder of pears.

Here’s a photo of my Upside Down Pear Cake from last season’s pears, alongside my neighbours’ first offering of this season’s pears.  Cake appears from Pears

© silkannthreades

16 thoughts on “The appearance of pears

  1. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] In many cases looks can be deceiving. Even though some pears are not a pretty sight, they surely make up for their flavour.

    Lovely article by the way!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I agree. Even with supermarket fruit I will sometimes look for the less perfect and scruffier fruit because it is likely to have more flavour.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The cake was delicious. I can’t remember which recipe I used.It was about a year ago that I made that cake. I will have to think hard on that one if I want to make another pear cake soon!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I think if you taste a pear when it is not quite ripe or ready, the experience can put you off pears for life. Every now and then I bite in to a pear that is so horrible I have to spit it out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

