Engagements for Valentine’s Day

Engagements for Valentine’s Day:

Touch base with morning and kiss of sun on skin.

Touch base with the morning

Touch base with the morning (diamond in the rough 😉 )

Listen to summer’s song.

Smell rose.

The Scent of a Rose

The Scent of a Rose ; enough to make you giddy with delight

Hold steady,

Inhale deeply.

Sweet Fragrance

Sweet Fragrance

Berry pick.

Berry picking

Berry picking

Snack Blyssfully and Berry-ily.

Engage feet on chair.

Heart rest.

Admire Valentine’s Day gift straight from  heart of Christchurch .

Open mail with my not so secret Valentine, Ralph.

Smile, laugh. 🙂

Read; love story, A leaf in Springtime

Family time.

Time Goes By

Time Goes By

Consider symbol of twin handled Loving Cup.

Welcome  light of evening,  close of day.

Reflect  on  One Word Wonder# Love

Feel Blessed.

Blessed by the soft touch of the Rose

Blessed

Sleep well.

ps Hug son; final exams completed .

© silkannthreades

65 thoughts on “Engagements for Valentine’s Day

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    when i’m able to view your posts, i am again frustrated that i’ve missed so many beautiful images paired with your thoughts. many times i’m unable to comment, and almsot always the like buttons don’t load.. sigh, but alas, i’m here and appreciating what i’ve missed! beautiful! z

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Truly appreciate your visits and your comment. I was thinking of your Ecuador today because it is the anniversary of the death of José Joaquín Olmedo, also called José Joaquín de Olmedo (born March 20, 1780, Guayaquil, New Granada [now in Ecuador]—died February 19, 1847, Guayaquil, Ecuador), poet and statesman. I was looking for some of his poetry but have not found any yet.

      Reply
  2. Letizia

    What a beautiful ode to love 🙂 I love the reminder that love is sensorial and to embrace all the senses…. I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

    Reply
  3. Juliet

    What a beautiful day. Belated happy valentine’s day to you Gallivanta. I’ve been away and unable to view any but the simplest of blogs.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The most recent photo of the hands was taken the day my mother came home from hospital late last year. It had probably been their longest separation in at least a decade. They are incredibly fortunate to still have each other, for better or for worse 😀

      Reply
  4. Tiny

    Thanks for a wonderful, peaceful and touching post on Valentine’s day! I see your day was beautiful and the gift will warm you for a long time to come 🙂 I’m smiling.

    Reply
  5. Sheryl

    Lovely sentiments. Is the photo a picture of your engagement and wedding rings. I also have a wide wedding band and a narrower engagement ring. I don’t see other people wearing that combination of narrow and wide very often.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes that is a photo of my engagement and wedding rings. The wedding ring came first :). The engagement ring was made much later using my grandmother’s wedding band and a diamond bought especially for me. The jeweller tried not to change my grandmother’s ring too much but, of course, had to add a setting for the diamond. We were living in Botswana when we decided to marry and we were lucky to find a wedding ring that was suitable, let alone an engagement ring. Hence the delay! Good to know that you have a wide and a narrow combination too 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is a traditional word, isn’t it? I don’t know when I last owned an engagement diary 🙂 Yes, my slippers are super cozy. We don’t have central heating in our houses and the cold underfoot means we need warm house shoes in the winter.

      Reply
  6. Mrs. P

    What a beautiful expression of love!

    I love the “then and now” pics!

    We don’t “celebrate” Valentine’s Day as Rick prefers to acknowledge our love every day…not just on a day that is a consumer marketing day.

    But we do “howl at the moon”..really! And, tonight is a full moon. We’ll try not to wake you. 🙂

    Reply
  7. YellowCable

    For the sound of cicadas, the one you recorded here seems to have some beats to it. I do not think cicadas in the US makes have that characteristic. I could be wrong. I did not pay attention to them much other than enjoy their sounds. I agreed that they are a bit louder.

    Reply
  8. YellowCable

    The engagements that last! I like the “diamond in the rough” remark 🙂
    It looks like you have not done a good job with the chocolate? They won’t last long with me 🙂

    Please have a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Heather. I loved the twilight photos in your recent post. I wonder what your camera would make of the light we have here. It’s hard to find softness in it; at least I think so.

      Reply
  9. Miss Lou

    I really enjoyed the sound of the cicadas as I viewed the pictures. We have Cicadas here and they drive me crazy, but after about 25 collective years, things simply would not be ‘right’ if they were to suddenly stop.

    Thank you for taking the time to share snippets of your wedding pictures and the ring, hands held firmly together in union. A beautiful reflection!

    ML
    xx

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I l like the sound of cicadas for the short time we have them but I don’t believe they are as noisy as in Australia or the US. Or, maybe, I am just a little deaf, so don’t really hear how loud they are! The wedding pictures are of my mother and father 🙂 They celebrated their 66th wedding anniversary last week. Quite special.

      Reply
      1. Miss Lou

        Awww beautiful!! 66 YEARS!! That is amazing and provides reassurance that there is still love like that around!

        ML
        x

        P.s: Our Cicadas are loud – ESPECIALLY if you don’t have solid concrete walls… lol argghhhhh

        Reply
        1. Miss Lou

          Endurance is a great word to describe a long term love commitment. One has to admit there would be times it was difficult and love really does, the become a choice you have to make…

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Endurance, stickability, choice, hard work….it’s all there 🙂 And, as old age appears, it becomes apparent why traditional marriage vows always said “in sickness and in health”….health is the easy part so it is mentioned after sickness.

  10. utesmile

    Waht a lovely gift! And your pictures are so beautiful again! It is always such a pleasure to read your post, I feel the happiness and calmness through me! Thank you so much for being you and being here! Happy Valentines Day!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, Ute, I had so many lovely rose photos today. I wanted to post them all for you, like a great bouquet. Perhaps I can do that on Fb? Now there’s a thought.

      Reply
      1. utesmile

        Oh yes, please do….. you know your beautiful book is always looked in and gives me so much pleasure and calmness. I so love it! ( just had to tell you again) xx

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          And that makes me very happy Ute. I do treasure that little book but it’s lovely to know that I am not the only one. Flowers are up on Fb. Enjoy.

  11. ordinarygood

    Lovely…..and the upside down bumble bee is a great image. Love can turn your world upside down!
    And exams completed….bravo!!!! Sleep well to you under a full moon tonight.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Of course, I was trying to get the bumblebee right side up, so I did laugh when I saw my photo! Mmmmm…the full moon is worrying me a bit….not always conducive to sleep. So Sleep Well….is a wish 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

