Atishoo….bless me….

Atishoo and bless me, and my little cotton socks*…….I have a cold. A drippy nosed, vexatious, miserable cold. I haven’t had a cold for years, so I am feeling very sorry for myself and in need of lots of blessings. (Yes, all blessings gratefully received.)  And, yes, you could bring me some soothing hot, lemon and honey tea, too. Thank you 🙂  That’s delicious.

One blessing that came my way this morning was a lovely photo (via Facebook) from fellow blogger Mike Howe.  Followed, shortly thereafter, by another one of his soothing musical posts  http://mikehowe.com/2013/06/30/music-for-one-of-the-greatest-nature-writers/.

Another blessing will arrive about 2 hours from now, in the form of Giles, the Dogfather. Giles, and his super, doggy assistant Diesil, take my very own little blessing, Jack, for regular, joyful exercise, training, and  canine and human socialization.  Jack is a much happier and calmer dog now that I am giving proper attention to his needs.  Here is Jack on one of his outings; he was having fun, truly!  His coat keeps him warm and dry and snug. ( He won’t need a coat today. The sun is shining beautifully.)In the Rain; it really is fun!

This photo is from Giles’ Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/thedogfathernz?fref=ts  He has some fun photos of wonder dog Diesil and the other dogs he trains. Take a look, if you would like a ‘cheer me up’ blessing for your day.

Well, that’s about all my brain can cope with today. *Oh, but one more something that made me smile through the sniffles, snuffles and sneezles…. I wondered, when I was blessing my cotton socks, how this strange little blessing came about. Here is what I found; it is smile worthy:   ‘George Edward Lynch Cotton, English clergyman and educator, assistant master at Rugby 1837-1852, the ‘young master’ in Thomas Hughes’s “Tom Brown’s School Days”. Bishop of Calcutta, 1858 where he did missionary work and established schools for Eurasian children. In requests to England he asked for donations of clothing, often emphasizing “warm socks” for the children. In fact he seems to have held the simplistic view that if the children had warm socks many of their problems, mal-nutrition, disease, racial prejudice etc. could be easily solved. Little old maiden ladies all over England spent their time knitting socks for Bishop Cotton and sending them off to India. He blessed all items used in his schools, and many shipments would arrive labeled ” Socks for Cotton’s blessing” and reportedly even “Cotton’s socks for blessing”. Cotton’s socks easily became corrupted to cotton socks,

© silkannthreades

53 thoughts on “Atishoo….bless me….

  1. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    I’m late (as usual) in my reading…I do hope you’re feeling all better now! 🙂 What a treat to find out the origin of the cotton socks idiom…and it was wonderful to be introduced to Mike Howe’s music.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sorry to say the atishoo atishoo is still with me as well as the cough, cough, and all the other nasties. But it is very wonderful to have your company via blogging. Reading about your magpies made me laugh.

      Reply
  2. teamgloria

    Warm Socks are a most Underestimated source of pleasure (particularly in damp england)

    sending healing thoughts from here to you that your poor cold Leaves soonest.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Indeed, warm socks are an underestimated heating source altogether. I think it is also safe to say that warm socks have determined the outcome of more battles than any amount of weaponry or battle plans.
      Sadly, the cold has found a resting place in my chest. Hope it doesn’t get too comfortable.

      Reply
  3. Clanmother

    You always give me gifts! Thank you for introducing me to an extraordinary blogger!! Take good care of yourself and those wonderful four legged friends and family! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you! Today has been a better day, health wise. Let’s hope for continued improvement. Mike’s music is keeping me company on the road to recovery 🙂

      Reply
  4. Letizia

    Jack looks so handsome in his raincoat 🙂

    I do hope you feel better very soon!! Sending you warm wishes (in my family we often make minestrone when someone has a cold so I am sending you a virtual minestrone!).

    Reply
  5. utesmile

    I do hope you getting better soon! So Dr. Ute prescribes: honey, lemon ,ginger all in teas, work wonders, lots of rest and still smiles in between.
    Glad you do have that….. and don’t forget your “cotton socks” 🙂
    Sending you some smiles over and good health!

    Reply
  6. Forest So Green

    Hope you feel better soon. I have never heard about the cotton socks so I enjoyed learning something new. Annie

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is an expression that was very common in this part of the world. Perhaps not used so much these days. I can’t vouch for accuracy of that explanation of its origins but it’s a great story anyway. Thanks for your good wishes.

      Reply
  7. lensandpensbysally

    Yes, the chicken soup works. Maybe it’s an opportunity to just be. Even in the misery of those viruses, some good can come. Sometimes slowing down can be a time for discovery or just watching the world in a different cadence.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You are so right. I am being told (by my body) to slow down and be still. But, hilariously, I was going so slowly yesterday I felt almost as though I were going backwards 🙂

      Reply
  8. Virginia Duran

    Oh no! I hope you get better soon. I never get a cold so I imagine how you must be feeling now. Again, interesting story (with useful link in the end) that broadens my curiosity. Now I better understand the expression. Get well soon 🙂

    Reply
  9. valeriedavies

    Bless your cotton socks for that lovely snippet of information, and bless you and your little sweetie, hope you both thrive, one on hot whisky and lemon, one on good company- I always used to say to people before they got a dog, – well do you want a toddler for the next ten years or so, because they need everything a toddler needs – including regular food, lots of company, cuddling,, love, and gentle firm training., and they have all the same emotional needs…
    Cats are somewhat different, I’ve discovered !!!! They don’t need training because they refuse to be trained !!!!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Cats are very independent! And they have US well trained. A whisky with lemon sounds good but I’m all out of the whisky part :(. And you are so right about our dogs. But like toddlers we can’t help loving them.

      Reply
  10. ordinarygood

    Weathering a heavy head cold can be tedious in the extreme……hands are not free to do anything but wipe and heads/brains get full of fluff or heavier material. Thinking of you and sending health germs your way! And now I know where “bless your little cotton socks” comes from….thank you!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Exactly, the way it is. One feels the need for some sort of nose bag, so that hands can be free.:) I don’t know how true that story is about the socks, but it seems plausible. I like it anyway.

      Reply
  11. silvana1989

    Oh no!!! I hope you feel better soon, What about sit in the sofa and watch movies? I know that is not a medicine but it helps to forget the sniffles…

    Reply
  12. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    lo siento! if you were here, i’d made a pot of chicken soup and another ‘pot’ of guava tea. the tea acts as a desiccant and helps dry the nasal passages.. it really worked well for me when i had the ‘flu about four years ago.

    jack is precious! send him in search of a guava tree, though it would probably be absent any leaves!

    get well fast!

    z

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Just thinking about chicken soup and guava tea makes me feel better. I think Jack would rather like to snuggle up on the sofa with me, after his exercise of course! Mind you, a good breath of fresh air and a walk would probably be good for me too. Nah, back to the sofa 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.