Christmas is coming

Christmas is coming

The geese are getting fat,

Please to put a penny in the old man’s hat.

If you have no penny, a ha’penny will do,

If you have no ha’penny,

then God bless you. *

 

Christmas is Coming

Christmas is Coming

 

I am in the  ‘God bless you’ category.  How about you? 😉   But I am rich in blessings so the lack of pennies is really of no account ~ but, sigh, I would like that world trip.

The Christmas is Coming nursery rhyme/carol has several versions. * The one I give is my memory of the rhyme I sang as a child.  For more information, you may like to read one account of its origins here https://treasuryislands.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/origins-christmas-is-coming/

 

© silkannthreades

 

 

 

126 thoughts on “Christmas is coming

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Merry Christmas, Virginia. I had a quick scan of your latest posts. You have had an amazing year. So very many blessings have been added to your life. Wonderful to see.

      Reply
  1. melissabluefineart

    Yup, I’m with you also but rich in the things that count. I’ve been thinking how nice a trip to my childhood haunts would be, in the Sierras. Perhaps the trips we take in our minds are better, anyway.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am usually slightly disappointed when I visit childhood haunts; so, yes, trips in our mind (along memory lane)are often the best way to travel. They are cheaper, too. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Mrs. P

    Oh, how lovely to look at your beautiful blooms in our winter, though I should hardly complain with my temperate weather. 😉 I too wish for that round the world trip…of course Your lovely destination would be one of my “must do” stops. 😀

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Wendy. A calendar would be good; perhaps that is something I could work on next year. I did try turning the photos into chap books but it was much harder than I thought it would be, so I put that idea aside.

      Reply
        1. Wendy L. Macdonald

          Thank you for your vote of confidence. I’m testing the waters and watching to see what happens; I’m also listening for the call to step into whatever it is I’m supposed to be doing. 🙂

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Indeed that is so. Do you know A Friendship Blessing by John O’Donohue?

      May you be blessed with good friends.
      May you learn to be a good friend to yourself.
      May you be able to journey to that place in your soul where
      there is great love, warmth, feeling, and forgiveness.
      May this change you.
      May it transfigure that which is negative, distant, or cold in you.
      May you be brought in to the real passion, kinship, and affinity of belonging.
      May you treasure your friends.
      May you be good to them and may you be there for them;
      may they bring you all the blessing, challenges, truth,
      and light that you need for your journey.
      May you never be isolated.
      May you always be in the gentle nest of belonging with your anam ċara.

      I do treasure my friends, those nearby and those far afield like my WordPress friends. 🙂

      Reply
  3. tableofcolors

    I remember singing that Christmas rhyme as a child. It has a special message about giving although I might belong in the “God bless you” group as well this Christmas. But that is life. And I don’t feel lacking even if the bank account is not so fat. Happy Advent time to you dear Gallivanta!

    Reply
  4. Iris@poetsmith

    I’ve just watched the muppets video, Gallivanta, and it’s lovely to hear the nursery rhymes. Nice to see you back! Hope all will work out well for NZ re your next PM. Keep well. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Well and truly blessed. Our property is too small and suburban to allow for chooks so we make up for it with lots of ornamental chooks around the house.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, everything practical or useful seems to slow down or shut down at this time of year. I left a message with the plumber last week. No response so far. I don’t really expect to hear from him until NZ gets back to work, about mid Jan.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am working on the cheer, Alys. Our Prime Minister has just announced his resignation. Everyone is taken aback, even people like me who were not amongst his loyal fans. His reasons are good, and his decision is probably also good, but I think I have had enough political shocks this year!

      Reply
      1. Born To Organize

        You poor dear. That is a shocker, good or bad. I’m hoping good things come as a result.

        We are grieving here for a terrible fire in nearby Oakland. A party of young people in a dangerous warehouse, illegally converted to house struggling artists. 36 young people are confirmed dead, with more likely. My son asked “why do these terrible things seem to happen near the holidays?” I don’t have the answers. We just comfort each other, grieve and hope everyone learns from this. A building without sprinklers, makeshift wooden stairs, lack of proper exits and working fire extinguishers. What century is this?

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My mother is also a strong supporter of this rhyme. She still says it regularly even at the age of 94. If it weren’t for her, I probably would have forgotten all about it, too. Mothers are often the memory keepers, aren’t they? And the story tellers. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Lavinia Ross

    Sending you all the blessings and best wishes for the Christmas season, Gallivanta!

    We may get some snow here yet, even though we have not had a single frost yet this season. The forecast is for the 20s by Tuesday night, and possible snow tomorrow morning. I will think about Christmas in your part of the world, filled with flowers and good things from your garden.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Lavinia. I loved the winter wonderland of New York at or near Christmas time, but I also love the summer abundance of our NZ Christmas, too. The blackcurrants are ripening. The birds may leave me a few. 😀

      Reply
  6. Su Leslie

    I’ve never seen/heard the whole rhyme, though I do remember my dad quoting the first couple of lines. Wishing you many Christmas blessings, and much peace and joy into 2017.

    Reply
  7. Tiny

    I love the rhyme, but even more your table – gorgeous as always! It is difficult to understand that Christmas is really coming…one more year almost gone…I feel time is flying faster the older I become 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Tiny, the more I try to slow time, the faster it seems to go. Do you think it would help if we had Christmas every second year? Or birthdays every 3rd year? 😀 😀

      Reply
  8. shoreacres

    I’d completely forgotten this, but it came back in a rush, with only a slight change or two. We sang, “…the goose is getting fat. Won’t you put a penny in the old man’s hat?” It reminds me of Peter, Paul and Mary’s version of “A-Soulin,” with these lines included:

    “The streets are very dirty, my shoes are very thin
    I have a little pocket to put a penny in
    If you haven’t got a penny, a ha’ penny will do
    If you haven’t got a ha’ penny then God bless you.”

    Intending to listen to the PP&M version, I went a-searchin’, and found a rather different treasure: a Celtic-style adaptation with the most wonderful illustrations imaginable. Enjoy — and, as Tiny Tim said, “God bless us, every one!”

    Reply
  9. Kate Johnston

    I remember this rhyme well, and they still teach it to the children in school here (at least, where we live, they do). Can’t believe it’s that time of year. But I’m in the thick of it–buying gifts, decorating, playing Christmas music, and watching Christmas movies, not the least of which is It’s a Wonderful Life–that gets me going every time!

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      A blessed Christmas to you, too, Kate. You sound well-organized. As you can imagine I have been listening to a lot of different versions of Christmas is coming,( as well as other Christmas music). Today I made a tree with books (lots of favourite books) and folded paper. Something a bit different, for me. So I am a little more in the Christmas spirit than I was a week ago. 🙂

      Reply
  10. clarepooley33

    We say this rhyme every year and we sometimes sing it too. I have cooked goose for Christmas once and would like to again but … 1. The goose doesn’t have a lot of meat on it and it may not be sufficient for all the people sitting down to dinner and 2. The one time I cooked it I had read that ‘the goose produces a lot of fat which should be removed regularly during the cooking’ but, I was totally unprepared for the gallons! (I exaggerate!) of fat that overflowed my too-shallow meat dish and flooded out of the oven onto the kitchen floor! I hadn’t checked the meat often enough, getting distracted by the thousand-and-one other tasks involved in cooking Christmas dinner.

    Reply
  11. melodylowes

    Your rhyme prompted an old memory of Pat Boone singing this very song. I’ve only heard it once that I know of and have always remembered it somehow. Fun to think back to a warm Christmas memory of my own. Happy preparing for the festivities wishes to you!!

    Reply
  12. Clanmother

    As soon as I saw the words, I started to sing, “Christmas is coming.” Now I have it in my mind as I go about my day today. It has the whole meaning of Christmas – the anticipation, the feast, the joy of giving, and the blessing to those who cannot give.

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Not at all, but it is interesting how the goose has managed to transcend its food status – there’s Mother Goose (of Nursery Rhyme fame), for instance, who when she wanted to wander would ride through the air on a very fine gander. And then we have the goose as one of the early examples of gender equality ” What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.” !!!

        2. Nath @ BEAUTYCALYPSE

          Goose are intelligent birds and excellent watchdogs. No wonder the lore grants them character 🙂 Hashtag methinks.

  13. restlessjo

    You are rich in so many ways, Ann, and you have a beautiful outlook on life. I love the chickens! Fabulous 🙂 I have to admit, Mick wears a scowl some days when he looks at the finances, but I remain blissfully ignorant. Have a fabulous festive season, and I hope those tremors stay away.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The chickens were a gift from my sister. Aren’t they fun! They are very good for soothing a furrowed brow. 🙂 I am glad Mick only has to scowl some days, and not every day. 😀 Last week, with my little dog needing so much attention, the money was flying out the door, but he’s such a sweetie I couldn’t possibly scowl about the vet bills.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Arrgh…..that reply left me too quickly. Did you ever use a ha’penny? I loved the names for the old coinage we had in New Zealand: the florin, the half-crown, the shilling, etc.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oh, my goodness, yes. I had forgotten the farthing. I must get out my mother’s old coin collection and remind myself of what it contains.

  14. Letizia

    I had never heard this children’s Christmas song before, so charming. I love your rotund chickens and the walnut too… and your, always so beautiful, bouquet of flowers. You’ve made me decide to buy an orchid today just to have some flowers in the house. All the leaves have fallen off the trees now, although there are berries left, waiting to feed the birds in the cold winter months ahead. Wishing you a lovely Christmas season!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So happy to know you are inspired to buy an orchid for the house. I am imagining those beautiful berries outside, too. Do you have special Advent traditions?

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        Unfortunately, it’s a busy time at work so not much time for celebrations leading up to Christmas day. But I do love an advent calendar and am slowly decorating the house. We will put Christmas lights on our large ewe outside the house this week. And you?

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I have an advent calendar but other than that I don’t have any particular traditions. We used to put up a tree on Christmas Eve but I don’t even do that now. 😦

        2. Letizia

          We only put up a tree if we are celebrating in our house. If we are celebrating elsewhere, then we just put up wreaths on the door (they went up yesterday!) and lights on the ewe (will do soon…. waiting to clean the gutters first, haha!). I like hearing what people do and don’t do though.

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          That’s a good idea. And having said I don’t put up a Christmas tree these days, I had a sudden burst of energy and made myself a small Christmas tree using favourite books and folded paper. It was challenging but I am smiling at the fun I had.

  15. Mél@nie

    sooo lovely… ❤
    * * *
    you've known me for awhile, therefore as a Cartesian – Darwinian, I totally agree with Thoreau’s wise and simple words:”I make myself rich by making my wants few…” 🙂 we've never been "contaminated" by the X-mas(or Easter) shopping frenzy, since both are Christian holidays, not at all "commercial"… 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And I do not particularly want to eat goose, so that is one more want out of the way. 😉 I can feel myself getting richer by the minute, as I toss aside the wants. 😀

      Reply
      1. Mél@nie

        exactly – QED… 🙂 I refuse to follow ‘The Gospel of Consumption’ – as the French say:’Doctor, is that serious? – ’cause I’m just fine!’ 😀
        * * *
        N.B. throughout the 11 months of the year, all the French hypermarkets and most stores are closed on Sundays, BUT… open on the 2 Sundays before X-mas!!! hellooo!!! 😉
        * * *
        my very best & have a light week, Lady Ann! ❤

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          That seems very bizarre. I wish we had a few more ‘closed’ shop days here throughout the year. Of course, just because the shops are open doesn’t mean one has to go into them ~ I rarely do. 🙂

  16. Juliet

    Lovely, Gallivanta. I enjoy your fun picture too. I know this rhyme from the well-loved book of Nursery Rhymes that I am now reading to my third (& last) granddaughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

