Flirting

Dearest WordPress friends,

We have an open and generous relationship, so I know you won’t mind if I let you in on my latest dalliance. You see, I have neglected you shamefully because I am  flirting with You Tube. It’s an innocent enough flirtation but I am rather shy about  admitting to it.  It seems a bit silly  flirting with You Tube in my older years.  ( And probably making a fool of myself in the process. 😀 )

If you would like to see what we’ve been up to, You Tube and I, come on over to Gallivanta H.  You may find something to make you smile; like this

And, don’t worry,  as much as my flirtatious fling with You Tube is fun, my heart belongs to my WordPress family. 🙂  I am not planning to desert you.

Your friend in blogging,

Gallivanta.

Warning:  you may find ads on some of my You Tube videos.

 

On a more sensible note, I am trying out You Tube because I am curious to see how it works, particularly in terms of monetization. And I am keen to see how I cope with the challenge of making videos.  At the moment I find the process difficult, and my admiration has grown, in leaps and bounds, for those who make beautiful, skillful videos. Lens caps off to them.

 

© silkannthreades

167 thoughts on “Flirting

  1. melissabluefineart

    Good for you to venture into video. I just learned yesterday that an author I did illustrations for is having our little book made into a video on Youtube. Now, let’s all make a break for it and roll in the grass! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Zambian Lady

    I never thought you would ever be unfaithful to us, but I guess Youtube is more attractive than your WordPress friends :). Oh, how I wish I could also unabashedly roll around in the grass like the little dog.

    Reply
  3. lisadorenfest

    You are no fool! I love that you are spending time here. The Captain takes what few videos we have produced of our journey. I lack your steady hand and patience. Loved the videos with Jack (what a good boy) but was particularly impressed Mother Dear and with your nature videos Redwood Springs Video and Scarborough to Sumner. I like what you are doing here. Keep on keeping on!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, yes, patience. That’s a work in progress. I think Mother Dear is my favourite video, too. I am keen to do more nature videos. Unfortunately, I only have very average video equipment ( ie cheap mobile phone) so I am not capturing the scenes as well as I would like. The sun is making an appearance just now so I may go to a park later to try for a few more videos. Thank you very much for subscribing. I am still getting over the surprise of having subscribers. 😀

      Reply
  4. Mrs. P

    Flirting…NOT! With 34 videos, I’d say you had a full blown fling! 😀 😀

    Your hand seems to be getting steadier as you practice. Redwoods is quite steady and almost seemed as if you had a special moving tripod to get the shot.

    I am so happy spring is here for you! Spring makes me happy…I assume most others enjoy it too…except those with hay fever and allergies.;)

    I’m looking forward to seeing you more often…don’t be shy…bring your YouTube friends along, too. :0

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Hmmmm…….perhaps you are right. I may have gone further than flirting !! Some days my hands are steadier than others but You Tube has a very handy editing tool called a stabilizer which is my saving grace. 😉 There will be no filming, steady or otherwise, today as we have some welcome spring rain.

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        Jack is well read. But that is no surprise given his household!
        Lupa is now nine months old. Very puppy still, but also growing up too. Her full size now and 80% quite obedient (she’s a terrier so has selective hearing, as I’m sure you are familiar with!).

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          She sounds just as lovely as I thought she would be. And yes that selective hearing is well known in this house. Does she also turn her head away when she doesn’t want to listen or obey?

        2. Letizia

          She looks off into the distance as if she is captivated by something. It’s quite funny. We are so lucky to have them in our lives, aren’t we?

        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Let me amend my comment on WordPress teasing; I have another theory. WordPress wants me to use its “Howdy! How may we help?” service. I did once. The response was speedy but not much help. 😀

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Indeed! Some of our Govt departments and big businesses could take a lesson or two from the fast, but not helpful approach. It’s slightly less annoying than the wait for hours and still not helpful approach.

      1. Bun Karyudo

        Haha! I just checked mine a moment ago. It looked the same as I remember. It might have been WordPress briefly testing something out perhaps. They like to change things around every now and then. It doesn’t often seem to be an improvement, though. 🙂

        Reply
  5. restlessjo

    A-ha! That’s what you’ve been up to 🙂 🙂 It looks like fun. I’ve never done anything with YouTube other than look occasionally. I’d be far too wobbly-handed and prone to swinging around in case I missed anything.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s fun whilst it lasts. Looking back over my blog this weekend I discovered that a few years ago I was very enthusiastic about making chap books…….that project got lost in the sands of time, and I expect the same thing will happen to my You Tube efforts, eventually. 😦 As for the wobbly- handedness. I have plenty of that. You Tube helpfully lets one edit out the wobblies.

      Reply
  6. Kate Johnston

    So sweet and fun! I don’t do YouTube, but I’m told it’s getting to be (if not already) as popular as Facebook and Twitter. The art of video making intimidates me, so I completely get where you’re coming from. The learning curve is enough for me to say, “oh, I’ll try my hand at it next month.”

    I love how brave you are! Keep at it!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am trying to keep at it, but my latest effort was sent to the bin; it was truly awful. 😀 It was hard to delete something I had worked on all day! I guess, as a writer, you know how that is. 😉

      Reply
  7. Steve Schwartzman

    I looked up Redwood Springs and found that it’s on the north side of Christchurch in an area that I don’t think we visited.

    Your first essays into video seem an excellent beginning. There was also the added dimension of a familiar voice.

    Reply
      1. Steve Schwartzman

        According to Wikipedia, “In Greek mythology, Styx … is a deity and a river that forms the boundary between Earth and the Underworld…” Do you know why your River Styx was given that name? Your linked post shows a pleasant place lacking any obvious association with the Underworld.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          The story goes something like this” Early settlers called the marshy land where the Main North Rd crossed the river, The Sticks, probably because flax sticks stuck in the ground pointed the way to a log bridge across the river. So travellers looked for “the sticks”. The name was changed to the mythological Greek Styx about 1865″ .http://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/8998338/Styx-Rivers-bubbling-springs-tell-a-story That is the story but I don’t think anyone is a 100 % sure.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          It certainly seems to. I do wonder why we didn’t stick to the original name, Pūharakekenui. ( I am still trying to find out what that means) Pūhara is supposed to be a watch tower.

  8. inmycorner

    Oh, my goodness. It would seem the wordpress community is happy for you – and proud of you! Never too old, never too old! And – wow – you play bagpipes? grin. Bravo, my friend, bravo!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I play bagpipes in my dreams; sigh. I don’t think I could blow up a balloon at the moment. The air is thick with pollen, and, without my inhaler, I would be struggling to breathe.

      Reply
  9. GP Cox

    I just logged on, 1:35 EST, and heard about the 7.1 earthquake that hit NE of the North Island!! I had to come by and make certain you were alright. Are you expecting a tsunami to follow?
    Stay safe. GP Cox

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you GP for your concern. I was blissfully unaware of the event; you probably knew about it before I did! The tsunami threat is over. Let’s hope things will settle down now for the people in the North Island.

      Reply
      1. LucyJartz

        I love your videos of beatific places and action shots of Jack. Hearing him ask for the treats from the cupboard in another video had me loving him all the more. He is bursting with personality.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          He really is a personality. 🙂 I often wonder how his 2 sisters turned out because apparently Jack was the last born, the smallest and the quietest of the 3.

  10. Leya

    You are indeed a curious and inventive woman…too! Keep it up! But stay with us here as well, I hope. Jack truly is a natural, but so are you! ;-D

    Reply
  11. shoreacres

    I’ve known you were around, of course, so I haven’t precisely been worrying about you, but it’s pure delight to find you’re dipping into yet another pool of creativity. I suspect that YouTube is like anything else: difficult at first (my first video took a week to do, and much teeth-gnashing) but easier as things go along. You certainly had a perfect subject here. I’m looking forward to seeing what more you come up with.

    And how nice to hear a word about your spring, and your magnolias. It must be delightful to have those changes in your life, too.

    Reply
  12. Tiny

    Wow! Your flirting with YouTube is admirable! My son does that all the time and has several “channels”, but I have never tried this media. Jack is a great ‘actor’ in your film 🙂 Now I’ll watch all of your videos there 🙂

    Reply
      1. Tiny

        I only have the address to his “old” channel which he used until about to 3 years ago. Now he has several professional channels for his work. Here’s a link you might enjoy – a promotional video he did 4 years ago for my consulting business https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptZpqznCN8w 🙂 I hope you did not feel the earthquake today outside the north island?

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          That’s very classy. 🙂 Thank you. I didn’t feel the quake but it must have been unpleasant for those up north. At this time of the year as we near the 6th anniversary of the Sept 4th quake we are all very on edge about earthquakes. It’s almost like the earth is teasing us with this seismic activity.

  13. utesmile

    I can imagine it is rather a process to put a video with music on to You tube. Great thought to try something else and succeed. Your videos re lovely and I do like your music choice too! Jack is your perfect actor!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad you like the music, Ute. I went with music options offered by You Tube in order to avoid copyright issues. You Tube has a good selection of music. I am trying to persuade my daughter to sing for one of my proposed videos; not sure if I will be persuasive enough.

      Reply
  14. Iris@poetsmith

    How lovely, the video of Jack having so much fun rolling around! Glad you are enjoying your new hobby too… hope Spring will bring you lovely flowers and great weather. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      We have been out around town today looking at all the emerging blossom, and my own magnolia tree you would love. It’s covered with big, beautifully scented blooms.

      Reply
  15. clarepooley33

    I am glad you have been missing from WP for a good reason and not a bad one! I love your videos and am off to see what else you have to offer on your site! Best of luck with the mammogram appointment ❤

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks for being so supportive, Clare. Yes, I hope the mammogram appointment goes well. We are lucky to have these breast screening services, and they are free as well.

      Reply
      1. Su Leslie

        Hehe. I decided to make videos to send to my each of my parents last Xmas. Seemed like a nice idea at the time, but I spent days on them. I got really hung up on matching the music to the visual edits. I have a whole new respect for my son who has been making films for You Tube since he was at primary school.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Ha! That music matching….grimace. Yes, our digital native children are amazing. Or is digital native old school now? I keep seeing the word ‘screenager’.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I am beginning to discover how useful You Tube can be. Some of the computer tutorials are helpful to me. And yesterday I watched a New Zealand comedy series which was very funny. It’s good to know you find You Tube great.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      His tail was wagging madly wasn’t it! His favourite treats are out in the garage, so he gets wildly excited whenever he gets a chance to be out there in close proximity. Thank you for subscribing. That’s very kind .Did you see the 3 videos of the places I visit often? (Redwood, Sumner, and Mona Vale)

      Reply
  16. Born To Organize

    What a wonderful new hobby. I’m glad we’re still number one though. 😉

    Your pooch is adorable and so are you. I loved hearing your voice. That was a treat.
    I too love YouTube and admire the skills required to make a go of it professionally. May you continue to have fun.

    Reply
      1. Born To Organize

        I use a service called Animoto, then upload to YouTube. They do all the “heavy lifting” so to speak. I insert photos and select music from there library. It is fun learning new things and challenging oneself. My teenagers cut their teeth on tech, but I was 26 before I ever touched a computer (and I did so with lots of trepidation). We really should pat ourselves on the backs, eh?

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I may have been about 40 when I first started using a computer. My children were great at encouraging me to be unafraid of the computer. BUT, they weren’t great at letting me have computer time so I eventually had to get my own. Then everyone was happy. 🙂 I will check out Animoto.

        2. Born To Organize

          Oh how funny! I remember the days of one computer. How times have changed, eh? And did you ever dream you could carry around a computer in your purse, chock pull of photo albums, a music collection, magazines, the news. None of us would have believed it.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Alas my rolling days are over, but Jack’s pleasure reminds me of the fun we had as children rolling down grassy slopes. Fun, yes, but the grass often made me very itchy!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh gosh, thank you kindly. I will have to get busy producing videos. Maybe not this week though as I have a routine mammogram appointment to attend to. In recent years, I have had recalls as well as a needle biopsy (all good); which means I approach mammograms with a certain amount of trepidation. Silly but that’s how it is.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          The actual procedure went well but it will be 2 or 3 weeks before the results come back. I didn’t have time to be nervous in the end as I spent most of my energy trying to find the new radiology rooms. 😀

  17. colorpencil2014

    Such fun…normally I stay away from more social media, just to keep my schedule in good order ( I have a very slow pace of life) but I do use you tube to entertain me when I excersise…I subscribed right away, such fun!!! xo Johanna

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh that is sweet of you to subscribe. Does Charley ever show interest in animals on screen? Jack is totally disinterested, even if his own image appears on the screen. He is a little bit interested when we skype family members. I don’t know what he sees but he certainly pricks up his ears when he hears familiar voices. I hope I will have a few more fun videos as time goes by.

      Reply
      1. colorpencil2014

        Chalrey does react to animals on screen and after initial confusion she reacts a bit with chagrin when I skype with my sons…as if she says” They are still not here!!!” But when a wolf or dog howls on screen…she will howl louder ;o)

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Ah, she is very attuned to her virtual environment then. Perhaps she wonders why the ‘boys’ are in view but she can’t smell them! Yet, our dear animal friends are remarkable in the way they cope with our complex world.

  18. Joanne Jamis Cain

    I admire you for your desire to learn You Tube! I am not good at videos and I too admire anyone who creates a lovely one. Your dog is precious :). I will check out your You Tube page for sure! Much love, Joanne

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Joanne, I doubt I will ever be an expert video maker, just as I will never be an expert sewer or knitter or baker. But I like to give things a go. I am a dabbler. To write a book as you did would be beyond me, although I would probably be happy enough to write a few paragraphs! Enjoy Jack in his starring roles. 🙂

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Dear Joanne, I haven’t read it yet. An autographed copy would be lovely but I fear the postage would be exorbitant. I know when I order from Amazon the postage costs me as much as the book itself. It upsets me that the Post Office gets more money than the writers. 😦

        2. Joanne Jamis Cain

          I believe you that it would be expensive. I don’t know if you have a Kindle but it’s much less expensive as a download. I hope to be able to get a copy to you someday, somehow!

  19. KerryCan

    Bag pipes!! I want bag pipes! This set of photos is adorable–what a happy dog! But the video of him “talking” is awesome–he knows how to make his wishes known!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Bagpipes would be wonderful by the lake. And you could weave your own tartan to wear while you play. 😉
      As for Jack, we have some interesting conversations. He’s very eloquent and must find me awfully stupid at times. He loves to sing as well, but only classical music, preferably Wagner.

      Reply
  20. thecontentedcrafter

    I have quite a long term affair going on with You Tube Gallivanta. I don’t make videos – well rarely and not very well, but I watch videos. I don’t watch television, but I can see all kinds of things on YouTube. Concerts, films, documentaries, how-to’s – if there’s anything I want to find out about I go to You Tube to see what is on there about it…… I applaud your flirtation and hope it leads on to a grand passion ❤

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad to hear you find You Tube so useful/entertaining. I do watch a few things, and listen to music videos but I don’t use You Tube as much as I could. I intend to be more adventurous henceforth. A grand passion?……well….who knows. I may find something on You Tube which does lead me to a grand passion. 😀

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I am still here. But my output has diminished. In a way I consider that a good thing because it means I am engaging more with the world. Which means the healing post earthquakes is almost done.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Indeed! And it’s just the sort of music which Jack would love to sing along to. I fear, though, that the neighbours might call noise control or animal welfare.

  21. Juliet

    Good for you in having a new adventure, Gallivanta. It looks likes lots of fun, as good as twisting and turning on the spring grass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

