It’s me time

Just a quick post to let you know that I will be away quite a lot from my blog (and your blogs) for the next  6 weeks.

I will be preoccupied with family matters, visiting, and being visited.  It’s also my 60th birthday towards the end of March. I am not planning a big celebration, or even a small one, but I am planning some ‘me’ time.

This is not of me, but a painting made for me. I am very fond of it, and it somehow sits well with my upcoming birthday and my proposed time for myself.

Growing Younger Each Day

Growing Younger Each Day

Be back soonish.

© silkannthreades

 

 

 

133 thoughts on “It’s me time

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Very interesting talk Tish. I knew of her work but hadn’t heard her speak on the subject before. I like what she has to say, because I do believe nutrition is vitally important. On that score it upsets me how hospital food has become so dull. It may have all the required nutritional elements but it usually doesn’t feed the soul. The same goes for prison food, I believe.

      Reply
      1. Tish Farrell

        There’s also a Cambridge (UK) doctor who addresses many mental health issues by sorting out people’s gut flora that have been done in by too much refined food, and introducing fermented foods on a regular basis. I’m thinking these two approaches could be very powerful.

        Reply
  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    I’ve been away since Dec and am back on an irregular schedule at the present time. Have a wonderful time being away, have a delightful birthday and oh, yes, there’s always that family business. I have a new rescue Shit Zue (3 yr male and full of life). Bailey and I are currently going through the training for him to become a service dog. Happy birthday, Gallivanta.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Sheri. I had a look at your latest post. So much has been happening for you. It was good to have your update. Bailey must be a wonderful addition to your home. Blessings to you all.

      Reply
      1. Virginia Duran

        Glad to read this. Planning country number 4, Austria. I’ll be visiting Vienna with my sister in a couple of weeks, very excited. Especially because she lives in a different country, so it’s been a while that I don’t see her!

        Reply
      1. LucyJartz

        I am using some free time to finish pieces I started other times, like your magnolias from last August. I am just about to post them. Many blessings to you and your DH.

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Tiny. I got a lot of useful things organised today, such as appointments for a mole check and a bone density scan. I can’t say they are enjoyable but my mind feels happier knowing these ‘must dos’ are being taken care of.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Andrea. I am in the process of trying to decide what sort of cake I would like. Such weighty decisions! I am actually leaning towards a lovely trifle instead of cake. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, JAA. I have a big smile today. Had the final appointment for my root canal filling; feels so good to have a normal pain free bite again!

      Reply
  2. BEAUTYCALYPSE

    Is it too early to wish you a lovely Birthday? If not: Happy, happy Birthday!
    I hope you have a delightful time off, where checking off your to-do list is a walk in the park, while enjoying yourself is glorious and great! ❤
    But don't forget your digital friends! 🙂
    Hugs,
    Nath

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Just a fraction early but this is the year of my 60th so I plan on small celebrations all year long. And, indeed, I will not forget my digital friends. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Leya

    Wishing you a lovely me time birthday! Jack will of course be included…some he time? All the best – relaxing, enjoying. I just loved that movie ♥

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh so true; there’s never enough me-time, and sometimes when I get me-time I actually don’t know what to do with it; which is worrying because that seems to imply that I don’t know who or what me is? Eek! 😀 The painting is a treasure, indeed.

      Reply
  4. womanseyeview

    That’s a great plan for celebrating your 60th – a little self indulgence is just what you need😊. Have a wonderful time with friends and family – we’ll be here when you decide to come back.

    Reply
  5. Julie@frogpondfarm

    Hello lovely .. Wishing you a very special birthday. And lots of me time to do all times things you enjoy. Have fun relaxing and being with your visitors .. Looking forward to your return 😄

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      🙂 🙂 I may even go a little ‘wild’ and indulge in some wine. What would you suggest? I like the look of the Toi Toi Marlborough Pink Sauvignon 2014
      😉

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          It looks good. I rarely drink but once in a while it’s fun to splash out. My other treat is Bluff Oysters. I love that they appear in time for my birthday!

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Okay, will certainly do that. I really love it when a business has a good and responsive Facebook site. It drives me nuts when a business sets up a Fb page and then doesn’t monitor it or keep it fresh and active.

  6. Travelling Kiwi

    I love the painting; to me it is so evocative of how I think of you. Young (and growing younger), with flowers very close by (in fact, in your hair), and an eager, forward-looking gaze.
    I hope your family times are warm and rich, that your root canal is pain-free, and that your birthday is happy, happy, happy, with Jack beside you to show you the way to enjoy life to the fullest.
    My love and best wishes to you, my friend.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you so much TK. Brother will be with me over Easter which I am really looking forward to. Then I have a quick trip to Cairns to see the olds and not so olds. The time will fly, so I must catch as much of it as I can. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Sheryl. I haven’t quite worked out what fun things I will do but part of the me time will be dedicated to all those routine health checks we tend to put off…..I am about 3 years overdue on my bone density scan!!!!

      Reply
  7. Lavinia Ross

    A Happy 60th Birthday coming up! Do enjoy the time for yourself. We all find it necessary on occasion to take time for ourselves, and it is a good restorative. I will be thinking of you, and looking forward to your return.

    Always loved that painting Lucy made for you.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I hope you too are feeling more rested now Lavinia. If the me time allows for it, I would like to get the painting framed and hung. But I must be careful not to over fill my days. 🙂

      Reply
  8. clarepooley33

    I am so glad you are having some me time (even though that me time includes some dental work 😦 ). I hope you have a lovely time visiting and being visited and have a stupendous birthday! xx

    Reply
  9. Heather in Arles

    Wishing you a very Happy Birthday, a bit in advance but by the time the wishes catch up to you on the other side of the world it should be right on time!
    Gros Bisous,
    H

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Clanmother, I love that you are celebrating with me. I am slightly downhearted that my dream to be in Canada for my 60th hasn’t eventuated but Canada-time will come. 🙂 And Edinburgh time too!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I will look forward to returning! Here’s how the me-time is progressing so far. I sat down for some me-time television……and…..fell asleep! 😀

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I will do my best, but I did have to go to the doctor today for, amongst other things, a flu jab. Most of the doctors at that clinic are younger than I am, so, yes, going there does make me feel aged! 😀

      Reply
      1. danniehill

        I am one who get the Flu shot every year. I’ve had the ‘real’ flu and don’t want it again. I think they’re giving medical degrees right out of high school now, ha!

        Reply
  10. shoreacres

    Happy Birthday to you, and best wishes for your coming year. I hope your time away is fruitful, enjoyable, and filled with good things. We’ll certainly be eager for your return, but thank you for saying you’ll be gone for a bit. It can be disconcerting when online friends disappear without a word.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Linda. I dithered a bit about whether to say I would be away but I decided in the end it would be helpful for blogging friends to know I was absent for a good cause. 🙂

      Reply
  11. KerryCan

    I am feeling kind of selfish! I’m happy for you (except that business about the root canal!) but I’ll miss you! I do hope the time off will be relaxing and fun and fulfilling. And welcome to 60!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So far, so good, Kerry. The root canal treatment is over. I suggested to the dentist he might like to gift it to me for my birthday, but …… all I got was a happy smile. 🙂 Fair enough, he looks after my teeth so nicely that he rarely gets any business out of me.

      Reply
  12. utesmile

    Wishing you a super time with family and with yourself and enjoy your birthday. A happy Birthday to you. Me time is the best! Take care , many warm hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

