Along Came Funny Bones

Most of us like to post our best possible work, but, sometimes, our best possible work is not all that flash.

Such is the case with my latest video. The camera work is poor, the editing is  poorer, the captions are poorly synchronized,  and so on and so forth…..

Should I subject you to it?  Probably not, but even the poorest of efforts has some merit. Surely?

You may watch (or not) and decide for yourselves.

For me, there is merit in the slow-ish progression of the video, which gives one time to move through weariness and respite to  jaunty, dog-eared joy. There is merit in learning new skills, such as caption writing. And there is merit in finding my public voice again.

But the greatest merit of all is the mirth that came to me from the video,

because it reminded me

of how slowly I talk ,

and of another slow-talking character called Jones,

Slow-walkin’ Jones, Slow-talkin’ Jones, immortalized/mythologized  in song http://www.oldielyrics.com/lyrics/the_coasters/along_came_jones.html and in  Cary Cooper’s film,  Along Came Jones.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAweLY10lUo

I started out bone weary. I finished with seriously tickled funny bones. The best possible outcome, I reckon, from my less than perfect but best possible effort.

ps I am not tall and thin, nor lean and lanky; I am more teapot, short and stout.

pps The monarch butterflies and their offspring have joined the cicadas in the garden  since I made the video.

© silkannthreades

225 thoughts on “Along Came Funny Bones

  1. jaggh53163

    Gallivanta – Bravo for going out and trying something new… and I really enjoyed hearing your voice, it helps to fill out my mental picture of you and where you live. I thoroughly enjoyed your video. Always keep learning…..

    Reply
  2. aleafinspringtime

    Oh what an absolute treat to hear your voice G and to see your corner of the world! You have an absolutely lovely voice and the video refreshed and soothed me. Big love to Jack-Jack. He is adorable! More please. Sharon x

    Reply
      1. aleafinspringtime

        Yes to that! I was reminded of the Japanese animation The Secret World of Arrietty when I watched your video. The deliberate slowness and rich pauses of time and space to just stare and observe the world. Can’t wait to see your roses. x

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          How delightful of you to say so. I haven’t seen The Secret World of Arrietty but to this day I still have my copy of The Borrowers by Mary Norton. An all time favourite book from my very early days.

  3. restlessjo

    Hooray for the Monarchs! 🙂 That movie clip made me smile too. They don’t make them like that any more. 🙂 And I, too, enjoyed hearing your voice as you strolled, Ann. Keep tickling those funny bones 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My monarchs were making me smile today, Jo. They were flying everywhere in the garden. Unfortunately, I have very little food left for them, so I hope they can find happiness in another garden nearby.

      Reply
  4. lisadorenfest

    I had to watch the video simply to hear your voice and I am so pleased I did. Love your cadence, your garden, and JACK! What a pumpkin. I actually thought the video was just fine and you are WAY too hard on yourself.

    I was not familiar with the movie or the song. I had to listen to the song as well (here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tu7ciTd8V80) and it gave me quite a chuckle. The old movie clip with Gary Cooper made me HUGELY miss old movies. We don’t have many in our collection aboard Amandla (and no TV here).

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Jack is a pumpkin; the very sweetest. 🙂 As I type he’s tapping my leg to remind me it’s time for his goodnight treat. The Ray Steven’s version of the song is fun. As for the movie….I rarely have time to watch a movie…but that one made me laugh. What are some of the movies you have on board? You could almost make your own movie. 🙂

      Reply
      1. lisadorenfest

        We have mostly the academy award winners from the past 10 years. However, when I mentioned this post to The Captain and told home I was missing the oldies, he brought out a hard drive with a whole collection of old movies I didn’t even know we had. Yay!

        Reply
        1. lisadorenfest

          #metoo My prayers are with Fiji this evening. Have some friends who have sailboats there but they are in hurricane holes. More worried about the locals that we befriended on the islands, especially in the Lau. Am hopeful all are/will be okay 🙏

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Lynley. No funny bones tickled today. I didn’t think I would be so distressed, considering everything in my house stayed put, and there was no damage. Keeping my fingers crossed for a calm night. Lovely to hear from you.

      Reply
  5. Jill's Scene

    What a lovely, calming video! I love your garden and the best little creature in the world, Gallivanta! Funny, but on Tuesday I spent ages learning how to upload and edit a video I made for my next post. I spent over an hour trying to trim ten seconds from it! Efficiency plus, that’s me!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I look forward to seeing it. I still haven’t got a handle on the trimming tools. 😦 I even tried a video editing app that a very young cousin uses with ease. Still difficult for me. 😀

      Reply
  6. Wendy L. Macdonald

    Your voice, your flowers, your dog—all lovely. Thank you for sharing your garden with us. You’ve inspired me to give it a try when mine is in full bloom. I have traffic noise here too, but hearing yours made me think of ocean waves coming into shore. Perhaps I’ll pretend mine are too. 🙂
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

