Gently

Gently is all, gently……

Gently does it.

Gently does it.

I have been sick with a virus; probably a type of flu. I am recovering well.

Jack was the best possible nurse.

Jack ~ faithful friend

Jack ~ faithful friend

Many people have been sick, or are sick, with this virus.

I am looking forward to putting winter behind me. The first crocus will appear soon. And theΒ  trees at the end of the street will blossom by the first week of August.

Signing off with the warmth of sunshine on my shoulders.

Gently is all, gently.

Β© silkannthreades

 

 

235 thoughts on “Gently

  1. Marisa @missmarzipan.com

    Hello! So nice to see you! πŸ™‚ But I am sorry you were unwell (even thought this was quite some time ago). We have just entered cold and flu season. I was unwell last week and had to go to the hospital as my balance was so off that I almost fell a couple of times. Luckily it was just a symptom of a virus and nothing was wrong with baby/the pregnancy. I was told that rest was the only cure. So, trying to take things gently here right now πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Marisa, how good to have you spend some of your precious free time visiting me. I am very well now, but, yes, the only way to treat a virus is with rest. So please continue to rest as much as you can with two littlies in the house. Hugs. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Marisa @missmarzipan.com

        Thank you so much! Hugs to you! And it was so nice to have a cup of decaf and visit you again! A great way to get back into WP life after being rather absent for a while. Your posts are always warm and comforting πŸ™‚ x

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am a bit camera shy, Virginia, but I thought this photo went well with the post. It is the first full face photo I have posted, other than some very old ones from my youth/childhood.

      Reply
  2. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    That Jack is a real sweetheart, isn’t he. It looks as though he’s right at home snuggled down in the covers. I had to get up early today as Prissy had a grooming appointment. She’s home now, nice and clean and all fluffed out once again. I’m a bit concerned as she’s lost a pound this past month. She’s eating good, it seems she’s eating better than before. You are looking forward to the sunshine and I’m looking forward to some cooler temperatures. The work I have to do in order to get my flower beds ready for additional and/or new plantings in the fall will be much easier to do in cool temperatures. Stay well.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Jack had his grooming appointment the other day, too. He smells sweet until he rolls in the warm sunny grass. Fortunately it’s nothing worse than grass! Happy gardening.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So kind of you, Tiny. Spring is in the air….my first apricot blossom may open soon. I took a load of stuff to the recycle center this afternoon. En route we saw daffodils, magnolias and daffodils. It was lovely. There’s quite a lot more to do but I am making headway.

      Reply
  3. womanseyeview

    I do hope you’re feeling better these days! Not sure how I missed this post but then it occurred to me that you had been quiet for a while so I went looking for you. Be well!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for checking in on me. I am fully recovered from the bug/virus. But with my renewed energy I am lost in the world of spring cleaning. I expect I will be quiet for a while yet. 😦 Hope you are well, too. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Lavinia Ross

        Galivanta – glad to hear you have recovered. I had not heard from you in a while, so thought I would check in.
        I will be fall cleaning here as soon as this drought, and the arvest season, is over.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          How kind of you to check in, Lavinia. I started a big clean up last year but was interrupted by a number of things. I am picking up where I left off and, thankfully, making a little progress.

  4. AshiAkira

    I very much appreciated your reading and making a kind comment on my “70 Years Ago…” last night. But while I was correcting my misspelling, your comment was gone. I’m very sorry that happened as I’m not much of a computer mechanic.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah well, these things happen. I have been watching the BBC items on events in Japan 70 years ago. There were many interviews with people in Japan who witnessed those times. But it was very good to have your personal perspective.

      Reply
  5. Wendy L. Macdonald

    May spring come to the rescue and fill you with its vitality. Illness is the one thing I really don’t like about winter. So glad to read above that you’re fully recovered. I hope you were able to read while you were sick. It’s the one time I can catch up with novels and books.
    Gentle Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Wendy. The sun is warm and good, and I feel the same way. I really wasn’t able to do anything whilst I was sick. Even listening to the radio required too much effort. I am glad it’s over for me but the flu is still spreading in the community.

      Reply
      1. Wendy L. Macdonald

        Aw, I’m so sorry you suffered so intensely. One of my sons always gets hit by colds and flues much harder than the rest of us. He suffers quietly–but oh my, he suffers. It breaks my heart to see it. Gentle hug. I’m not looking forward to flu season…

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I do hope your flu season is less severe than ours. My son was always very sensitive to colds but this is the first time any of us have had flu in our 15 years in New Zealand.

  6. Robbie

    sorry to hear you are sick, but spring in august for you means getting outside to garden more- I am assuming. Here August is when the gardens are winding down and fall is approaching. I have to get use to reading your blogs in NZ.We are opposites:-) Hope you feel better soon:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Touch wood, I am all better, Robbie. I was out briefly in the garden today. I can see a few daffodils which may open soon. Happy thought. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Micheline, I am fully recovered now, thank goodness, but I am still aiming to treat myself gently for the remainder of the winter. I hope you are well.

      Reply
        1. pleisbilongtumi

          I have heard about the secret of how to keep the body young, when we were about 30 yo, eat young same kind of leaves for 70 years ( any leaves ), it turns young suddenly when we reach 100 yo but I am not sure if it works. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Feeling better, Britt. Pet nurses are the best, indeed. Yesterday I thought Jack had escaped the yard or been kidnapped. You should have seen me out on the street in my pjs calling his name hysterically. Shameful. But all was well. Long story!

      Reply
  7. Clanmother

    Have I told you lately how much I enjoy your posts! I think that we need to be more “gentle” with ourselves. Most times we force ourselves to accomplish something so that we validate our existance. After all, there are problems to solve, people to take care of, dinner to make, cloths to wash etc etc etc. Sometimes, we forget about taking care of ourselves. Until our bodies say, enough is enough. I will take my day more “gently.” Thank you, dear dear friend.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Clanmother, I have had a lovely gentle day. These past few weeks I have been blessed with the company of a friend who has kept us nurtured with delicious food and goodness, and treated Jack with such kindness that I am sure he will cry when she leaves. I may have a tear or two as well. Your Instagram photos remind me to enjoy the moment, be it in a flower or coffee or pie. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Dina

    Poor you! ❀ We do hope you are feeling a lot better today, Gallivanta. What a lovely photo of you. And Jack! πŸ™‚ Take all the time you need to recharge your batteries again. Isn't funny how quickly a flu can drain you and how long it takes to get going again?
    Best wishes, with a big hug,
    from all four of us
    and lots of fairydust from πŸ‘­ Siri and Selma on top βœ¨πŸŒŸπŸ’«βœ¨πŸŒŸ

    Reply
  9. Mrs. P

    I sure hope all that good food and warm wishes has made you feel better! I only saw your post today as I was on vacation…and it is so good to see your lovely face, even if you are under the weather.

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Mrs P, I do hope you have fully recovered from your back injury. Perhaps your back was protesting about having to go back to work. πŸ˜‰ The photo is wonderful. So glad you sent it. We still have a small tram on that route but it is really only for sightseers. The rest of the square is a completely different sight now, thanks to time and the earthquakes.

        2. Mrs. P

          Back is much better now. Don’t mind work at all. I found laying arounf watching tv and reading all day to be quite tiresome. I am happy to be mostly normal and able to do my usual things. πŸ˜€

        3. Mrs. P

          Between hurting my back and vacations I haven’t been able to spend much time over there. But I am all renewed physically and ready to get back to work.

          To make matters interesting, Rick is getting knee surgery next week. It’s going to be a short recovery period but it will mean that he is not going to be doing much for the next few weeks.

          Ah, how quickly the time goes…and the money!

          I will see what I can do to put together a post of what we have…or should I say, what Rick has done to the place.

  10. Tish Farrell

    So sorry to hear you’ve been ailing. These things can take some throwing off. You definitely need some sun. Do you have a veggie juicer? – a combo of carrot, celery, apple and a touch of stem ginger make a good tonic. Then there’s the raw garlic cure :O

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      No juicer, Tish, but there’s plenty of raw garlic in the house. It’s mandarin, orange, citrus season at the moment so I am enjoying tucking into those. I used to have a juicer but it pained me so much to clean it that I gave it away. πŸ˜€

      Reply
        1. Tish Farrell

          Ha! A good piece of circumstantial evidence methinks. I too have long had such a theory. I wonder if this nutribullet thingy that pulverizes everything inside a goblet is any better. It’s certainly expensive. And of course we do have teeth to do a similar job, should we care to do that much chewing.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          I have friends who use and like the nutribullet. Speaking of chewing…my grandfather believed in chewing his food very slowly and thoroughly. Which was fine but I always found it very hard to sit at the table and wait for him to finish. No matter how slowly I ate, I would still finish before him. He treated his food gently and lived a long life. πŸ™‚

      1. Steve Schwartzman

        The song says:

        “If I had a wish that I could wish for you,
        I’d make a wish for sunshine all the while.”

        Don’t you think we appreciate sunshine all the more when cloudy days have intervened?

        Reply

Leave a Reply

