Results

Am I returning to my blog so soon?  Sigh!  No.

I am just temporarily turning a deaf ear to the clamour of clutter

Clutter in transition

Clutter in transition

to wish you a Happy St Andrew’s Day on this first Sunday in Advent,

Flowers for St Andrew on the first Sunday of Advent

Flowers for St Andrew on the first Sunday of Advent

and to bring you the results of my  T’is the Season Giveaway, which, as promised, I drew on Thanksgiving Day.

The winners are April at  Finding Beauty in Spite of Myself  and Iris at  Wandering Iris.

April wins  How to Stay Sane in a Crazy World by Sophia Stuart; a beautiful and most suitable book for a blogger who writes about finding beauty everyday. And, Iris, who loves to travel  will hopefully be inspired to visit Hollywood (if she hasn’t been there yet) when she reads her giveaway prize, It’s In His Kiss, by Vickie Lester.

Congratulations April and Iris and thank you for your readership of my blog. Would you please send your postal addresses to me at kaahend@gmail.com ?  As it is getting close to Christmas mail rush time, I can’t promise you will receive your books before the New Year, but I will do what I can to speed them on their way. In the meantime, enjoy some of the flowers that were in my house  on the day I closed my eyes and picked your names out of a bowl.

Flowers for Thanksgiving

Flowers for Thanksgiving

Other results:

I plod on with my de-cluttering exercise. It is slow, tedious work but there are small signs of progress, like this tidy drawer,

Disorganised but definitely de-cluttered.

An odd assortment  but definitely de-cluttered.

and there is the occasional merry moment as when I uncovered a wee newspaper snippet sent by my mother, many years ago, about a Cat’s 12 Days of Christmas: ” On the 12th day of Christmas my human gave to me: 12 bags of catnip, 11 tarter pounce treats, 10 ornaments hanging, nine wads of Kleenex, eight peacock feathers, seven stolen Q-tips, six feathered balls, five milk jug rings, four munchy house plants, three running faucets, two fuzzy mousies and a hamste-e-er in a plastic ball.” Ah, mothers and cats, every bit as good as saints when it comes to encouraging us.

And, you, too, my readers are good, saintly friends and encouragers, (like St Andrew), for keeping me company on my clean-up and clean-out, and for being patient with my inability to read your blogs as much as I would like to.  Never fear; in the words of the sign in my grandparents’ incredibly cluttered wash house/outhouse,  ‘Don’t be sad, don’t be glum, better days are sure to come.”  (After all it is the Advent season. 😉 ) See you soon- ish.

 

© silkannthreades

139 thoughts on “Results

  1. Mary

    I love your flower arrangements, you have a beautiful talent for making each one unique and special – I like your containers, all wonderful treats to showcase the beautiful petals.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you :). I am enjoying the vivid colours of the flowers in Cairns this week. The poincianas, the frangipani, the golden shower, the Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow etc. And all the beautiful palm trees too.

      Reply
        1. pleisbilongtumi

          😀 Don’t worry about the orchid because not all of them bare flowers! and maybe yours is infertile one. I suggest you just spank and throw it away !

          One of my orchids is one and a half year old in the garden since I put it in a pot. It has not bloom yet. I know the flowers were so cute on the tip of a long stalk which was 8 to 10 time longer than its total body height. Hopefully this year would be flowering.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          I will give it a bit more time. I have a kiwifruit vine in the garden. For four years it has produced no fruit. This year I was going to dig it up. However I decided to give it one more chance. And, goodness me, it has produced 4 kiwi fruit. A very small crop but maybe next year it will be better. In the garden we need patience!

  2. mmmarzipan

    It seems, once again, that I have missed much 😦 I hope all is going well for you and I do hope 2015 will see both of us able to spend the amount of time on wp as we would like to 🙂 Best wishes to you!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Miss Marzipan. Once I have my clutter sorted, I will have lots more time for everything. I am beginning to worry though that I have underestimated the amount of time it will take to de-clutter.

      Reply
  3. Karin Van den Bergh

    My New Year’s resolution for 2014 was to clear out and clean up…I’m still in the process. Well I did a good job when I moved to Texas this summer and now I’m back again to organizing.
    Take courage in your quest!
    LoL! I liked the 12 Cat days of Xmas. We recently got two little cuties from the shelter. So much fun! I’m not sure if I’ll decorate the tree this year..one already made it to the top

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Hmmm…might be risky adding decorations to your tree this year but maybe a few here and there would be fun for the kitties. 🙂 You still have a few weeks of 2014 left to finish off your resolution. Sounds like you have done very well with it so far. Thanks for sending me courage. Such a boost to have everyone cheering me on.

      Reply
  4. April

    I’m so honored to have won the drawing! Looking forward to the mailman. By the way–while I am also de-cluttering, I find myself asking questions like ‘do I really need two calculators in my drawer?’ 😉

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ha! I have decided that the answer to that question is NO, NO! All being well, your package will be in the mail tomorrow. However, who knows if all will be well, so we will see what tomorrow brings.

      Reply
  5. shoreacres

    Back from my little trip, I am, and now I’m busy de-cluttering my email inbox! The first run-through was easy: away with advertisements, a bit of spam, and daily emails from folks like the esteemed Dr. Goodword. Then, a second sifting to reply to business emails and such. Now? I’m down to the important things, like a notification of your post! It seems you’ve been both busy and productive: a combination which can’t always be assumed.

    Dare I suggest that your on-going project is perfect for the season? It’s an advent-ure, no? I always enjoyed the tradition practiced by some, of leaving an empty creche until Christmas. I think that’s why I love de-cluttering. It’s a physical analogue to a spiritual process — emptying out, in order to have room to receive something new.

    I do agree with the advice offered by many: never, ever, ask the cat for advice!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Definitely an advent-ure, and I love the connection you make between de-cluttering and the empty creche. It gives me an incentive to tackle another cupboard this evening. Today, I took sorted items to our wonderful recycling depot. The workers there are getting to know me quite well. As for the cat; I found an old hairbrush of mine. I tried it out on the cat. She was not impressed. Her advice was ‘bin’ it. Sometimes a cat can be relied upon. 😉

      Reply
  6. Clanmother

    I am so very happy for you. And you have been my inspiration. I just took a huge pile of “good stuff” down to the thrift store and now I am going to take on the storage closet. AAGHHHH… But I do feel so much better. 🙂 Hugs

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Marvellous. And I , too, have just put together a huge bag for the thrift store and am about to put another bag of ‘not good’ stuff in the rubbish. Am now wondering if that is my limit for the day. Maybe one more little ‘something’ and then I will call it quits for the day. 🙂

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          And I wonder how far my rubbish or my recycled items will travel. What new adventures will they have? Love the music for the video clip "Farewell Symphony" :D .

  7. Tiny

    Congrats on your progress so far! I think it looks great already…and the flower arrangements are beautiful. Mister 🐩 joins me in cheering on you! He had his 14th birthday today.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Joanne. I think the rose is called Iceberg. It flowers now, and then again in February. It was a gift from an elderly Romanian lady who came to me for a while for English lessons.

      Reply
  8. Mary Mageau

    Gallivanta, what an achievement – that one beautifully tidy drawer. Thank you for sharing two lovely floral arrangements. Just keep on plugging away with the de-clutter work and soon it will be finished.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The flowers are so plentiful at this time of year; they are a joy. And, yes, there is nothing for it but to keep on plugging away. I had a break today as there were other things to do, but tomorrow I will be back on task.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ha! It just so happens that I found 3 containers of glitter in my clutter. Maybe I should sprinkle it about with gay abandon. There were also 6 (!) glue sticks in the clutter with the glitter. I am not sure what to make of it all at the moment so it is all still sitting in the drawer where I found it.

      Reply
  9. Steve Schwartzman

    Speaking of Advent, biologists use the adjective adventive to mean, in the definition of the American Heritage Dictionary: ‘Not native to and not fully established in a new habitat or environment; locally or temporarily naturalized.’ Sometimes people feel that way too.

    Reply
  10. Letizia

    I love the phrase “clutter in transition”! It’s one I will use now when in the process of de-cluttering. Happy St. Andrew’s Day (I didn’t know of this day). Here it’s still Nov. 30 but I have my advent calendar out and look forward to opening the first little door tomorrow morning.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And it is still in transition; looking at me accusingly and saying, “Well, what are you going to do with us?”
      Do you have a treat behind the first little door? Do tell. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        I know something is there, behind the little door, but I don’t know what. The calendar is made by a client who makes glass gifts so last year it ranged from little glass christmas trees to little glass brooches. Even tiny wooden objects. Exciting!!

        Reply
  11. Juliet

    Congratulations on good progress with the decluttering- that drawer looks so happy. I love the cornflowers – such a glorious blue.
    PS I’ve extended my free gift offer of summer mandala cards till Dec 7, due to requests – so you still have time!

    Reply
  12. Mrs. P

    You always have such lovely flower arrangements…and I think you’re clutter is staged, it’s far too neat! 😉

    Mum in law is a crazy cat lady, she’ll surely love your 12 days of Christmas!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That is clutter in transition, awaiting a final determination on its fate! A huge pile of paper clutter had just been put in the recycle bin.
      I have no idea who wrote the 12 Days of Cat Christmas but it is fun. It’s the sort of thing that does the rounds on Facebook or email these days but years ago came to us in written form via newspaper or magazines.

      Reply
  13. ordinarygood

    Your flowers are as glorious as always. Soak up that goodness. I thought of you on Saturday when I responded to a request via our community Facebook page for coloured pebbles for a fish pond. I had a 2 litre ice cream container full of pebbles from days of goldfish keeping here….hmmmm over 20 years ago! I’m still delighting that they have gone to a new home that was just itching to have them! But oh there is so much more to declutter here too. And so much that really has someone else’s name on it…..
    BTW is that an old compass in the front of your immaculate drawer?

    Go well and celebrate every decision you make to move “stuff” on!!!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It makes life so much easier when things you love but no longer need can be placed in a good home. And, yes, about 50% of the clutter in this house doesn’t even belong to me!
      Not an old compass but a very old, and useless, nutcracker. My aunt gave it to me; she said that it belonged to my Nana. It’s a bit silly to keep it when it doesn’t work well but it reminds me of the bowl of nuts that my Nana kept on her sideboard. Most of the nuts came from my great-uncle’s farm I think, and they were so delicious. So what do you do? The memories, the memories. 😦

      Reply
      1. ordinarygood

        I know your anguish over “heirlooms”….I have no easy answers….I like to donate stuff to good causes and we have plenty of those on my doorstep. But it all takes effort – physical, psychological and emotional to even begin the process.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Such effort! I had almost decided to throw away the nutcracker but as I picked it up this morning I had a thought that perhaps my grandmother kept it because it came from her mother’s farm, in which case it would be very old, and, possibly, one of the few remaining remnants from the farm. I have no way of knowing, of course, but it is so worn I doubt it was any use to my grandmother, so that makes me feel that she had sentimental reasons for keeping it. I will hold on to it a while longer. More thought required.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Gosh I just looked up nutcrackers via Mr Google. They are sought after. I found one on ebay much like mine, sold for $US50.00. Yep, this one is a keeper. And, yes, I may take it into the museum one day.

  14. BEAUTYCALYPSE

    Have fun de-cluttering, dear A., quite timely a tast in the end of year… but please be sure to show up soon! 😉
    Lots of love from Berlin ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure I will pop back before too long. It’s important to have some creativity and communication when one is spending solitary time deconstructing and dismantling and, in a way, severing many old connections.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      JAA, I did find the important papers. And in a very interesting way which I am sure had much to do with St Anthony. 😉 Bless his cotton socks if he had any.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Dear Sophia, I hate to give you away but keeping two copies to myself is quite unnecessary. I would rather share the joy and bid one copy farewell to travel the world again.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          When the children are young, there are other more important things to worry about. And some clutter makes for useful play items; dress up clothes, material for scrapbooks, spare buttons, home made tents etc!

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh so very many stories Britt! Several have already popped in to my head but there they must remain for a while, or at least until I need to take another short respite from the mayhem.

      Reply
  15. Lavinia Ross

    Decluttering – a lifelong activity for me! I never quite get there. Working on the garage right now, hopefully to get my tool, workshop and micro-winery setup in there.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The garage…I wish you well. Mine will be my nemesis I fear. 😦 I think you are right; de-cluttering is a lifelong activity. Like gardening or housework, it always needs attention.

      Reply
  16. thecontentedcrafter

    It is a pleasure to see you back no matter how briefly that may be. I have to say your clutter doesn’t look too intensive and I must also mention that I LOVE those little blue birds – they are delicious! And this comes from a person who has very few ornamental items in her house. I am doing round two of my personal decluttering mission – I decided I needed more space in my art room and the only way to get that, as it has proven impossible to push the walls back, is to throw away the stuff I no longer use, the stuff that might be useful one day and the stuff that simply accumulates because it’s there. I threw out three rubbish bags of packaging materials, all kept just in case I wanted to post something of that particular size…… Can you imagine!

    I do love how light and bright both the house and I feel after these exercises 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Pauline, I have yet to deal with 3 drawers of “potential” packaging material! We are incorrigible when it comes to such things, aren’t we? But, well done, for dealing to it. I try to keep ornaments to a minimum (they are dust traps!) but I do like them, and they are the sort of item that is hard to part with. There are boxes of them, stashed away. 😦 😦

      Reply
  17. quarteracrelifestyle

    Pretty photos, I love your blue vase with the birds. Congrats to winners I am sure they will love their reads. Keep up your good work, soldier on……you are doing better than me who is still too scared to start lol.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Wendy, I have discovered that it is not so much the starting that is hard but the sustaining of my interest in the process. I need marathon grade stamina, methinks. 😦 After our trip to the recycle depot today we diverted further north to Kaiapoi. That was a refreshing break. Kaiapoi is starting to look good, and that was pleasing to see.

      Reply
      1. quarteracrelifestyle

        Yes, not a very exciting job is it?!

        Pleased to hear that. Roger’s sister is in Kaiapoi but we haven’t been down for ages, what a sad state it was then. We are heading down in January so will be able to see all the progress down there.

        Reply
  18. colorpencil2014

    well a deserved little break, I’d say! That neat drawer is a work of art. But oh, how I love your blue and white vase with the fox! do not de-clutter that one;0) good luck for the next coming de-clutter jobs! Johanna

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The two birds have been with me for a long time, Robbie. They were given to me by the mother of my first serious boyfriend. She also gave me a little red bird but it had a mishap some years ago. 😦 I love glass birds; I love glass! Which is curious because my great great grandfather was a glazier; he probably didn’t love glass though.

      Reply
      1. Robbie

        my mother gave me the glass birds for I love cardinals:-) Handmade glass is beautiful:-) I took a class in it many years ago + I was TERRIBLE. I was too afraid of the propane fire etc-lol. The man next to me was making all these beautiful glass animals, beads etc…I had the desire but was nervous around the fire in my hand! I did it but it did not feel comfortable. I picked a different medium later—I am the same way around burning some debris from my yard or bon fires- we call them around here:-)

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I am nervous around flame, too. I would be hopeless at glass making. And, thankfully, we are not permitted to have bonfires so I don’t need to worry about them. 😉 I am sure I inherited a fear of fire/flame from my parents and grandparents who always had tales to tell of things that accidentally caught alight!

  19. Robbie

    I admire your declutter!!! I will start mine after the New Year when I have more time…lol-like that will happen-but I will try:-)
    Happy Decluttering!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am confident you will, at least, try. If you are a regular de-clutterer, as I suspect you are, then the task will be manageable, and not too time-consuming.

      Reply
  20. SwittersB

    Such beautiful elegance in those flower arrangements. Although I can tell you are no where near a hoarder you might, sometime, check out my other blog Hoarding Woes & You. My Mom and my Aunt were massive hoarders (part sentimental attachments, part might need it someday and paid good money for it, and part I’m just too tired now to do anything about it). My wife and extended family spent 6 toiling years of our lives cleaning up those two homes and having to refurbish them to sell. I admire anyone that can make those hard decisions on the back end or the front end (acquiring stuff). Bravo

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      True, I am not a hoarder in the serious sense of the word, but I want to de-clutter as much as I can now because I can foresee a time when I will be too tired to do anything about it, and then it will overwhelm me. I have checked out your other blog. Your 6 years of toil brought wonderful results; admiration plus. And many thanks for the link.

      Reply
  21. vsperry

    Why is “stuff” so emotional and getting rid of it so emotionally draining? I try to be ruthless and still I am surrounded by it…and it creeps ever closer to me as I sit here typing. Take a break, revel in what you have accomplished and start fresh tomorrow.
    Oh, and DEFINITELY do not ask the cat for advice.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      There must be a ‘law of clutter’. If not, there should be one. Speaking of cats; one reason I struggle to throw out old garments, especially knitted ones, is that I think, “Oh this will make a comfy bed for the cat!” And then I end up with a box of things for the cat that she would need 10 lives to get through. 😀

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Sally for your encouragement. Hopefully, tomorrow there will be time to refresh the vases. I am needing some relief from the sight of endless old papers. 🙂

      Reply
  22. Melody Balthaser

    LOL, I just came on WordPress to debate posting something and went to my reader first. Your post appeared and I had to laugh! I decided I am not returning to my blog today either! I just don’t have anything amazing to say (and way too much clutter clamor also) Thanks for sharing. I feel better now 😉 Btw, I am impressed with your organizing accomplishments~ carry on!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Naomi, some days don’t feel productive but when I stop and think about the lovely tidy drawers and cupboards in my bedroom, I realise that I am doing quite well with my de-clutter (and then I go and spoil it all by doing something stupid… like looking in the garage….eek!)

      Reply
  23. YellowCable

    Looks like you did a very good job of de-cluttering. I think it is a hard and long battle (at least for my view of things around me) but really rewarding at the end. The flowers for thanksgiving are beautiful 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      YC, when I was de-cluttering I came upon an old china gravy jug which used to belong to my mother. It’s not much use for gravy anymore but I decided it was perfect to hold a Thanksgiving arrangement. Finding old things of beauty amongst the clutter is one reward for the hard work.

      Reply
  24. KerryCan

    De-cluttering seems to suit you–you sound in good spirits! The 12 Days of Cat Christmas is funny–whoever wrote it certainly knows cats! Whenever I try to de-clutter, it’s just that kind of thing that bogs me down–I find stuff, pause to read and enjoy, decide I can’t part with it, put it on a pile . . . and so on. It was good to see you here for just a bit and congrats to the book winners!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have taken the day off from de-cluttering. Yesterday, I was in a deep funk about it all. I feel brighter because I am relaxing and not making decisions. But, yes, what will I do with that gem I found? Will I keep it, will I throw it out? Shall I ask the cat? 😀 😀

      Reply
      1. KerryCan

        Don’t ask the cat!! It might give her ideas and expectations! I’d say take a picture of it and throw the thing away. I’m starting to believe that is an answer for me–take photos and get ruthless with actual objects.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, taking photos is a great idea; asking cats for an opinion is not. I would probably be ignored anyway unless tasty scraps of chicken were involved.

  25. earthbornliving

    Looking like good progress ….
    The sculptor produces the beautiful statue by chipping away such parts of the marble block as are not needed – it is a process of elimination.
    Elbert Hubbard
    Artful simplifying 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I feel much like that. I take away a certain amount of ‘stuff’, I look at what is left, take away some more, and so it goes. When I looked at the drawer after I had taken the photo, I had to ask myself, ” Why am I keeping two calculators that don’t even belong to me?” The question has not yet been answered!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

