T’is the season

T’is the season for giving thanks and, it seems, for giveaways. Wendy at Quarter Acre Lifestyle and Boomdeeadda had sweetly sneaky ones the other day. Despite the quiet surprise element, their giveaways were a  vocal and  gracious thank-you to their followers.  Now, Heather at Lost in Arles is organising a giveaway. It is her first one. It is her way of thanking her supporters, as well as celebrating four wonderful years of blogging. The giveaway is a beautiful book by Ann Mah, Mastering the Art of French Eating.

As a dedicated follower of Wendy, Boomdeeadda and Heather, guess what I am about to do? Yes, you guessed it. I, too, am going to offer a giveaway. What’s my “excuse”?  ( apart from my wish to try out what  inspiring bloggers do? 😉 )

My excuse is twofold:

a) It’s Thanksgiving season. I want to give thanks to my blogging community;

b) It’s spring cleaning season.  I want to declutter….thoughtfully; as in  by sharing the good fortune of my excess goodies.

You may remember that, owing to the shenanigans of the postal services and various book delivery systems, I ended up with two copies of It’s in His Kiss   by Vickie Lester of Beguiling Hollywood.

One for each handhttps://silkannthreades.wordpress.com/2014/06/27/its-in-his-kiss/ It's In His Kiss by Vickie Lester

One for each hand, It’s in His Kiss  by Vickie Lester

A similar situation arose with Sophia Stuart’s (Teamgloria) , How to Stay Sane in a Crazy World.

Both books are splendid additions to my bookshelf but it’s time for the extra copies to be dispatched for the enjoyment of others. Would you like to be that ‘other’?

If so, leave a like or a comment and I will draw out a winner on Thanksgiving Day, Thursday  27th November ( New Zealand time). There will be two giveaways; one for Sophia’s book and one for Vickie’s.

Sophia’s book is a beautiful, restful way to treat yourself, or someone who is in need of calm and healing. It is a pleasure to read, and a pleasure to hold and behold. ( Little secret….I sometimes pick up my copy and simply hold it, and stroke the cover, because it’s feels so exactly right to my hand and to my eye; in other words, it’s aesthetically pleasing. 😉 )

Vickie’s book comes with a warning!  Beware where this Beguiling Hollywood mystery may take you. I hadn’t read anything Hollywood, or mysterious, for years. I wasn’t sure if I liked mystery and/or murder tales anymore……..hmmmm…..

W.E.L.L  …….apparently I do. I devoured It’s in His Kiss; next stop was  Nola Fran Evie  by Britt Skrabenak,  followed by Let Sleeping Gods Lie by  Australian author/blogger  Dianne Gray.   Did my murder/mystery ‘kick’ end there? No, indeed, not.  I am now reading Wolf Pear by Dianne Gray. Ms Lester, look how far you have led me astray from my old, fusty reading paths.  Those darn Hollywood Kisses! They sweep you off your feet.

Sophia, whose Teamgloria posts I miss most dreadfully, has also led me off the beaten track into new and interesting territory. First it was via the process of publishing her book, and now she is introducing me to the world of the mobile episodic drama. Yes, the mobile episodic drama! What next, you may ask!  This is a style of writing that is completely new to me, but probably old hat to a digital pioneer, like Sophia. Her drama launches this week via Pocket Gems’ Episode Platform and is called Mayfair Brooks. Here’s the story.   I am going to pretend I am 17 again and check it out. Join me, if you dare.

In the meantime, please have fun with my giveaway. I may be decluttering but I am truly thankful for all the support and joy you bring to me with your comments and readership. It’s time to return some of the goodness. T’is the season for giving.

“We give Him thanks for our supporters, who had charge of our harvests.” from The Thanksgivings by  Harriet Maxwell Converse.

Jennie Augusta Brownscombehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jennie_Augusta_Brownscombe, The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth, 1914, Pilgrim Hall Museum, Plymouth, Massachusetts

Jenni Augusta Brownscombe, The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth, 1914, Pilgrim Hall Museum, Plymouth, Massachusetts

ps If you read my blog by email only, you are welcome to send me an email and ask to be included in the giveaway.

© silkannthreades

123 thoughts on “T’is the season

  1. mmmarzipan

    I totally would have entered had I had the foresight to be around on my wp reader when you posted this! A lovely giveaway! 🙂 And, funnily enough I just decided to post one myself today! It’s my first giveaway that has not been a downloadable. x

    Reply
  2. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    This may be the best idea I’ve heard of in a long time and what fun. Throw my hat in the ring, my lovely lady. Now I know why I like to read your blogs on a quiet Saturday or Sunday evening. It’s as though I’ve come to the well where I refresh my spirit and senses. Where I see beauty in it’s many forms but also intellectual stimulation.
    We’ve had our first hard freeze, weeks earlier than normal. I’m behind with my mulching but am doing everything possible to save every last beautiful flower and some that aren’t as beautiful but still earned a place in my heart. You, dear lady, have taught me that everything in it’s own place and time has beauty to share with the world.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your generous praise, Sheri. Hope you will have a few blooms left for Thanksgiving. 🙂 And I will put your name in the hat! First I need to find the hat. 😉

      Reply
      1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        Went out to survey the gardens just before dark. Hundreds and hundreds of blooms covered in deep frost (almost ice if we had precipitation). It’s a beautiful site in a strange kind of way. I wish Tom were steady enough on his feet to be my photographer. He does the class act stuff – my attempts leave much to be desired. However, there will be fresh flowers at Thanksgiving – always flowers and books!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          That does sound beautiful. Rather like this
          ‘The room was suddenly rich and the great bay-window was
          Spawning snow and pink roses against it
          Soundlessly collateral and incompatible: ‘
          from Snow by Louis MacNiece

          I try to avoid offering advice but here is something that may help, if you and Tom have not already tried this: I was talking to another blogger about my tendency to fumble and lose balance when taking photographs. He suggested that I try sitting, especially sitting on the ground for close up photography. I am not so good at getting down that low but it really does help to sit, and seems to steady my hands as well. ( Mine shake a bit from my asthma medication) And, as for your photos, they seem perfectly fine to me. 🙂

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          Snow! Well, that makes the quote even more apt than I thought it would be. I have thought about getting a tripod but for the time being I just support myself, plus camera, wherever I can.

  3. Letizia

    I love that you hold Sophia’s book in your hand, for the tactile pleasure of it. I don’t think to do that. I always smell my books and love the touch of many of my books’ pages but I can’t think of a cover that pleases me touch-wise (I will now go and touch all my book covers like a mad woman!).

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      What a wonderful image you have just given me! Let me know which book covers appeal to your touch; if any! I love the feel of Persephone books, too. 😀

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        I noticed that my older books, the ones I inherited from my grandparents, are particularly nice to the touch. The worn covers, touched by many readers, has a softness acquired by generations of love.

        Reply
  4. LucyJartz

    I am not entering the giveaway because I have added these to my Kindle wish list at Amazon. Thank you for your reviews. Everytime we move I have to get rid of stuff, and books are soooooo heavy, so we use digital books more and more now. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh,you remind me of all the moves we used to do. Such a headache trying to decide what to keep and what to discard, and, in the end, the books seemed to win, and always took up about 80% of our luggage!

      Reply
      1. LucyJartz

        I have boxes and boxes of them, and in the end, the photo albums, the children’s baby books, the family stories, the award winning books I read to the children – they win. I want them to be around for my children’s children, even when technology changes.

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You will be entered. Books are made for adventure, and I am sure these ones won’t mind another journey to somewhere. At least, they are light in comparison to Victor Hugo’s 900 plus handwritten manuscript which recently travelled from France to Australia and back again. http://www.victorhugoexhibition.com.au/ I wouldn’t want to pay that transportation fee!!!

      Reply
      1. Brenda Davis Harsham

        What fun to take a trip like that. Sigh, I love to see new places. I would love to see NZ one day. I would love to set a book there, and live there for a year doing research. What fun that would be. 🙂

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I am sure they would. 🙂 Do you follow the lovely Ellen Grace? http://ellenolinger.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/rose/#comment-9099 She is currently working on chapbooks of her work. Perhaps you would have the time and funds to do something similar, and then you could organise your own book drop. 🙂 Another brilliant initiative which is like a poetry drop is the Poems in the Waiting Room project. I won’t give you another reference because more than one link will usually make my comments go into a spam folder. 😦

        2. Brenda Davis Harsham

          I don’t retrieve spam anymore either, because I am inundated all the time! Hundreds of the pesky fakers email me per day. Who can keep up with that?? And yes, I think I follow Ellen Grace. I am trying to publish novels and picture books rather than poetry. Much as I love poetry, I will never be able to put the kids through college selling it. I give it away for love of words. And I write fiction on the side. 😉

  5. Sheryl

    The drawing sounds like lots of fun–but don’t include me in it. I’m far behind on my reading and need to get caught up a little before I add any more books to the pile.

    Reply
  6. Mary Mageau

    What a beautiful post on the joys of sharing you have offered to us. Thanksgiving is drawing near and it’s always wonderful to share our extras with others. Have a happy holiday and much happy reading!

    Reply
      1. Mary Mageau

        No, Gallivanta, we don’t formally celebrate thanksgiving, but I do roast a turkey on July 4th, America’s Independence Day, because it’s in winter and roast turkey on a chilly evening works a treat. Crazy, isn’t it.

        Reply
  7. restlessjo

    I keep meaning to read some of Dianne Gray. Not my usual kind of thing but they do sound good. I don’t want to be included in your give away, thanks Ann. Postage would be a nightmare. 🙂 I was just ‘stopping by’.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That’s fine Jo. I have factored in the postage but I appreciate that not everyone will want to participate. Yes, I am laughing at myself because I now seem to be fixated on murder/mysteries. Last year, I wouldn’t have given them a second glance.

      Reply
  8. Cynthia Reyes

    Well, the postage alone would probably be three times the cost of the book, so I will have to seek out these books from my local library.
    Meanwhile, how kind of you to do this for your readers – and for the authors, too.
    Coincidentally – perhaps at the same time while you were writing this, I was taking a page from your “book” of generosity, and shining a light on some other creative bloggers and their products. so, you’ve influenced me positively – again!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I have had a quick look at your ‘shining light’ post. As you may have gathered, I am away from my usual computer, so am not keeping up with blogging posts as much as usual. I am looking forward to a proper read of your post.

      Reply
  9. Just Add Attitude

    ‘Tis indeed the season for giving thanks, something I don’t do often enough. This is a generous post with its two giveaways. But I am going to ask you to not put me in the draw as I in the throes of a major declutter as I have a builder coming in two weeks to do some work to my tiny house. *waving* Team Gloria style from Dublin. 😉

    Reply
  10. ordinarygood

    Will you give Jack the job of sniffing out the fortunate recipients? What a generous offer you are making. Thanksgiving is one American celebration that has not caught on here…..yet. Our seasons are not in synch with harvest time but we could embrace the wonderful sentiment.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I was thinking of giving that role to Jack. You are absolutely right there! I love Thanksgiving. Our Harvest Festival used to be quite a special occasion but that seems to have lost a lot of its importance in recent years, now that we believe everything to be available year round at the supermarket.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          He will. He is at the kennels at the moment so when he comes home he will be looking for lots of treats and cuddles. Mind you he gets plenty of love and attention at the kennels. 🙂

        2. ordinarygood

          Great. Is Jack on holiday then? My late brother ran a Kennels 12 or so years ago and as a dog lover was in 7th heaven. His “boarders” were very well treated and so they should be!

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, Jack is on holiday as we are. The kennel owners are much like your brother. They love dogs and all animals. Jack gets to see chickens and cows and sheep and all sorts of wonders. 7th heaven for him, too.

        4. Gallivanta Post author

          Nicely refreshed, although I did find far too many silly drivers on the road for my liking. The nor’west wind must have been agitating their common sense.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh yes, Dianne. I don’t want to give away any of the plot but that Sissy and her kids!!!!! I am only a couple of chapters in so I am talking about the family breakfast scene. 😀

      Reply
  11. Tiny

    What a kind and nice thing to do, Gallivanta! Your posts are always delightful so I want to thanks YOU for brightening my days! Have safe travels, my friend.

    Reply
  12. lensandpensbysally

    Just finished a sweet (early novel: The Little Warrior, also known as Reckless Jill) novel by the prolific P.D. Wodehouse, who combines English and American cultures in easy to navigate prose. The love of the handheld book is one of life’s greatest pleasures. It’s a joy to know another who is dedicated to this pursuit.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh I do love a handheld book. However ebooks do solve a big problem for me and that is the cost of postage if I order from Amazon etc. The mail delivery costs are exorbitant for those of us who live so far ‘downunder’.

      Reply
  13. KerryCan

    I love the painting you end with–I think I recognize a great-great-grandparent in there! Count me in for the give-away! I read tons of murder mysteries (but nothing gruesome!) so, if you want reading suggestions, let me know!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am remember you suggested Louise Penny http://www.louisepenny.com/ to me. She’s still on my list! Isn’t the painting lovely? Apparently it’s an unusual Thanksgiving portrayal because it positions mother and child to the forefront. So glad you recognize your whanau (family group). 😉

      Reply
  14. YellowCable

    You are gracious.. I also like the idea of pretending to be 17 again 🙂 The would be a great fun once again. Have a fun fun time at 17 again Gallivanta! I will try to join..

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I really want to read Mayfair Brooks. I am very curious about the Mobile Episodic Drama format. However I can’t do so just yet because I am gallivanting, and I don’t have access to all my usual technology.

      Reply
  15. ladysighs

    I don’t know how your give away works, but I do enjoy reading.
    I noticed that one of the books you mentioned in this post was “Mastering the Art of French Eating”. Sounds like an interesting read. 🙂

    You also mentioned a book called “It’s in His Kiss”. I assume that is about mastering the art of French Kissing? If not, I will be thankful if you don’t sign me up.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ladysighs! I hope I know how my giveaway works. I haven’t done one before so I am on a learning curve. Unfortunately, ‘It’s in His Kiss’ is not about the art of French kissing 😉 but perhaps you can enjoy the song instead.

      Reply
      1. ladysighs

        I liked the song. 🙂 An old ’60s song. But you know I had never heard it or forgotten it. 😦 And me a lover of the good ol’ tunes. lol
        But I have an excuse. There were so many many wonderful songs way back when, it was easy to miss a few. 🙂

        Reply
  16. Heather in Arles

    Oh there is so much to be thankful for here! For your very kind mention (merci) of Ann’s wonderful book (merci) and promoting other blogger’s giveaways (merci) not to mention giving credit where it is due to two excellent books (merci) by doing your own giveaway (bravo!).
    No need to enter me as I have and enjoy both.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend away. 🙂

    Reply
  17. utesmile

    How lovely of you to follow the giveaway, making bloggers happy and helping yourself. I remember both posts when you talked about the books and they both sound fantastic. So I ‘m in 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      This is the first time that I have had access to books where I actually have a connection to the authors. We may not have met in real life but knowing something about the authors gives a whole new perspective to my reading of a book. That excites me as much as anything.

      Reply
  18. celialadygarden

    My dear lady, what a beautiful picture of the harvesting at Plymouth. My grandmother used to have to similar pictures of harvesting and one of ladies gleaning but here in fields of England.
    I am about an hours drive from Plymouth in Devon, England it is wonderful to see those Pilgrims enjoying a harvest after such an heroic journey across the world.
    Your English friend
    Celia

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I came upon the picture by chance but I really love it. I have been searching for the picture that you remember at your grandmother’s. There are some wonderful harvest paintings. This one is a harvest scene in Norfolk….http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/yourpaintings/paintings/hallo-largesse-a-harvest-scene-in-norfolk-220763 Is it anything like the one you remember? I believe I am correct in saying that my ancestors left the UK to come to NZ from Plymouth. Where would be without Plymouth?

      Reply
  19. Boomdeeadda

    Hi Amanda! Isn’t gifting others a treat? It’s hard to find a better high, Many thanks for linking my Blog to your gifting post too, awfully kind of you. I popped over to Heathers and got chills reading her ghost story from 10-31. It’s the true ones that are really spooky. Your book sounds quite mysterious and really, who can resist palm trees at sunset. Crossing fingers, count me in 😀 Cheers.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That was a super chilly experience that Heather recounted. Gave me shivers up my spine. Most other times her posts are beautiful and soothing. 🙂 Your name will be in the draw. Sorry I don’t have anything aqua for a giveaway. 😦 Perhaps if you are a winner you could create a beautiful aqua tinted book protector cover for it.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I am away from home at the moment visiting a place which has beautiful sea views. The sea for the last few days has been the most beautiful aqua/turquoise. I am sending you scenes via ESP. Hope you can see them!!!

        2. Boomdeeadda

          If I close my eyes to the softly falling snow that’s been happening all day and click my heals twice, I might have an inkling of the lovelieness of you view. Thanks for the beachy vibes, much appreciated! HA.

  20. Steve Schwartzman

    Your mention of a “beguiling Hollywood mystery” reminds me that when I was in Los Angeles in 1981 I was reading a newly published mystery novel, Canary, by Tony Cohan, much of which takes place in Los Angeles. It was strange to be reading passages and come across references to streets that I had just driven on.

    Reply
  21. Clanmother

    I love how you write about books. There is such joy and enthusiasm – how could anyone not want to read every line of your posts. We have an amazing blogging community. 🙂

    Reply
  22. quarteracrelifestyle

    🙂 🙂

    Do you know I am the lucky recipient of two Giveaways this week, how lucky am I!? I feel greedy even commenting here now lol, but Sophie’s book sounds right down my alley Gallivanta.

    Have a nice weekend 🙂

    Reply
  23. Juliet

    What delightful giveaways. And coincidentally, I am planning one too, for everyone who places a book order from next week until the end of November. Watch the Seasons Newsletter for details! I’m having such fun putting this one together. Thank you for tapping into the spirit of giving Gallivanta.

    Reply
  24. teamgloria

    sophia let’s us answer her post these days (one needs to have a role *sighs*) and we are Tickled Pink that you gave a tip of the hat (maroon beret – crest to the front please, girls) to our second cousin Mayfair Brooks! So Terribly Kind!

    And the book cover does appreciate the soft embrace. We do the same over here.

    Thank you dear one.

    *wavingfromlosangeles*

    _teamgloria.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      TG, I am so pleased you have been given a role. As you know I am travelling so I will greet your second cousin properly when I am back on home territory. Hope she is doing well. Waving from the road (not whilst driving, I must add.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

