Thursday Threnody

Come sit awhile with me

Come sit awhile with me

Come sit awhile with me

on the porch of ages past,

and drift back in hazy time, to be with the ones of old,

How the old ones lived

How the old onesΒ  may have lived

to hold them now, in how they lived and died.

Final resting place for my great grandparents

Final resting place for my great grandparents; hope it’s a good sermon. πŸ™‚

“Comforts were few in eighteen-fifty-five,
They got up at dawn and they had to strive
With element and enemy to keep alive
And were lucky if they lived to woo and wive
In the early, early days. ….
History tells us they were hard and bold;
They carved out forests and they dug for gold,
But many died young and some died old…

from The Early Days by Basil Dowling

With healing and love,

Gallivanta

Β© silkannthreades

55 thoughts on “Thursday Threnody

  1. Clanmother

    Isn’t it interesting that our “looking back” always prompts us to look forward. As we age, we have so many memories to revisit. There is a certain feeling of connection to those who have gone before. Strolling through the graves seems only natural…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have no idea why but my response to your comment wants to be, ” it is the knots at the back of the carpet that hold firm the beauty of the pattern we face.” ( And I really have no idea if that is how carpets are hand made but it seems to be so.) Thank you for being with me on my week of posts.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Cynthia. I didn’t know my great grandparents but I like to sit with them every now and then. I feel they understand the troubles of the world, the soul.

      Reply
  2. restlessjo

    What delightful shapes those houses are, Ann. πŸ™‚ I’ve traveled back through the week with you and enjoyed a little sit here and a few cherry blossoms there. What a lovely week it’s been. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Have fun with your new word. πŸ™‚ The etymology is fun to read, too. Porches are good for resting but that porch is sadly out of bounds for ordinary mortals like me.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes! We may change our flag sometime anyway but this would have been one of the issues arising from Scottish independence. Interestingly on this date,19 September 1865, the South Island Separation Bill was defeated in the Parliament of New Zealand by 31 votes to 17. https://cclblog.wordpress.com/tag/christchurch/ Every now and then someone raises the South Island independence issue. It’s an interesting one especially as we supply most of the electricity to the North. πŸ™‚ We hold considerable power in many ways!

  3. thecontentedcrafter

    Do we all have a yearning for yesteryear? I know I long for a simpler time and then think of the work load and the cold houses and no www and decide now is pretty good πŸ™‚ Beautiful photos dear Gallivanta. Today a small packet will go in the mail for you, look for it Monday or Tuesday.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Now is good! I wouldn’t want to be like my great grandmother who had to handpump water, and was without electricity. However, I do miss the idea of family, and lots of it. I am looking forward to that small packet. Thank you. The postie will be pleased to have something to deliver.

      Reply
      1. thecontentedcrafter

        Yes, I agree! I have always yearned for a large extended family – romantically a la The Waltons – but alas, mine has been a small and single generation affair! Having said that I must also admit to believing fervently that our job today is to weave new family structures, one not based on blood but on shared humanity. I have found blogging has delivered several such persons to me πŸ™‚

        I am glad to give the postie something to do, it went into the early afternoon mail today πŸ™‚

        Reply
  4. Tiny

    So now we’re allowed to sit πŸ˜‰ It’s welcome, of course, after yesterday’s walk. And the porch looks inviting. In about month, I too will be visiting my folks where they are resting…far up north.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, we needed to sit on Thursday because Friday requires some more action. πŸ˜‰ So pleased you will be heading north soon to your folks and family heritage.

      Reply
  5. shoreacres

    If you hadn’t mentioned the sermon, I might not have noticed how the gravestones are arranged, facing the church. Now I’m curious. I don’t remember seeing such an arrangement here, although it may well exist. I’ve always liked church graveyards, but this is a new twist, and quite nice.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have also been trying to remember other church graveyards and where they are in relation to the church. This one is unusual I think. I rather like the idea that when you walk out of the church doors, you are greeted by the gravestones. In the early days, the people attending that church would have been closely related to those buried, so there would have been a nice sense of communion. “Hello, Mum, Dad etc, good to see you today. Good service, wasn’t it?” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Virginia Duran

    I see you’re meeting your objective πŸ™‚ although it looks rainy, it looks extremely peaceful to me. Maybe that’s the personal touch you put to your pictures and posts? Just read up there your name is Ann, am I right?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am getting there, Virginia, with my objective. Generally most of the places I visit are really peaceful even without my photos and words.;) And I answer to many names (it’s a long story!) and I am happy to answer to Ann. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

