Wednesday Wonders

No sitting today;

just a gentle stroll along the Avenue,

Along the Avenue

Along the Avenue

to wonder at the path that brings us here,

Here in Hagley Park, ( the little one ).

Here in Hagley Park, ( the little one ).

year upon year,

to greet the cherry and the daffodil.

Greetings, Little Daffodil :) It's good to see you again.

Greetings, Little Daffodil πŸ™‚ It’s good to see you again.

‘the seeds of every season are sown in the other’Β 

With healing and love,

Gallivanta

Β© silkannthreades

58 thoughts on “Wednesday Wonders

  1. inmycorner

    “To greet the cherry and the daffodil with love and healing” is exactly what I need to do this spring. What a beautiful and timely message I found on your site. Thank-you. Think I’ll buy some daffodil bulbs today – and plant them for the spring.

    Reply
      1. inmycorner

        ha – hadn’t thought about indoors – that would be fun – but certainly outdoors. It always amazes me how they can survive beneath 10 feet of snow and emerge as such delicate blooms. I should take a few photos of the planting you inspired! grin.

        Reply
  2. Russel Ray Photos

    We had daffodils in northern Utah when I lived there from the age of 6 to 10. Not too many at my wise old grandmother’s house in South Texas, and not too many here in San Diego. Just too hot for them. They are such a cheerful flower.

    Reply
  3. Mrs. P

    It must be spring…the daffodils are out…a sure sign. Many years ago, on another coast, I planted hundreds of naturalizing daffodils to delineate the boundary of my house from my neighbors…such a pretty sight with so many varieties.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That must have been glorious Mrs P. What a lovely gentle boundary. People in my neighbourhood seem to be firm believers in fences between properties. That’s fine until the fences start to look tatty and broken down. Not sure why we have to shut ourselves off from each other!

      Reply
  4. KerryCan

    You’re doing better at posting every day than I am at keeping up with your daily posts! The daffodils are so happy and special–it’s officially springtime!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am surprising myself! But I am not going to continue daily posts after this week. I have lots to write about, but not sufficient time to write every day. Actually that is not quite right. I have time to write but it would be at the expense of reading and commenting on other people’s blogs, and I want to keep a balance.

      Reply
      1. KerryCan

        I did daily posts almost the whole first month I blogged and tried to read and comment and respond to comments–it was a full-time job! Finding the right balance hasn’t been easy!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I don’t believe I have found it yet but what I do know, after this week, is that bloggers who can blog and comment and keep up with all the blogs deserve medals.

  5. Clanmother

    It is good to know that there is spring somewhere in the world.

    β€œThere comes . . . a longing never to travel again except on foot.” Wendell Berry, Remembering

    Reply
  6. Lavinia Ross

    You captured a beautiful spring day there, Gallivanta. We are heading into autumn here, so I enjoy these spring posts. This is one Oregon summer I am happy to see coming to a close, strange as it may sound. Too much heat, dryness and far too many fires. The air is thick with smoke today from fires in Estacada up near Mount Hood, about 84 miles from here..

    Reply
  7. thecontentedcrafter

    Christchurch is a beautiful place to be in spring time! We have had two wintery days but this morning is warm and clear and sunny again …….. spring cannot decide whether to stay or go πŸ™‚

    I’m late this morning checking in, but glad to be reading your daily post again xoxo

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think some of that winter has found its way up here today. Rather grey and definitely chilly. Hope Orlando and Siddy will keep you warm with cuddles. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I didn’t notice a scent, yet I did notice a scent from the other flowering cherries at Avonhead Park, which I feel sure are the same type of flowering cherry as the ones on the Avenue.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Pleased you could join me. Even though I am providing lots of opportunity to sit and relax, I am making everyone move around a bit this week; hope it’s not getting exhausting. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And the best thing about this spring experience for you and me is that it happens in gardens we don’t have to weed and care for. πŸ˜‰ All we have to do is enjoy!

      Reply
  8. Robbie

    You have spring:-) We will start fall on Monday….going to bike the Mississippi River today and enjoy the last days of summer….I will be back often to see your beautiful spring pictures this winter, for the four letter word is around the corner-lol…awww… I love a little snow + a break from working in the garden, but not freezing cold weather for weeks(like last year)……your spring photo tour, is what we all love after time indoors …all that new green!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Enjoy your bike ride. I grizzle a little about our weather but, really, we are lucky not to have the extremes of cold that you do. Strange thing, though…..we may have some spring snow this weekend. It happens but not very often! You are welcome to visit anytime. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. shoreacres

    I so enjoy being able to see spring emerging for you as autumn begins creeping our direction. It makes the hemispheres real in the same way that having blog friends in Europe and Asia makes time zones real, and part of normal daily calculations.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, it keeps us alert! Although I have to say I am a bit lazy with the time zone calculations; which means the days I put on my blog posts this week may not be very accurate for some. Never mind, nature doesn’t know what day it is.

      Reply
  10. YellowCable

    That will be a nice walking path.. I am wondering this is early in the season. The dafodills are not filling up the field yet. It seems like the place invites to comback when dafodills are in full swing πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

