“It’s In His Kiss” in my kitchen

Life has been a bit complicated lately. Almost, but not quite, as complicated as life for my*namesake protagonist, Anne, of It’s In His Kiss by Vickie Lester.

It's In His Kiss  (copyrighted image)

It’s In His Kiss
(copyrighted image)

So, like Anne, unable to find  answers to many of my worries, puzzles and questions, I resorted to kitchen therapy….yesterday.

“Anne found her comfort zone in her pajamas, sitting in her **father’s
kitchen watching him make dinner, which on this evening was chopped
grapefruit and oranges and mango, pancakes, and sausage.”

Now, although my Dad is a great cook, being far distant from me, across the Tasman Sea, I, comfortable in my pajamas, had to make my own comfort food… banana, bran and chocolate chip muffins. Not that my Dad would have offered  muffins as comfort food. He would have made a substantial roast dinner. But, hey, we do what we can. And, then, I made a feijoa and  apple crumble.

The feijoas,

remember these,

Feijoas (Pineapple Guavas) 2014 Harvest

Feijoas (Pineapple Guavas) 2014 Harvest

gave a nice sharpness to the sweet apple, and the rich buttery crumble topping.

Comfort Crumble in the Kitchen

Comfort Crumble in the Kitchen

Baking done, I am back to reading  “It’s In His Kiss”; where Anne has been up the creek canyon ( i.e. Beachwood Canyon…it’s real, even if the plot is imaginary ) without a paddle, but with a very fine Ferrari instead. And she has just been given the keys to a very fine house (people in Hollywood are so randomly generous… or are they? The Ferrari already seems like a double edged sword. ) Will the keys open any useful doors?  Will they bring answers or more questions? As Ms Lester says in her book blurb……“Anne Brown must find where the truth lies. Truth. Lies.”  Where does the truth lie? Six feet under? Is there truth in the lies? Does the truth lie? Is there any truth at all?

If you can’t wait to find out,  It’s In His Kiss  is available now at an Amazon near you. Oh, and have a muffin….

Muffins for Sustenance

Muffins for Sustenance

.. for sustenance. It’s In His Kiss is a high energy murder mystery ( with food scenes that will make you hungry…for more ). 😉

* Anne is only my “namesake’ protagonist because I imagine it so. She’s a wonderful character but was not written for me, or about me, or because of me. Just wanted to make that CLEAR.

** Anne’s practical, “business-as-usual”, loving father is Bob; Manny’s  the uncle. So far, Manny seems a trust-worthy guy, except when he’s behind the wheel.

© silkannthreades

95 thoughts on ““It’s In His Kiss” in my kitchen

  1. Miss Lou

    It’s 9:25am Sunday morning – and all I want to do right now is eat some Banana Muffins – Oh my goodness, they look delicious!

    Recipe? *drools* I have plans to make a gluten free, dairy free and lactose free Almond Meal slice for my daughter later today, perhaps I could do both at the time same time…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Miss Lou! Just when I was beginning to wonder if you were lost under the team laundry, you appear again. Hooray. I have plans to make high protein bread today. I used to do lots of gluten free baking but I don’t HAVE to now, so I indulge my own whims. Sometimes the whim is gf baking.

      Reply
      1. Miss Lou

        Yes – Lots of Team Laundry – Mayhap my next post? lol Something simple that wont leave me reading and re reading and editing for hours….

        I’ve been recently suspecting that I have a gluten intolerance – feeling really bloated after eating anything with gluten/wheat in it. For the last 5 days I have been ensuring my diet has been gluten free and I’ve felt so much better for it…

        ML
        x

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          When we were gf because of my son’s dietary requirements I enjoyed our diet. However I am okay with gluten. I enjoy variety. 🙂 Bloating is HORRIBLE so hopefully you can find a way to KiLL it.

  2. Pingback: “It’s In His Kiss” in my kitchen – and comfort zones with silkannthreades, Vickie Lester, and Gary Cooper | BEGUILING HOLLYWOOD

  3. greenlightlady

    I love the book title. It definitely serves as a hook in of itself. It sounds like an intriguing read, and I’m so glad to hear you like mysteries (although one the protagonists in my WIP is named Anna & not Anne). I sure hope I won’t have to change her name since I named her after a lovely lady I knew years ago. Enjoy your book!

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s a great hook, isn’t it? As a youngster I read a lot of mystery/crime novels but in the past decade or so, not so much. It’s good to be reading the mystery genre again and to be reassured that I can still enjoy it. Sending you lots of good wishes for the WIP.

      Reply
  4. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    Oh! I saw some feijoas at the grocery store the other day – I had never seen them before and didn’t buy any because I didn’t know what they were. I’m going to check tomorrow when I do my shopping – hopefully there will be some left. Now I know what to do with them, thank you! (I had missed your post from last year – just read it now). 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sheryl

    My father and the father in the novel cooked similarly–though my father would have substituted berries or melons for the mangoes.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Did he cook for you on a regular basis or just for special treats? My father couldn’t give us mangoes because my mother was/is very allergic to them. Once in a very long while we were allowed to eat a mango in the garden and then we had to wash off in the outside tub before we were allowed inside the house or anywhere near our mother. 🙂

      Reply
  6. utesmile

    Of course I remember this wonderful fruit from last year. And you rbaking looks so yummy again. That’ll do me easily for comfort food! ♥

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I wish I could help out. Is there a little cafe or restaurant that you go to that serves a great crumble? Or do you prefer a home made crumble?

      Reply
  7. Steve Schwartzman

    When I first saw your reference to feijoa I thought of feijão, which is the Portuguese word for ‘bean’. When I looked up feijoa I saw that the fruit is native to (among other places) southern Brazil, so that part of the world has feijoas and feijões (the plural of feijão), along with feijoada, which is a black bean stew. Bon appétit.

    Reply
  8. LucyJartz

    I like the way you wove the comfort foods and music into the review. It was like “dinner and a movie” only muffins & books instead. 🙂 (btw- thanks for checking out my new link to the galleries/Naturals).

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That’s very true, Sally. It’s also nice to be able to enjoy reading again. For a long while after the earthquakes I couldn’t read anything at all. All the stories seemed so irrelevant. And I couldn’t concentrate on any books for more than a paragraph at a time. The Broken Book by Fiona Farrell, a local writer, was one of the first books I was able to read after the earthquakes http://fionafarrell.com/nonfic.html#gpm1_2 It restored some calm to my life.

      Reply
      1. lensandpensbysally

        I’m touched. Your experience has been life changing. Your town has been severely wounded in many ways. I feel especially grateful to have found you. Your posts demonstrate your sensibilities, and those qualities plays with you moving back and forth with a vengeance.

        Reply
  9. Tracy Rhynas

    Up the canyon in a fine Ferrari does sound preferable to being up the creek without a paddle!! (Does your comfort food generally lean towards the sweeter side of life?)

    Reply
  10. YellowCable

    The title reminds me of an old song and saw you also put up the Youtube of the song on the side bar. That is nice. Could not help listening to it 🙂

    The kitchen scene with banana topping on muffin looks very good 🙂 I am sure that is a real comforting therapy and hope that helps you sort out (or forget) your puzzles 🙂

    I normally do pick up book about murder story but I might consider this when it comes out in eBook version.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Bananas are supposed to be very calming! Glad you saw the song on the side bar. It’s a good one. Each chapter in the book has a song title. The chapter I have just finished is called One for my baby (and one more for the road). This is the Frank Sinatra version but there is also a version by Billie Holiday https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7llu2aQRSQ Which version do you prefer? I think I prefer Billie Holiday.

      Reply
  11. KerryCan

    Muffins and apple crumble?! Now we’re talking! I went through a stage of reading lots of murder mysteries that had a food theme (and often recipes)–maybe I need to go back to that!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Tell me more! I have not really noticed food before in this genre. I did in this case because I was struck with the relationship between Anne and her father. And, possibly, I also connected with the wonderful food my father always prepared for us and the many hours spent in the kitchen with him.

      Reply
      1. KerryCan

        There’s a list of foodie mysteries here: http://www.madl.org/index.php/2012-06-27-19-40-47/67-foodie-mysteries.html

        The ones I read were mostly the ones by Davidson and by Pickard and Rich. I read odds and ends of others. The Davidson series started pretty well then eventually went downhill. But the recipes were good! I liked the Eugenia Potter series by Rich (who died and Pickard took over).

        I think it’s neat that your kitchen memories involve your father–not that usual!

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Gosh, there’s an idea. Food to read by 😉 Mind you, so far I haven’t come across muffins or crumble in the book, so the actual recipes I chose are just what I felt like making and unrelated to specific book content. It’s In His Kiss does have a mention of a great chocolate cake. Should I ask the author for the recipe? 😀

      Reply
  12. restlessjo

    I wonder if I might just sample a small portion of that crumble? It sounds delicious 🙂 Then I might just have space for a muffin too. No, no- please don’t encourage me to be greedy. I’d best just have the banana. All those Polish cakes have made me a little rounder.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You may, you may. Please help me out. And I would love to try some of those Polish cakes. Which ones would you recommend? All of them, probably! 😀

      Reply
  13. mmmarzipan

    I love this post! And the more posts of yours I read, in fact, the more I think it would be wonderful to have afternoon tea with you someday IRL (maybe those muffins… or that crumble 😉 )

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Perhaps we will, one day! And the muffins are reasonably healthy, too, so we could all indulge; lots of fibre; not too much sugar and apparently apple sauce can be used to replace the butter. Are you ready for the Jamie Oliver Food Revolution day on Friday? http://missmarzipan.com/2014/05/09/food-revolution-day-2014-get-onboard-with-jamie-oliver-a-global-community-of-foodies-of-all-ages-on-may-16/
      I am still expecting to be without power.

      Reply
      1. mmmarzipan

        Lovely! You know I cheated a bit and did half of what I wanted to re: FRD yesterday… cooked up a storm all day… even had a friend joining me (and of course, L pitched in for a stir/taste of cookie batter!). Hoping your power situation will be resolved quickly! 🙂 x

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Just what we need on these colder days, don’t you think? Expecting our first frost tonight, so I will have an extra helping of warm crumble.

      Reply
  14. Mélanie

    I haven’t read it, but is it about THE French kiss?!… 🙂 Cooking may be a pleasant anti-stress therapy… Your crumble looks exactly like the one I made last Sunday… bon appétit! 🙂 ❤
    * * *
    off-topic with your permission, of course: film director Jane Campion, your fellow country lady has been in France for 2 days as she's the honor Prez of the Cannes film festival… Have you watched her "masterpiece" movie?… 🙂 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Piano

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      French kiss…well……quite possibly so. I can tell you there is more than one kiss in the book. 😉
      What fruit did you put in your crumble?
      Ah, yes, Jane Campion. She’s great. I have seen The Piano but, really, the film of hers that I love the most is Bright Star. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bright_Star_%28film%29
      She has also recently finished a series called Top of the Lake. I didn’t like that much..too dark for me. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_of_the_Lake

      Reply
      1. Mélanie

        apples and pears… 🙂 yep, you’re right about Miss Campion: some of her movies are really “dark”…
        * * *
        have a pleasant weekend and friendly hugs… ❤

        Reply
  15. Su Leslie

    Great post! I made pear, feijoa and ginger crumble a few nights ago. Yum! Think feijoa season is one of the highlights of the culinary year!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Pear, feijoa and ginger……oh yum. I have had a bumper, bumper crop of feijoas this year. It’s been amazing. I still have a few to collect when they fall.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Sherie….trust me to find the food in a book! I don’t read a lot of the crime/mystery genre anymore, but It’s In His Kiss is reminding me how entertaining it can be.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

