More flowers, more guests, a birthday, and beguiling mysteries

Continuing the story of my blogcation….( Will it ever end? Yes, but not quite yet.)

 

More flowers

New Zealand Cranberries in pink glass

New Zealand Cranberries in pink glass

for more guests

More guests :)

More guests ๐Ÿ™‚

and for a birthday….mine!

Birthday Flowers

Birthday Flowers

Update:

The sun was shining when I took these photos almost a month ago but, today, our city’s land and rivers are trying (and failing) to cope with 70mm of rain (in the past 24 hours), with more to come. My garden is a mud puddle which makes me feel that it’s an appropriate time to confess that I am a little bit of aย  stick-in-the-mud type, when it comes to my literary tastes.ย  I like myย  “Diary of a Provincial Lady” or myย Rumer Godden, and many things quiet and genteel, and gently humorous. Adventure is not my middle name (it’s Amanda, actually ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) when it comes to books. But, every now and then, someone, like my good, well-read, sister-in-law, gives me a nudge and sends meย  books likeย  Two for Sorrow ,ย  The Sunbird orย  The Distant Hours orย The Luminaries;ย  and I have a blast shaking loose from my usual reading habits.

The other day, I was given a similar, small nudge from blogger Vickie Lester atย Beguiling Hollywood.ย ย  She entrusted me with her precious manuscript for her soon to be self-published novel,ย  IT’S IN HIS KISS,ย  with the idea that I might blog about it. I wasn’t sure, at first, but, once I started reading, I was hooked. Once again, with just a teeny step out of my comfort zone,ย  I am having a blast. How could I not? The main character is witty,ย  believable, and has my last name, Anne.

So, now, you ask, what is my first name?ย  I’ll leave you to guess. And I may not tell you even if you guess right because, like Ms Lester, I enjoy keeping a few secrets and a little mystery about myself.ย  Life is more beguiling that way ๐Ÿ™‚ .

ยฉ silkannthreades

107 thoughts on “More flowers, more guests, a birthday, and beguiling mysteries

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    those flowers are gorgeous,and i love this post and all of the comments. you are very loved, amiga, and it’s wonderful to see the comments from your round-the-world friends!

    i’m in a quiet hostal in quito and hope to catch up tonight! it feels great to be online in an unhurried state of mind!

    z

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Glad to hear from you and to know you are in an unhurried state of mind. I guess that means you will have a lovely post up soon.

      Reply
        1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

          i’m about six hours away from it – i’m guessing about two feet wide by three feet tall.. not ‘that big’ but big enough to sort of jump off the wall…

          the frame will be hand painted with stripes, and that will pull it together and strengthen the entire image.. or it should!

  2. Sharifah

    Happy (belated) Birthday greetings! I’m glad to be introduced to E.M. Delafield’s works via your post, and looking forward to reading them.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Now, you have me wondering. Is there anyone in the world who truly does go by the name Gallivanta? There are some extraordinarily interesting names about. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  3. shoreacres

    i’ve always thought we should be allowed birthday seasons, like the Christmas season, or at least some approved longer period of celebration. How about “The Octave of Gallivanta”? Eight days is about right for seconds on cake and lots of additional greetings from laggards!
    Happy birthday to you. Stretch it out as long as you wish.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      A birthday season sounds like an excellent idea. And I truly like the “The Octave of Gallivanta”; there must be a poem in there somewhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Tiny

    The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate. โ€“ Oprah Winfrey
    Happy belated birthday my friend Amanda! Warmest wishes from Helen – also my middle name ๐Ÿ™‚ We certainly need to keep some secrets…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Tiny, with the middle name of Helen (and Oprah ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Yes, we like to hold on to some privacy which I guess is one reason why writing an autobiography becomes challenging. How are you getting on with the writing of your African tales?

      Reply
  5. Mrs. P

    Those cranberries look beautiful…and delicious!

    I am so glad the rain did not spoil your day…and that the company visits have been grand. You are sounding quite enthusiastic these days…especially about reading new and different books. Having a blast is always a good thing. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  6. Joanne Jamis Cain

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday! I tried to find the email you and I exchanged when you send me the beautiful bookmark….I thought your real name was on it. But alas, I cannot find it!
    Maybe write a book review on that new book you have!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It was a lovely birthday, Joanne, but almost seems a life time away, already. As for a name…let’s just say your mother and I have a lot in common. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  7. Juliet

    Happy Birthday, she of the mystery name. The cranberries look so luscious. Enjoy your reading. I can see you are all ready for the rainy days.

    Reply
  8. utesmile

    Happy birthday and what a wonderful bunch of flowers. I do believe you had a great day with your visitors and all these flowers! The way to celebrate!

    Reply
  9. KerryCan

    I had been pondering your name for some time and wondering. Some seem to call you Anne but some call you Mandy. Hmmmm . . . and it’s neither of those. I guess it’ll stay a mystery until (if!) you decide to tell. Or maybe you could leave hints–I love trying to solve the mystery novels I read (but I’m very bad at it!)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am hopeless at working out mystery novels too! And, when considering names (my names), I am always astounded at how many I answer to. Makes me wonder if I have any idea who I am. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am a mystery unto myself!

      Reply
  10. Vickie Lester

    How about a birth-year! I wish you everyday flowers and delights of guests and family all the time. And am especially tickled that you’re enjoying the book. (Coincidentally, I’m reading Jon and Rumer Goden’s Two Under the Indian Sun!)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Lavinia. The hummingbirds must look lovely amongst the nasturtiums. Ours only seem to attract bees and the occasional sparrow.

      Reply
  11. Alexander Lautsyus

    Friend of mine told to me long time ago it is not to late to say Happy Birthday during the month after actual Date of Birthday. Happy Birthday, Gallivanta! For myself it is your real name. I even do not want to guess what is the real one. Why? All of us here are virtual and not real. Most of us never meet each other and never know who we are in real life. We are just sharing our thoughts, imaginations and fantasy. This is how we know each other.
    All the Best.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Alexander. I agree, it’s never too late for a birthday greeting. I am very happy being Gallivanta. It is as much a part of my character as any of my other names.

      Reply
  12. violetski

    Happy Belated Birthday dear Gallivanta!
    Beautiful flowersโค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ
    Sorry to hear about rain. Hope everything be alright now๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Reply
  13. womanseyeview

    Many happy (month late) returns of the day! I look forward to the big reveal of your name but will still think of you as Gallivanta… And now wonder at the story behind this name …a future post?

    Reply
  14. pleisbilongtumi

    I didn’t realize time passed by so rapidly. It’s the second time I congratulate you a very happy birthday. I love your flowers arrangement as always and also love to see that you have them fresh from the garden. I used to have a friend in Auckland, her name was Jane Anne. But it would not had been yours, I guessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am being greedy and getting extra birthday wishes because of this delayed post about my birthday in March! Of course I am now a month older, but not a year older. Time hasn’t gone that fast! Jane is a lovely name but it is not mine. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also have a friend called Jane.

      Reply
      1. pleisbilongtumi

        Another name I remember is Shana Paratha, a half blood NZer. We have lost each other since 1982. It was really long ago. BTW, I can imagine how much cost you have spent to celebrate birthday in a month time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          That’s a good point. A long birthday celebration must be expensive. I better stop celebrating soon. Shana? Mmmmm; nice name but still not mine!

        2. pleisbilongtumi

          No, It’s not, You weren’t in NZ 1982, were you? ๐Ÿ™‚
          If you need me to guess what your first name is, let me know it via email, and I will write it down here ๐Ÿ˜›

        3. pleisbilongtumi

          Not exactly, but I noticed from our past conversations that you used to nomad when YOU WERE YOUNG. Is that what you mean by getting old NOW? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Steve Schwartzman

    The end of your post reminded me of the classic (and classy) 1957 movie Love in the Afternoon, in which the Gary Cooper character spends much of the film trying to figure out the first name of the Audrey Hepburn character. All he knows is that it begins with an A. He tries various common female names beginning with A, but only near the end of the movie does he learn that her name is Ariane. You can see why he wouldn’t have guessed it.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I was waiting for someone to bring up the less classy Rumpelstiltskin reference but your reference is fascinating. I must take a look at the link.

      Reply
      1. Steve Schwartzman

        Do. And try to get hold of a copy of the movie, which is excellent. I haven’t given anything away by telling the name of the character, because the audience knows it from the beginning of the movie. It’s only the Gary Cooper character who’s in the dark.

        Reply
  16. Travelling Kiwi

    Beautiful flowers, especially the one that is my favourite yellow colour. I am glad you had a lovely day for your birthday, even if the rain came later. What a lot of meteorological and geological Events you have had to put up with! A nice gentle dose of Rumer Godden would be a great panacea. I recommend ‘The Fairy Doll’ if you have it with you. It was one of my special books when I was young – the heroine had my name and I felt the story was especially for me.
    – And I am enjoying your secret ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Isn’t it lovely when books we like have characters with our names? I haven’t read The Fairy Doll in recent times so I could do with a reread. You are right about Rumer Godden being a panacea. Because of the all the Events it has been hard to read anything else but soothing stories. I feel quite brave when I try something a little different. Pre Quakes I was much more adventurous in my reading material, although basically still very ‘genteel’. Glad you are keeping my secret!!

      Reply
  17. Mรฉlanie

    OMG, Miss G… can’t find any adjective to qualify all these perfect beauties… bon et heureux anniversaire! Happy B’day, “taurus” young lady! ๐Ÿ™‚ an “old” American friend was born the same day… I love earth signs and I’m one, too… my very best and friendly hugs, cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚ Cappy Mรฉlanie โค

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh Miss M, thank you but I have cheated a bit because this is a late post…my birthday was last month which means I am a Ram. Will you still like me? My father is a Taurus. It’s a great sign ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      1. Mรฉlanie

        ๐Ÿ™‚ Hi Rammy! yep, still like u, babe… ๐Ÿ™‚ btw, my best friends during highschool and college have been 2 “rams”: alaways funny, childish, optimistic and positive… they wouldn’t listen to anyone, their “horns” out, they would often go straight into the wall(or trouble!), never mind, they both would admit:”well, I should have listened to you, Mรฉlanie…” ๐Ÿ™‚ we’ve kept in touch for decades and they haven’t changed much, I guess maybe that’s why I still love them… ๐Ÿ˜‰
        * * *
        I get along with the “horned” signs(not necessarily “horny”, too – LOL!)… your papa must be handsome, intelligent, cultivated, pleasant, an artist(does he have artistic talents?), and a steady, earthly guy… quite determined, maybe a bit stubborn, but he’s often right: he does know what he does NOT want (any more)…! ๐Ÿ™‚ respectful regards, Cappy Mรฉlanie – 1/2 mountain goat, 1/2 dolphin… ๐Ÿ™‚
        http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/i-am-what-i-am-a-simple-cappy-girl/

        Reply
  18. kiwiskan

    lovely photos – and I hope your garden dries out soon. Christchurch has been having a rough time. I have to confess that I couldn’t get into the luminaries. However Rod seemed to enjoy it.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Christchurch is awash and so are the interior surfaces of my windows! So much moisture inside the house. Interesting about the Luminaries. I wonder if it gets equal readership from both sexes. I guess those sorts of statistics aren’t collected.

      Reply
  19. Tracy Rhynas

    A belated Happy Birthday for whenever it was! Your birthday flowers are beautiful, what a lovely bright and cheery colour combination of the sunflowers with the purple wrapping. Rumer Godden wrote one of my favourite books growing up – The Diddakoi. Your posts so often manage to bring back forgotten memories ๐Ÿ™‚ (Sorry to hear about the rain, I really do sympathise!)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks for the birthday greetings, Tracy. The big bouquet of flowers was from a friend. It was so cheerful and fitted that sunny day perfectly. Would you believe The Diddakoi is one of the Rumer Godden books that I haven’t read? I must get on to it.

      Reply
      1. salsachica

        Birthdays should always be celebrated for a month, why just make it a day to celebrate your fabulousness ๐Ÿ™‚

        Reply
  20. Dina

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you, gratulerer med dagen und herzlichen Glรผckwunsch zum Geburtstag from
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri and Selma ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

