Preparations

In my previous  post, we took a brief look in the rear view mirror. This post goes further back, to the beginning of my blogcation, in late March.

Preparing for my weekend visitor, I fill the vases…..

for the table

Borage, Salvia and Sage

Borage, Salvia and Sage in Blue

Yellow Rocket and Mexican Orange Blossom Leaves

Yellow Rocket and Mexican Orange Blossom Leaves

and for the bedroom

Monet and Chilean Guava

Monet and Chilean Guava

Update:

Today, April 13 is Thomas Jefferson’s birthday. One of my favourite websites for plant information is this one http://www.monticello.org/site/visit . I would like to visit the Monticello gardens, one day.  In the meantime, I looked up sage and borage to see if they featured at Monticello, and they do. I particularly liked this reference to  sage/salvia.

“This Mediterranean shrub has been grown in gardens since at least the thirteenth century. It was thought to prolong life, even “render men immortal.” Sage was a standard item in gardens from colonial times, and was included by Jefferson in a list of “Objects for the garden this year” in 1794. The term Salvia comes from the Latin salveo meaning “I am well,” a reference to its virtuous powers. In addition to being a useful culinary herb, Sage is an attractive ornamental dwarf shrub that attracts bees and butterflies, but is not favored by deer.”

Although I do not have to worry about deer ( snails are bad enough! ) eating my plants, I love that I have a plant in my garden that  relates to health and well-being and healing. How lovely to look back and realise that I greeted my special guest with a vase of ‘well being”.

© silkannthreades

 

104 thoughts on “Preparations

      1. Brenda

        I never thought of tea… Hmm. What else do you put with it in tea? Oh, now I’m going to be late to my daughter’s event!! LOL The tyranny of the small. 🙂

        Reply
        1. Brenda

          12 kids, one small basement room, not enough chairs, screaming Disney songs at the top of their lungs. Enough said. LOL Ah, parenting, nonstop fun!!

  1. greenlightlady

    These bouquets are so lovely. I especially like the one in the pansy ring using the sweet rocket and leaves. You’ve inspired me to get mine out and give it a try with what I have.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply
  2. shoreacres

    I’m most taken with the guava, both for its pairing with the art, and for the artistry of the arrangement itself. Isn’t it a pleasure to prepare for guests? One of the loveliest lines in Eleanor Farjeon’s “People Look East” (perhaps my favorite Advent hymn) is “Love, the guest, is on the way.”

    Of course, that poem/song also contains the line, “make your house fair as you are able”, which takes a good bit of burden off the host or hostess!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I don’t have guests very often (NZ is so far away!), so there is always great anticipation and excitement around their coming. I like that very sound advice, though, of “make your house fair as you are able “.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Looking Back | silkannthreades

  4. Pingback: sage green bracelet with a choice of charms | lizzie rose jewellery

  5. Cath at Lizzie Rose Jewellery

    Glad to see Borage has made a re-appearance in your house. Was it a year ago we were talking about Borage? Or does it grow year-round at your house? I love the look, feel and smell of Sage and will definitely be replanting it when I return to the Med! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    Beautifully welcoming floral arrangements …
    I like the idea of using herbs and berries in your displays and the containers add such a fine extra dimension.

    Reply
  7. restlessjo

    How wonderful it must be to be a guest in your home, Ann! Those table decorations are exquisite.
    Wills and Kate were on our tv news tonight, on their visit to Christchurch. I thought of you 🙂

    Reply
  8. Ralph

    Oh heck Gallivanta. Ooops !! It was LAST weekend I should have visited you. Sorry that you took all the trouble to arrange the flowers for me. 😉 They’re beautiful. Ralph xox ❤

    Reply
      1. Ralph

        So true my friend. I’ll have to have wifi installed there as I’d hate to miss another such weekend as yours. Must go, back to the bike sheds 😉 Have a lovely day. ❤

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure you have the most wonderful flowers and leaves and berries to make in to beautiful arrangements. Perhaps better not to add fungi though.

      Reply
  9. teamgloria

    Having spent a great amount of time in guestrooms on this trip we can say we have not seen such beauty in a flower arrangement as yours. Most Blooming Beautiful indeed!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you tg. I am sad to hear of the lack of blooms. I suppose owners of guest rooms have to be careful these days about potential allergy problems for their guests. Or there may be health and safety regulations around flowers in rooms, as there are in hospitals, sometimes….http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/12/091216203449.htm The older generation have often told me of the days when flowers were removed from hospital wards so as not to deplete oxygen levels in the sick room.

      Reply
      1. teamgloria

        gosh.

        got sudden image of patients struggling for breath because the peonies are soaking up the available oxygen (how the imagination stirs so quickly 😉

        Reply
  10. melodylowes

    In my mind, I am the guest you so lovingly prepare for. There is a little longing in each of us to be so cherished, is there not? I’d love to be popping by for a visit, knowing you were busy picking things from your garden to make my stay a wonderful experience….

    Reply
  11. cindy knoke

    I love the Chilean Gruava in a boquet! Lovely & different!
    Here is a braingle for you on TJ!
    Please do not send me a braingle on a PM from any other country. I would fail miserably! Laughing……..well you could try me on Winston Churchill~

    Reply
  12. Tiny

    I don’t think there’s anybody more skilled in beautiful arrangements than you!! You make it look like pictures and fresh flowers/fruits blend together!

    Reply
  13. Mrs. P

    I am heading out to the garden now…to plant some sage! 🙂

    And when you make that appointment for Monticello…ring me up and I’ll go with you! 😀

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Naomi. Ah, yes, salve…..what is most interesting is how long it has taken me to make this connection between plant and the meaning of its name. Shakes head!

      Reply
  14. KerryCan

    What an amazing hostess you must be! Your flower arrangements are so spectacular AND thoughtful–I love having that background information on the plants.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have grown sage/salvia for years but hadn’t really thought about the meaning of the word until today. Have you ever been to Monticello? My grandmother and my mother always had simple arrangements of home grown flowers in the house. It’s nice to be able to follow their ways. 🙂

      Reply
  15. utesmile

    Your flower arrangements look so lovely , as always , you have a special gift here. It looks so beautiful and welcoming. Even here the sun is shining and it gets a bit warmer, the trees are now green, birds are singing and it is so lovely! enjoy a wonderful Sunday!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh I wish the sun had been out today, Ute. It was such a dull day. The weather has been miserable for the Royal Tour, although I think they had a better day during their tour down South today.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you Juliet. It’s lovely to arrange flowers for guests, but it is important to do it for oneself too. I am sure you would agree about that.

      Reply
  16. lagottocattleya

    Your guests are always welcomed with flowers, I’m sure. Such variety and beauty everywhere! Those lovely vases, are they old treasures? My most beloved ones come from my grandmother and from my husband’s grandmother. I love visiting markets and shops selling old things…and always leave with a new old vase…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The vases are treasures, but not family ones. Not yet, anyway. Maybe they will be if someone else in the family wants them one day. I also love that kind of shopping, for new old things, but I don’t get to do it very often. That is probably just as well; my cupboards are already full.

      Reply
  17. Mélanie

    très beau… very nice! refined and classy, congrats hospitable and generous Miss G! 🙂 P.S. I have the same “trivet”(?) you’ve set under the yellow rocket, small world… 🙂

    Reply
      1. Mélanie

        mine is made in China like a lot of “stuff” all over the world… we use to say that “China has been purchasing the planet these past 20 years…” 🙂 – which is quite true… 😉

        Reply

Leave a Reply

