Season for plums or delicious plum-foolery

It is the season for plums. It is the time for plum deliciousness.

Season for Plums

Season for Plums

Plums make:

a perfectly delightful gift for a friend;

Plums, pretty and perfect

Plums, pretty and perfect and a delicious gift

and a beautiful, bounteous, table decoration;

Laden with Plums

Laden with Plums

;

A Vase of Plums

A Vase of Plums

Plums make delectable eatables:

like gleaming, sugar-shimmering, baked compote;

Baked Plums for the Table

Baked Plums for the Table

and rich coffee cake.

Plum Coffee Cake

Plum Coffee Cake

[ take a slice, please do πŸ™‚ ]

An invitation to a slice

An invitation to a slice

And plums are fabulous for frivolousΒ  fool…ishnessΒ  ;

and golden jam,

Jono's Jam

Jono’s Jam

and plums make a jolly good story, too, don’t they? πŸ˜‰

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Β© silkannthreades

74 thoughts on “Season for plums or delicious plum-foolery

  1. mmmarzipan

    Oh! I feel like plums now! They aren’t as common here as they are in Australia. They were a common after-school treat when I was growing up… I can smell them just thinking about them!

    Reply
  2. MΓ©lanie

    yummy post… πŸ™‚ I love all kinds of plums! even the green ones from Japan and Taiwan where they make the famous “umeshu” – green plum wine, cheers! πŸ™‚
    * * *
    have a great week, tons of inspiration and friendly thoughts, MΓ©lanie

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Perfect Compliment | Destination Unknown

  4. Travelling Kiwi

    Thank you for reminding me of Margaret Mahy’s ‘Jam’ – I loved that book, and I love making plum jam. It speaks to me of nostalgia, and is my very favourite variety of jam. I love the rich flavour and that hint of sharpness under the sweetness.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is such a wonderful book. I have enjoyed reading it again and marvelling at the illustrations. Plum jam is delicious. I have just made some bread for my plum jam spread.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Sadly, the cake wouldn’t fit your attempts at a vegan menu, but it is full of delicious almonds, orange and fruit which makes it seem almost healthy πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  5. tiny lessons blog

    Oh – they look too delicious to pass…so I’m tasting them fresh and baked, virtually with my eyes from far away! I just had dinner and would love to have a fool for dessert, with coconut cream, please πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Mrs. P

    Now you’ve gone and done it….Having cravings for plum jam wasn’t enough, you had to torture me even more with all these delicious plum treats. I’m sorry, virtual tasting just won’t do when you’ve got a hankerin’ for the real deal.

    Now, I’ll have to go to the store and get something plum…it won’t be home made…but it will have to do.

    Love the little book slide show…and all of your other “vintage” books!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Then, with your creative juices flowing, on account of the plum, you will write a villanelle, in celebration of plum-ness!
      Glad you like the book. I wish I could show you the whole thing. You would love it. It was first published in 1985 and must be one of the earliest books to present children with the idea of a mother who goes to work and a father who stays home, with hilarious but very satisfying results.

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        I laughed out loud about writing a villanelle in celebration of plum-ness. That sound just too good to resist!

        Who would have thunk that a father staying at home would catch on?

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The little red plums in the photos are sweet but become sour when cooked. The yellowish plums become sweeter as they ripen but I love to eat them when they are firm and tart. Not pucker-up lemon tart but they definitely have a sharpness to them.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          At least you had a nectarine ….my nectarine tree was covered in blossom this spring but failed to produce a single viable nectarine 😦

        2. Tracy Rhynas

          Nectarines are my favourite summer fruit. How sad that your tree hasn’t borne any decent nectarines! But at least you have friends with plum trees πŸ™‚

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          I have had about 3 seasons of good nectarines from my tree, so I suppose the tree needs a rest! And, yes, hooray, for friends with plum trees.

  7. BEAUTYCALYPSE

    plums! I suffer the worst case of plum envy as I’ll have to wait until august here πŸ˜€

    though I have found an organic, junk-free plum ketchup which is sooo delicious, especially with pumpkin wedges. nomnom.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Plum ketchup is divine. My aunt suggested I should make some. It was something she used to make a lot. I think I have enough plums to do it. By the way, I was thinking that the Plum Fool would probably work well with whipped coconut cream?

      Reply
      1. BEAUTYCALYPSE

        oh yes, whipped coconut would be divine.
        am still postponing it: want to try and make creamy coconut ice cream with “streaks” of fruity puree in it. thought of berries, but plum sounds as good. since I will most likely postpone it till september, it will probably be plums πŸ˜€

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The recipe is super easy and can be found here http://m.joyofbaking.com/cakes/PlumCoffeeCake.html It is one of my favourite recipes. I don’t have a suitable round pan so I use a rectangular one. And I use just a pinch of salt. Also pays to keep an eye on the plums to make sure they don’t burn towards the end of the baking. Do you remember the Giant Jam Sandwich? Strawberry Jam, it was, not plum. Your two gave it to their cousin on her 4th birthday!

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I don’t think you need to worry about a diet. After we finish our busy sightseeing, you can teach me to dance and then we will replenish our energy with cake. We will be fine πŸ˜€

  8. Leya

    Plum delicious! Such a delightful post – plums are as beautiful as they are tasty. I’d love a piece of that cake today…Your photos speak of summer and all its loveliness too. Wish you a beautiful day!

    Reply
  9. YellowCable

    They all are too deliciously looking!!! Thank you for a slice of plum coffee cake. I take one πŸ™‚ The “Frosty” is also tempting. A spoon of “Frosty” would also be nice too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. dadirri7

    oh yum! we are missing out on plums this year as S did not prune the tree … oh dear, I have tried not to think of it but your blog of deliciousness is too much!! I so love plum jam, and plum cake, and I’ve tried buying some plums but they simply were not up to it … so thank you for the slice of plum coffee cake, I accept gladly … and may come back for another πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You are welcome to have some more. These plums are extra delicious because they are from a friend’s tree not the supermarket. Last year, I foraged plums from public spaces. The taste is so superior to the supermarket varieties. Can you guess, I am as big a plum fan as you? : D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

