Life is full of surprises

I wasn’t intending to write another post so soon but life is full of surprises, and what could be more surprising than stepping out your front door on a sleepy Sunday morning and finding that your letterbox has suffered a great indignity. Like so…..

Smithereens

Smithereens

Oh, what rage and/or drunkenness, or druggedness, was a-foot in our mild-mannered neighbourhood, last night? For it was not only MY letterbox that was abused. Several neighbours found a similar scene of destruction,

Toppled

Toppled

but our letterbox seemed to be the most severely damaged. To smash our brick letterbox to smithereens would have required significant force……and I expect, by the time the persons had done their *work*, they were out of energy to do much else.

Now, our letterbox was not in the best of condition prior to this assault. It was damaged in the severe earthquakes of 2010 and 2011, but it was still standing, and it was still usable, until some time in the dark of last night. Imagine! …that letterbox stood up to more than 12,500 earthquakes, yet, came to an inglorious end by the hands of stupid mankind. Oh, the irony 😦

My good neighbour, who shares the mailbox with us, cleaned up the mess and, don’t tell this to the vandals, but I rather liked the way the litterΒ Β  letter free area temporarily opened up, to give our property more ‘street appeal’.

 New Street Appeal

New Street Appeal

And, also in their favour, the vandals,Β  unwittingly, worked faster than the insuranceΒ  company on my earthquake insuranceΒ  rebuild for external property damage….andΒ  have, thereby,Β  saved us a few hundred dollars on demolition costs. Oh, the irony! I am sure that would surprise them; vandals and the insurance company, I mean.

The postie is going to be surprised tomorrow, when he tries to deliver mail on our street. He willΒ  be most surprised of all when he finds the trendy, new letterbox that my helpful neighbour has cobbled together.

Will this start a new trend?

Will this start a new trend?

Isn’t life witty, and surprising, and ever so slightly crazy?

Β© silkannthreades

130 thoughts on “Life is full of surprises

  1. Pingback: (Mem.: mail system undergoing change; write encouraging post ) | silkannthreades

  2. mmmarzipan

    I am glad you were able to put a spin on this… but, wow! How ridiculous. I really don’t understand that kind of behaviour 😦 Sorry that happened to you (your mailbox) x

    Reply
  3. Pingback: She’s taking the world by storm….. | silkannthreades

  4. Tracy Rhynas

    I know I shouldn’t laugh at the wanton destruction of your innocent letterbox, but I would love to have seen your postie’s face on when confronted with the new version! I think it could catch on πŸ˜‰ My parents had their bird table stolen out of their front yard a few years ago…people do the strangest mean things.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I haven’t talked to the postie since this happened but, so far, he has placed the mail very neatly in the new receptacle. He hasn’t had a tantrum, or fallen off his bike, at the sight of it, as far as I know. The whole incident was so bizarre, even I had to laugh. Poor birds, losing their table; that is very mean-spirited.

      Reply
  5. Catherine

    Reminds me of the “hoons” down the street who came careering around the corner a couple of months ago and took out my neighbour’s rather flimsy letterbox, missed my solid cement structure, then destroyed a lightweight letterbos belonging to neighbour on the other side. hmmm… πŸ™„

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Out of the Gloom come Gems of Loveliness | silkannthreades

  7. dadirri7

    forgive me for laughing but the Universe is wonderful … saved you on demolition costs??? oh joy! love your new innovation, and so will the postie πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      No complaints yet from the postie πŸ™‚ Demolition costs are funny beasts, indeed……because of the earthquakes, we now have new insurance requirements….so, when we calculate the value of the house and property for insurance purposes, we have to remember to add in demolition (and removal of debris) costs…. The Universe is wonderful. I am enjoying your laughter.

      Reply
  8. lizzierosejewellery

    I can’t believe someone would do that. You always look on the positive side though, and I love the new mailbox. Is it fastened down? Wouldn’t want anyone to pick it up and run off with it (with the types of people currently frequenting your neighbourhood)!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Welllll……the new mailbox isn’t really securely fastened but someone would look very odd carrying that off down the street! But, then, people do strange things, don’t they?

      Reply
  9. jennypellett

    Well, just popped over as promised and I read of this assault on your property – how awful – and not something one associates with New Zealand. England – inner cities, yes. Hope you re-build a state-of-the-art job that is vandal proof! What total yobbos!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am excited about exploring the letter box options! It’s not every day one gets the chance to look for a new letter box. πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, vandalism is everywhere 😦

      Reply
  10. jaggh53163

    Your new letterbox is quite economical, (somewhat) water resistant, easily moved and fits with any style or color of house. Just the thing… and it may become a trend.

    Reply
  11. womanseyeview

    I’m not surprised that you of all people are so philosophical about this mindless destruction but you’re bound to feel a little disconcerted about what it means about society. Its not unusual in rural areas in North America where crazed/bored youngsters hang out the window of their cars and hit mailboxes with baseball bats for fun. Home Depot even stocked ‘baseball bat resistant’ boxes a while back!!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh my goodness..I hope we don’t ever need baseball bat resistant mailboxes. And, yes, I do feel disconcerted about what this vandalism says about our society. What I hope it says is that it was momentary madness and that these vandals will grow out of their behaviour, and that they will not one day swell the ranks of our prison population. It is probably a faint hope 😦

      Reply
  12. Sheryl

    It’s awful how vandals destroy things like this. I can ‘t understand why anyone one would do something like this.

    Somehow his post reminds me of the time my car skidded on the ice, and I hit a mailbox. I was amazed how much damage a mailbox could do to a car. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That must have been scary; skidding on ice like that. Now, from reading your comment, I wonder if I should scout the neighbourhood for a damaged car with telltale signs of red brick on the paintwork πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  13. greenlightlady

    I am so sorry that this happened to your mailbox. It is such an unsettling feeling when someone invades another’s space like this; you’ve handled it with such grace and humor. About 22 years ago a vandal destroyed a rose arbor my husband had made over the front gate of a home we used to own back then. It was my birthday and when my husband tried to tell me the bad news I did not believe him. So I went outside fully expecting to find a brand new Haws watering can waiting for me by the arbor… the good news is that I still have that lovely and much used watering can. We have an arbor safe and sound in our present garden too. The only vandals we’ve had here are the raccoons.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Damage to plants I would find incredibly upsetting. I am glad you recovered from your vandalism incident and now have a beautiful arbor to enjoy…..as well as that precious watering can. As for the raccoons……I bet they lead you on a merry dance. Are you allowed to trap them?

      Reply
      1. greenlightlady

        Even if we were allowed to trap them I haven’t found them bothersome enough to go though the effort; I don’t feel it’s worth traumatizing them over some cherries we can’t reach anyways. I keep covers on my worm compost bins and compost piles; otherwise they dig for worms. It’s their droppings around my large evergreen trees that are the most annoying – I bury it under the mulch.

        Reply
      1. melodylowes

        What do you have planned for the ‘real’ one? Acts of senseless vandalism just make me cringe – there doesn’t seem much sport in wreaking havoc for other folks. Cruel and selfish and irresponsible, I say…

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Mmmmm…..I have a few ideas for a new mailbox but, of course, if the postman doesn’t object we may keep the temporary one for a while. Vandalism is an odd beast. It’s been around for a very long time, hasn’t it? πŸ˜‰

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          There is something called a “Brain (plus not very polite word)” which could be at work in a young male brain but I suspect a lack of loveliness/beauty in one’s immediate home and surroundings is as much to blame as anything else.

  14. KerryCan

    I think it’s sort of interesting that they didn’t trample those pretty pink flowers while they were at it. Hard people breaking hard things, I guess. But, of course, being a good Gallivanta, you found the silver lining in the dark cloud! We could learn a lot from you!

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Interestingly, I can be forgiving about the letterbox, but I would have been enraged if my plants had been vandalised. Plant vandalism does occur in this city, and it breaks my heart when vandals take to the Botanic Gardens, or if I see a line of newly planted roadside trees with their tops systematically smashed off.

  15. Just Add Attitude

    Your kindly neighbour made a great job of creating a temporary letterbox. But how sad that vandals roam around (and I know they are sadly everywhere) creating such random and wanton destruction. I admire your fortitude in looking on the bright side. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s at times like this that I start to enjoy that Monty Python tribute to the Bright Side of Life. I think MP would be amused by my letterbox, don’t you? My neighbour is such a help. Gives me lovely vegetables too πŸ™‚ I am baking him some cake right now as a thank you.

      Reply
  16. cindy knoke

    I’m wondering if you know who this neighbor is? At the Holler neighbors are few and far between but some of them still squabble. One neighbor has put up tons of secret video cameras all over his property so he can monitor his neighbor who does things like dump debris on his property.
    Honestly, it is unfair to children to call this childish because children are kinder and better behaved.
    You have an angry, pretty pathological neighbor. Oh, joy…….
    There was a case in the news last year about a prominent news media editor who was caught on his neighbor’s video camera leaving cat feces in his neighbors mail box.
    Honestly how bizarre is this? And now many neighbors are hunched over their computers all day watching their neighbors on video cams…….
    Progress? Not.
    So sorry~

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your sympathy Cindy. One is tempted to install secret video cameras, I must admit, but, hopefully, this was a one off incident. Well, it will have to be because there is no letterbox left to trash again πŸ˜€ Your stories remind me of a TV programme we have here called Neighbours at War. It’s possible that my letterbox was damaged by people passing through rather than anyone in the neighbourhood.

      Reply
  17. Forest So Green

    It is good that they only hit the letterbox and not the car, it is good to make lemonade from lemons in this case, I can’t wait to see your new letterbox.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, lemonade from lemons πŸ™‚ I don’t know how long it will take to get a permanent new mailbox; the other issue to keep in mind is that the post office will be reducing its mail home deliveries soon so I could even consider leasing a mail box at a mail centre. Lots to think about.

      Reply
  18. Ralph

    Oh no !! A new Ned Kelly mailbox !! One can see why CCTV is being used even more. Sorry you were hit Gallivanta. If you rebuild it use reinforcing rods ….. electrified of course πŸ˜‰ xox

    Reply
  19. pleisbilongtumi

    I am so sorry…. and I don’t have any idea how to comment on this post, I was upset for you at the start but your new trendy letter box is gorgeous. “Believe it or Not” can record it, Gallivanta.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      “Believe it or Not”…..that’s a good idea! It was an unbelievable sight, that’s for sure. But I think my new letterbox is very friendly looking; not as serious and stern as the old one.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Not a word! The mail (the letters) were placed in the bucket and a parcel was left on my doorstep. I expect the postie has seen stranger things on his daily routes.

  20. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    life can certainly deliver unexpected surprised, and i am so sorry that this happened… i am equally pleased that you seemed to take it in stride.  yes, i love the new mailbox – maybe it will be a trendsetter!    

    ________________________________

    Reply
  21. Mrs. P

    Oh dear…since there were several knocked down, I suspect a vandalism spree. We had our brick knocked down by a drunk driver neighbor. Like yours, it really was in need of replacement, he just helped get it done sooner. Silly man even crashed into his own garage back wall and realizing he cause damage immediately went in and pulled open a beer. When the cops arrived he answered the door, beer in hand, claiming that he’d been home drinking the whole time.

    I do love your clever temporary post box.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My neighbour is a very handy and resourceful person, so I am glad he was able to invent a temporary letterbox so quickly. And did the police believe your drunk driver neighbour?????

      Reply
  22. YellowCable

    That is horrible. I am sorry to see this happen to you 😦

    I thought this type only happens in US. I believe it was from teens that went around at night to do the thing for fun (their view of fun) or a cool thing.

    Indeed, life is full of surprises and sometime not unpleasant. Hope you get it repaired soon.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your concern YC. Vandalism always seems to peak during school holidays, and it is summer vacation time here, so some young people will be about at night expressing their boredom in anti social ways.

      Reply
  23. gpcox

    What the H*LL goes thru some people’s minds?! Now, exactly WHAT purpose did that serve. The cowards don’t even have the guts to let you know who did it!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      What goes through some minds will forever remain a mystery, I think!! It wouldn’t surprise me if the people concerned can’t remember what they did during the night…they must have been very ‘far gone’ on something πŸ™‚

      Reply
  24. Mike Howe

    I don’t know whether to be upset for you or pleased for you after reading that! Your new mail box however is absolutely fabulous, you should patent it πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s a very recycled letterbox! I hope the postman enjoys it tomorrow. If the postie doesn’t like a letterbox, or considers it dangerous, he/she won’t deliver the mail 😦

      Reply
  25. utesmile

    There must have been some force behind it to destroy a brick one. On the bright side, you get a new letterbox yay. Sad though why people do that. Surely they don’t do it to their own.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am thinking that kind of damage would need a sledge hammer. But it could also have been rammed by a car. And, yes, it’s sad that people think that this sort of thing is ‘fun’ or ‘cool’, that is, if they are thinking at all πŸ˜‰ Eventually I will probably get a new slimline mailbox that attaches to the side fence.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Marylin was writing about the why question on her blog http://warnerwriting.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/the-real-question/#comments and she said to me “But the real gift my mom taught me was that the who/what/when/where questions are factually important, but the WHY required true thinking and understanding our motives and ourselves.” And I would add that the WHY question is the hardest to answer, especially by the perpetrators of the attack on my mailbox! It’s actually nice to be in a frame of mind where I can look on the bright side and laugh about it πŸ™‚ Not so long ago I probably would have had a meltdown.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It was certainly different from my usual Sunday routine! We have been in this house for 14 years and this is the first time some thing like this has happened.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I probably would have been very upset if the letterbox had been in perfect condition before this event, but it was already damaged by the earthquakes and needing to be replaced,eventually. So I could take the event with reasonable good humour πŸ™‚ Yes, what can one do with a paint bucket and a tree stump…why make a mailbox!!!!

      Reply
  26. Juliet

    What a shock you must have had. It happened to me a few years ago, when a wooden letterbox was destroyed, along with others in the street. You have a great attitude, and I laughed at the improvised letter box.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have heard of letterbox vandalism before, as you describe, and that is what happened to some of the others on our street last night. But to smash a brick letterbox to such an extent is mind-boggling! I want to decorate the new letterbox with a jaunty hat but I am not sure that I dare!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It was truly an astonishing sight to see this morning. But, yes, we get a quirky letterbox out of the experience. I am glad too that they didn’t trash my son’s car which was parked on the street last night.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Isn’t this amazing? Such synchronicity! The angry, unsmiling lady who sent you ‘cease and desist’ nastiness, would probably accuse us of copyrighting each other! LOL!

        2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

          we are definitely leading parallel lives! i’m just awakening after staying up way too late in order to use the internet! now in the morning, it will get slower and slower til by noon, it’s useless for most tasks!

          may your dreams be full of joy and of unbashed mailboxes!

  27. MΓ©lanie

    @”β€œLife is full of surprises” – yes, indeed… any time and anywhere… we do say in French:”la vie est bizarre parfois = sometimes life is weird…” πŸ™‚
    * * *
    Thanx for dropping by my crossroads, stay healthy and have a week full of pleasant surprises! πŸ™‚ friendly thoughts, MΓ©lanie

    Reply
  28. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    Well, that’s certainly looking on the bright side of life – it’s good that something positive will come out of senseless vandalism. I can’t understand why someone would go around ruining the property of others….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

