Mortals who ring bells…….

From our daily newspaper, The Press, 1st January 2014, Thought for Today

Time has no divisions to mark its passage,  there is never a thunderstorm or blare of trumpets to announce the beginning of a new month or year. Even when a new century begins it is only we mortals who ring bells and fire off pistols. ~  Thomas Mann (1875-1955)

Being mortal as I am, I spent this morning replacing my old calendars with the lovely new ones I have received. And because our former minister always said it is good to have occasions to look forward to from the beginning of each year, I have started to mark all the birthdays and special days that will come in 2014. (There’s a surprising large number of them 🙂 ) Knowing, and seeing, that there will be good times ahead helps us to handle the not so good times whenever they appear.

So it was ‘goodbye’ 2013

and ‘hello 2014’:

first of all from a calendar made by  The Rudolf Steiner School, in Sydney, where my brother teaches;

A wonderful day for chooks and me

A wonderful day for the chooks  et al

next from a calendar of  New Zealand,  beautifully photographed by friend, David Dobbs ( with apologies for my poor rendition of his superb portrayal of Moeraki Boulders ) ;

Beautiful New Zealand by David Dobbs

Beautiful New Zealand by David Dobbs

and, lastly, a ‘ hello 2014’ from  Sethsnap in Ohio, with his special blogger-chosen calendar, which will remind me of the seasons and holidays  of the US,  where most of my viewers live.

Elsewhere in 2014

Elsewhere in 2014

In other times....

In other times….

Do  you see my first calendar entries for 2014? Yes, there they are…P1030885One birthday and one reminder;  my  nephew’s birthday… and a ‘don’t forget’ to take your Vitamin D.

And thus the counting down of 2014 has begun, with the marvellous and the mundane… and without pistols  🙂

© silkannthreades

74 thoughts on “Mortals who ring bells…….

  1. jaggh53163

    Gallivanta v- I liked the picture from SethSnap, not the usual snowy vista, just one beautiful red leaf. Very simple and memorable.
    I keep all of my calendars. It used to keep track of the children’s activities year by year, now they help me keep track of MY activities. Did I have my hip surgery two or was it three years ago? Time just flies when you’re having FUN !!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The snowy scene is very striking, I agree. My trouble now is that I am beginning to loose track of the vast number of calendars I have accumulated…. I am not very sensible about keeping them in the same place in storage!!!!

      Reply
  2. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    I keep paper calendars as well and always enjoy making the changeover in January. I still have to write the birthdays and anniversaries into one of them. Being away for the holidays means I have a pile of things to catch up on now!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I used to love the times when I went away on holiday and my parents could ‘ house-sit’ or ‘child-sit’ because it meant I didn’t have to come home and be tired out by catching up on everything. Ah, those were the days. However, I am sure your pile of things will melt away in its own good time 🙂

      Reply
  3. sethsnap

    I am so happy it made it to you by the New Year. It looks good in the summertime over there right now. Here it’s bitterly cold as you read. Thanks for sharing. Glad to know! Happy New Year.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad we don’t have your cold weather but, as today is very hot, it’s rather good to look at the cool snow of January. Very refreshing from afar.

      Reply
  4. Forest So Green

    I have two calendars, one on the wall in the kitchen and one on my desk. I love to write down the birthdays etc. And I use different color pens for different occasions 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Aren’t they cute? I can imagine ‘little man’ drawing chickens with great enthusiasm in the near future. He already loves his colouring pens.

      Reply
  5. lizzierosejewellery

    How funny! I’ve just finished filling in my (one) calendar with birthdays for the year and rough pencilling in of important exams which my kids will undertake nearer May/June. They turn 18 and 16 years old this year too so some special celebrations will be planned!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You take me back to when my children were at school and I diligently entered into the calendar all the important school dates. Sometimes the calendar feels quite empty without those markers of the school year. 😦 You will have your summer holidays in Portugal to highlight, too….lovely.

      Reply
      1. lizzierosejewellery

        Yes, the calendar can look quite messy very quickly – especially when I’m adding cat/dog bookings and hubby’s business travel dates! Regarding Portugal, it won’t be just a holiday this year – we are planning to move back full time in June (when the oldest has finished school here). I’m so excited to get back to my house and garden and quiet village and beaches! 🙂

        Reply
  6. leapingtracks

    Like another of your followers, we are taking down our decorations today, but we have a lovely calendar of Scottish scenes to put up. I’ve some sort of plan to visit each place in the month they are shown. I’ll have to report back in December… 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you and despite having Vit D written down on 3 calendars I didn’t do it!!!! I didn’t forget, but ran out of time, which sounds ridiculous but is nevertheless true. Was busy talking to my parents (in Cairns) on the phone till very late.

      Reply
  7. teamgloria

    we probably will Not be writing about this over at our place but we wanted to say that something that’s been on our calendar – and not done (which is remarkably rare for us because we are Very task-ticking-off-ness) throughout 2013 was something which we thought about Every time we popped over here to visit you.

    well, it’s now Done.

    there’s an earthquake/emergency kit in a large plastic tub-with-lid in our car (with a very nice soft red blanket in case we need to help someone stay warm at an accident as we did Red Cross training as a Teen so we know how) and a similar first aid etc supplies in the house.

    thanks to you, really.

    just wanted to let you know.

    happy 2014.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Well, totally splendid!!!!! *clapping robustly* over this way 🙂 Now, you have reminded me to put all my supplies back in the car because I had to take them out to make room for my brother and his wife and their luggage at Christmas time. I have a car of very little size. Happy 2014.

      Reply
  8. Mrs. P

    Great idea marking in the new events at the beginning of the year! So lovely that all of your calendars have the personal touch from friends around the world. Happy New Years to you too!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is lovely to have calendars with a personal touch. Gives me a lot to think about as each page is turned and throughout the days as well. Happy New Year to you 🙂

      Reply
  9. Just Add Attitude

    Wishing you a Happy New Year. I have recently started using my phone calendar, which is backed up to my macbook. However the virtual calendar lacks beautiful images like the ones on your calendars. I especially like the drawing of chickens on your Rudolph Steiner calendar.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your good wishes; same to you. I found my phone calendar rather dull when I was using it. However I expect someone has created a beautiful one even if I couldn’t find it 🙂 Isn’t the drawing of the chickens glorious? I am thinking that birds and chickens are some of the first creatures we learn to draw….mmm…or was that just in the old days when most of us saw chickens in real life?

      Reply
  10. tiny lessons blog

    Great reminder to mark my calendars! Some years I only used electronic calendars in my smart phones but last year I went back to “real” calendars. Time feels better that way 🙂 So learning from you, I’ll mark them today! We are still in our first day…rainy and unseasonably cool 16C. But it’s a good, quiet day for blogging….Happy 2014 Gallivanta!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It seems a bit ‘naughty’ (for environmental reasons) to return to real calendars but I am like you in that I have returned to old time calendars with real enthusiasm. Although, perhaps not that naughty, because smart phones which need constant upgrading to cope with all the apps etc are not exactly environmentally friendly. Happy Blogging.

      Reply
  11. utesmile

    You are so organised….thank you , I shall change my calendars now….. shall have to add the birthdays in it too….. As you have summer and I can imagine a beautiful day there, here in London it is raining and windy like crazy for a while now…. so I am sitting here in my cosy soft home “onesy” and enjoy a hot cappuccino. Good to have a home day in between! A great way to start the year…. relaxed…. ♥

    Reply
  12. mixedupmeme

    I can’t live without a calendar or 2 or 3. I have one in the kitchen and one in the computer room and in my purse and a spare. I write the same things on all.
    There is something about seeing the days across the page that is orientating. I get my bearings and alignment from seeing those little squares.
    And one time I even saved some $$ because I had written something important down and happened to have saved the calendar from several years before. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I save my calendars too (as I don’t write a diary) and also had a similar experience. And, I do agree that seeing those little squares is very ‘grounding’. I usually have 2 calendars but, as you can see, I have gone ‘wild’ this year and taken on a 3rd. But a 4th or 5th would be perfectly acceptable, in my opinion 🙂

      Reply
  13. Letizia

    I love all the different calendars! (David Dobbs is talented…). I dutifully put up my new calendar this morning. My father creates one for each member of our family (the same one but distributes it to everyone). Each year it has a different theme, but it’s always made of personal photos (past themes: family trips, family pets). It’s great because it reminds us of each other, of our trips together and apart, of our birthdays, etc. And when we visit each other, we laugh because we all have the same calendar hanging in our kitchens!

    Happy new year! I look forward to another year of reading your wonderful blog, one of my favorites.

    Off to take my vitamin D now……

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      How lovely that your father does that. As you say, such a good way to celebrate and remember your lives together. And ,yes, David takes wonderful photos.
      Don’t laugh, but I got so busy yesterday, I didn’t take my Vit D!!!! It’s very important to take it. Although it is summer here, the UV sunlight is so severe for most of the day that we don’t go out enough in the sun to get all the vit D we need. Crazy!

      Reply
  14. gpcox

    The New Year finally got here and now we’re facing all the Christmas decorations that need to come down – what a way to start the year! Here’s hoping for an even better one!

    Reply
  15. Travelling Kiwi

    I’m so glad you mentioned the bells! As I mentioned elsewhere, here in York where I’m spending a few days, all the bells rang out joyfully for at least half an hour to herald the new year. I love the idea of putting all the birthdays on the calendars as reminders. Mine are on the computer – not the same thing at all. I think this year I will try and follow your example – so much more cheering than ‘Water Bill to pay today – $57.89’ 🙂
    Thank you for your lovely post, and may 2014 be a good year for you. I hope your posts will be my companions again this year.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I loved reading your post on the Bells of York. I have tried using phone and computer calendars. Worked reasonably well for me but I have decided that I prefer (this year, anyway) the old-style paper calendar. Don’t rush home too soon 😉 because it’s fun reading about your travels.

      Reply
  16. Leya

    I will borrow your wisdom of writing in my calendar from the start. Anything that will make me see the light and the positive things to come. I’m afraid that my sadness is growing on me… and this new year – well, let’s hope for the best. Thank you for being there and always pointing out the things to be grateful for. Even if that is my disposition originally, I’m not in that much balance right now.

    My children’s cousins all went to Steiner schools – in Sweden and in Switzerland. Is that text from the Steiner school’s teaching? One of my strongest convictions is that if the young generation is going to connect to Mother Earth and make their (and our) future a better one, they have to learn about growing things on their own, about resourcefulness and love of everything living. I’m glad your brother is teaching at Steiner’s.

    Everything is so simple if we only use our common sense – but everything is so difficult to realise in reality. We have come too far away from our natural behaviour to be able to turn back to nature, they way we were meant to – unless someone pulls the plug…

    All the best for 2014!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I hope you have some lovely holidays and family time to put in your calendar. And summer holidays too. Maybe a trip to visit a special friend or a special birthday treat for someone. But, it is also good to have plenty of room for the unexpected surprise events eg I didn’t know my brother and his family would be with me for Christmas until very late last year! And, true, there will be sad things to add to the calendar but……I suspect the good, happy events will outnumber them, most years.
      Yes, the text in the small photo is from the Steiner School.
      Teaching resourcefulness is very important. I didn’t do such a great job of that within my own family 😦

      Reply
      1. Leya

        I think your family got so many other useful things from you, of that I’m sure. I believe every mother wants only the best for her children, and always does what she believes to be the best in that particular moment.

        Indeed there are things I could have done better in my own family, – but I try to rest in thinking I tried my best. No one can do more.

        Something I have learned as a grown up is room for the unexpected. I’m still not very good at it – but I’m getting better. I’ve been so planned all my life – education, work, travels. It’s tiresome too…never being able to relax. Not getting pregnant when I was expecting to be…having to wait for 6 years for my first child taught me a good lesson.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Absolutely….we do the best we can ‘in that particular moment’. I try to remember to tell myself that but occasionally a little worry or regret takes over my thoughts 🙂 Mmmm….sometimes I think I have not planned enough….and have let too much drift by me. Hard to find a balance, isn’t it?

  17. mmmarzipan

    Lovely idea and I like the thinking of your former minister! Beautiful photos from NZ and the US… and it is so cool that your brother teaches at a Steiner school. We have been thinking about sending our little ones to a Steiner school in Sweden, but we would need to move in order to do so. I too have started penciling in things on my make-shift calendar (piece of paper taken from tray of parent’s printer!).
    I hope 2014 treats you with warmth, kindness and generosity x

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My brother has been a Steiner teacher for years! Even so, I don’t know much about the Steiner system although, I know enough that I may have sent my children to a Steiner school if one had been available. It’s good to have things to look forward to, either on a calendar or a vision board. 🙂

      Reply
      1. mmmarzipan

        Absolutely! 🙂
        My best friend in Aus sends her boy to a Steiner school and I think that’s probably how I first became interested in that system. Then we came across a gorgeous woodland school by chance and it happened to be a Steiner school… so we have visited for seasonal festivals and even put our children’s names on the waiting list, just in case we should happen to move that way.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          One of the things I remember most about my early school years is the school grounds with all the trees; so, based on my own non Steiner, I would say it’s important to have the loveliest natural environment possible and Steiner schools seem to do that well.

Leave a Reply

