Meal of the Moment minus the Moose

Laila, on  tableofcolors , prepares the most beautiful food for her family and friends ( and others besides, as part of her work). In late November, despite the difficulties presented by a  blackout ,  Laila, ( with help from her husband, I think )  made a meal of roast moose and roast vegetables  with spinach crepes.     It looked delicious on her blog post but, not having access to a supply of moose,  the only part that I could try to copy was the spinach crepe. So try  I did,  and then I tried  more  and more….. until I was quite *roly poly gammon no meat and some spinach* and very well satisfied.

Since then we have had several meals ( hot, cold, warm ) of delectable spinach crepes and I am pleased to report that they are my new favourite  meal of the moment, food.

Thank you Laila. Your recipes are inspirational, but so practical, and, whenever I make them, I feel as though I have brought a little bit of your lovely home, and a little bit of Finland, into my world.

Spinach Crepes for Lunch

Spinach Crepes for Lunch

© silkannthreades

84 thoughts on “Meal of the Moment minus the Moose

  1. Mrs. P

    Looks tempting, but I’d have to be i an experimenting mood. I have never heard of spinach crepes…much less moose.

    Reply
  2. JulietJuliet

    What good timing this post is. I’ve just bought some spinach from the organic growers out in the country. She went up to the garden to cut it and came back with an enormous bunch, that left me wondering how I’d ever get through it. Help! I thought. I need spinach recipes. And now I know what to do (will produce a gluten-free version). Thank you. (I like your accompaniments too)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      If you have access to Alison Holst’s recipes, she has a wonderful spinach frittata recipe. It is gluten free but not dairy free. And I think the crepe recipe could be made gluten free quite easily. Sounds like you are an expert on recipe conversion 🙂

      Reply
  3. BEAUTYCALYPSE

    oh, great. so it’s 1am, dead of night when I see these and I GET SO TERRIBLY HUNGRY! 😀
    will try and whip up something similar for sunday breakfast. need to make those gluten-free as well, which is a major pain in the…. 😉

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I find that crepes work well gluten-free. Laila does a few gluten-free recipes. Not sure how you make crepes without eggs though. LOL, I was so hungry at 1am this morning I had to eat…..bread.

      Reply
      1. BEAUTYCALYPSE

        they are more like bread or tortillas really 🙂 but if you add a few chia seeds, the dough becomes more “elastic”

        Reply
        1. BEAUTYCALYPSE

          yes! absolutely. the french make “galettes au sarrasin”, huge, thin crêpes with salty toppings like ham, cheese, smoked fish or vegs. absolutely delicious!

        2. BEAUTYCALYPSE

          they ARE yummy. the best part for me: buckwheat is of course not wheat so it’s gluten-free. yaaaaay! crêpes pour moi! 😀

  4. Miss Lou

    Looks absolutely delicious!! *drools* I figured out as well that i could look at the pictures in mega size (when I clicked on them) so that was a little exciting… almost started licking my screen.. (perhaps I am suffering from lack of sleep?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Miss Lou
    xx

    Reply
      1. Miss Lou

        Maybe that is part of my four leaf lettuce packet that i pick up in the supermarket.

        Id feel better about it if it grew in my own garden (and it would be cheaper).. I might give the idea of a garden some more thought. I recently killed some watermelons we had growing in the back yard!

        Reply
  5. Heather in Arles

    Oh, those look very, very tempting! I do like the idea of an addition of goat cheese…HMMM…terribly hungry now!!!!

    Reply
  6. Forest So Green

    Wow, its been years since we made crepes, did you just cook them in the fry pan? They look so delicious 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I have a smallish non-stick fry pan and it was perfect. A few of the crepes were badly shaped or thicker or thinner than they should have been but it didn’t really matter. They all tasted great. And I think they are very healthy with the spinach etc.

      Reply
  7. tiny lessons blog

    Looks delicious! I grew up with crepes but I have never tried them with spinach. Next time! I’m sure I’ll become *roly poly* as well 🙂 But I’ve tried moose roast…it’s delicious with mashed potatoes, gravy and lingonberries.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I haven’t tried lingonberries yet but I am sure I would love them and they would be delicious with a roast. I suppose moose would be a bit like our NZ venison which I like in small amounts.

      Reply
      1. tiny lessons blog

        Yes, moose is probably very similar. I’ve only had it twice in my life when I happened to be at my dad’s during the hunting season and a hunting company had killed one in our woods. We have never been hunters, but it’s a courteous tradition by hunters there to give a roast of 3-4 kg to the land owner. This year my dad got such a roast but it was after I had visited in the fall.

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Her blog is awesome; always beautiful photos and beautiful recipes. Do try the recipe. You may want to make a smaller quantity although I think the crepes would freeze well if you couldn’t eat them all at once.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes it is a good way to eat spinach. I like spinach when it is mixed up with other ingredients, crepes, quiches, souffles etc I use a lot of frozen spinach; easy to keep and easy to cook

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I am so used to thinking of crepes as something sweet that I completely forgot about their use as a savoury item till I saw Laila’s recipe.

  8. utesmile

    What an idea, spinach crepes, I love it, I love spinach, I will have to try this. But then on your plate it looks so perfect, I should just pop over and try it from you! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It was hard to make a perfectly shaped crepe (and I didn’t always succeed) but I don’t think it really matters. I would be happy to make some for you. Wow, you are getting so many reasons to come and see me 🙂

      Reply
        1. utesmile

          Now that is an idea…. need to find a millionnaire first to finance it… let’s start…. George Clooney apparently is free again….things are looking up already! 🙂

  9. tableofcolors

    You are too kind! Thank you so much for the beautiful post, so glad they have become a favorite…our kids always jump for joy if I say that we will be having spinach crepes for supper.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I join your kids in jumping for joy. My husband too. If you have time to click on the link for roly poly you will see that I have included an animated version of a children’s rhyme that I grew up with. Perhaps you know it? I thought the green frog might amuse your children. I think ‘gammon and spinach’ is an expression that means nonsense.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          The recipe can be found if you click on the underlined word blackout. Blackout is the name of the post that contains the recipe. I didn’t really make that very clear in my post. My apologies. My brain must have been having a ‘blackout’ moment.

  10. vsperry

    We are in the tomato doldrums where to see a tomato like that (my mouth is watering) costs an arm and a leg. This combo looks soooo yummy but I might be tempted to put some goat cheese in it instead of sour cream. Note to self…don’t look at Gallivanta’s food posts right before bedtime. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Goat cheese would be a yummy addition. Well, before you go to bed, you could always leave a wee note asking your ‘beloved’ to check out the recipe for spinach crepes because you would like some for breakfast. Yes, we are going in to our happy tomato season. Not all that cheap yet but they will be.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

