Perfectly Lovely and Blessings Two

I have had a fragmented sort of day. I don’t know why; a case of general Monday-itis, or, perhaps, a failure to concentrate on the task at hand; or, more disturbingly,  not  being quite sure what the task at hand should be. Whatever the case, I feel that, if I had been sensible enough to write a to-do list, I would have completed precisely minus one on the list.

Mmmm, that’s a bit harsh…..I did fill the flower vases, afresh,  which is a fine occupation for a Monday morning. I was particularly pleased that, today, there was enough in the garden  to bless two vases with their first flowers in my home. Both vases have had former lives  and came  to me when flowers were not so plentiful. This day  was their day to experience their true calling 🙂

First Blessing : this  striped vase was found by a friend in a half price sale at a St Vincent de Paul thrift store. She thought it would be a cheerful addition to my house and so it is.

Roses and Ivy, Heucher and Parsley

Roses and Ivy, Heuchera and Parsley

Second blessing: this  vase is the large Royal Doulton bowl, which I featured in an earlier  post . It was given to me by my uncle and used to belong to my grandmother.

Peruvian Lily and Portuguese Laurel

Peruvian Lily and Portuguese Laurel

I filled the bowl with Portuguese Laurel and Peruvian Lilies. Portuguese Laurel is properly known as  Prunus Lusitanica

Peruvian Lily is the common name for Alstroemeria

Quite fun to realise that I had, unintentionally, combined flowers with the same first letters. Perfectly lovely…….even if the bugs have been finding the Alstroemeria perfectly lovely too 🙂

© silkannthreades

72 thoughts on “Perfectly Lovely and Blessings Two

  1. angesco

    I’m guessing the friend who provided the striped vase might have been ma soeur? And how lovely you have a Royal Doulton vase too – so do we and it was grandmother’s too. That and a large and small bowl are my most loved ‘inherited’ belongings. My mother gave them to me quite some years before she died – I think alarmed at growing numbers of grandchildren and their quite precarious place on a delicate oval side table! Is the flower that’s visible in the RD vase the Peruvian Lily or the Portuguese Laurel? I like it a lot and buy it here but have never known what it’s called. A x

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Indeed it was your soeur 🙂 What pattern is your Doulton? I am quite terrified by the responsibility of looking after this huge bowl; it is secured with anti-slip matting! But it is so old and precious…… The flower you can see in the RD is the Peruvian Lily. The Portuguese Laurel hasn’t yet given me flowers.. I wish it would, but I think we must prune it too often. Apparently NZ exports Peruvian Lilies; but probably not to Australia….http://www.nzflowers.com/products_detail.asp?id=3 Excellent comment by the way 😉 Thanks x

      Reply
  2. Clanmother

    Amazing what one finds in unusual, out-of-the-way places. Have you taken a flower arranging course?. Your arrangements are delicately dramatic. And I like the red glass in your first photo!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I haven’t taken a flower arranging course but I love watching florists at work if I get a chance to. You will be happy to know that the red glass is there for no other reason than it is red and glassy and catches the sunlight 😀

      Reply
  3. Juliet

    Filling the vases: what a delightful ritual this is. I’ve been doing it too, filling every vase i can find as the flowers are so abundant at present.

    Reply
  4. ordinarygood

    I see that ChCh had a strong earthquake last night. I hope your tea pot and cups survived that rattle? Oh and your vases of flowers, which are lovely.
    I like Peruvian Lilies – much easier to say:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I agree; easier to say and spell! And, yes, they survived but everything sure rattled. Little Jack took off like a rocket to his safe seat on the sofa 🙂

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        I was checking to see if you were a Brit Com watcher. Royal Doulton with the hand painted periwinkles is an infamous line from a British Comedy called, Keeping Up Appearances. A show about a lady who works hard to convince everyone she is important and having Royal Doultan china with the hand painted periwinkles is one her assurances that she is somebody…at least in her own mind. 🙂

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oh LOL. Just shows how long it is since I watched that series. Hyacinth was hilarious but I don’t remember a thing about the china; silly me!

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      A friend of mine says it’s not Monday that’s the problem but the full moon! I wonder? But you are right to point out that I did post a post and that was an achievement. I was in such a dither yesterday I seriously considered dropping WordPress from my to do list for a few weeks.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks for your encouragement. I think the problem is that, over the weekend, we dream up all sorts of things to do on Monday; a quite unrealistic list and then come Monday we find that our”things to do” simply won’t fit into the normal weekday routine. We sabotage ourselves with our reckless big ideas of what we can actually accomplish….or, at least I do 🙂

      Reply
  5. Heather in Arles

    Oooh, this was perfect for a very dreary Monday in the Northern Hemisphere! I know very well that each year Arles dives from Summer-ish straight into Winter but it still makes me pouty when it happens. So thank you for the sun!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Happy to share! My house has ridiculously large windows which allow for fabulous warmth and light when the sun shines, but when we get some of your pouty-type weather, it then becomes super hard to hide from the gloom. Like most of NZ’s modern housing, my house is badly designed!!!!!! Our housing stock always seems to be built to a vision of how we think the weather ought to be, not how it actually is.

      Reply
  6. vsperry

    I had alstroemeria in my bouquet at my “wedding”. Yes, I use quotes because it was really our fifth anniversary party, but since we eloped, we treated it as our wedding, family and friends, vows, cake, photographer…and flowers! The whole nine yards.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh you are fun! You eloped and then had a ‘wedding’ on your fifth anniversary. Fabulous. Were the alstroemeria white or cream or eye-popping pink? They are very good as a cut flower because they last well.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Indeed, something different. The creamy, yellow ones in my garden are supposed to be a dwarf variety. If true, I wouldn’t want to deal with a standard size.

  7. jaggh53163

    Gallivanta – I think you had a very productive Monday – the results are stunning – and can anyone say that about a particular day? You’re ahead of the game !!!

    Reply
  8. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    Beautiful bright sunshine and flowers in your house! So delightful! Such a great way to start the week!

    We had a terrible blizzard here on Saturday, with lots of blowing snow, and the forecast for the week is for cold and more snow. I think I may just buy a bouquet of flowers to cheer me up…. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Tracy Rhynas

    The gifts from your garden are, as always, beautiful. But that Royal Doulton bowl and the accompanying teapot – they are gorgeous!!! If I had the room, I would love to collect teapots – you have a fine piece there!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I have a few precious teapots; most of them tucked away in earthquake proof places (hopefully, earthquake proof). Which is sad because I really like to look at them and use them. If I had more room I would have teapots by the dozens. I love them. And teacups.

      Reply
      1. Tracy Rhynas

        What a shame that you have to hide your teapots away, even if it is for their own safety. I also do teacups too – I think half my Etsy favourites are cups and saucers!! Funny thing is, I don’t really drink tea (I know, very un-English of me). Is the threat of another earthquake ever present?

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I used to drink a lot of tea but not so much anymore. The tea I drink the most now is Rooiboos. (Bush tea?) . I think we are still in a mental state where we think we have to be prepared for earthquakes at any time. The hyper vigilance will ease with time. And then the teapots will have their day in the sunshine again 😀

        2. Tracy Rhynas

          Rooibos (red bush) tea is great, its the only tea I drink – with a dash of lemon or honey most times. It must be quite exhausting to live with that expectation permanently in the back, or front, of your mind. Here’s hoping the pots don’t stay in the dark for too much longer!!

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          Ooooooh… I haven’t tried rooibos with honey or lemon; sounds very refreshing. Maybe I will make a pot of rooibos today instead my usual bag in a cup.

  10. YellowCable

    The vases, flowers and the arrangement of them are lovely. They should give you a fresh week beginning (assuming Monday is the day). I am now wondering how often of this task is.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, a fresh start to the week 🙂 I don’t do the flowers on a regular basis. I do them when I am in the mood and, more importantly, when there is something to pick in the garden! I would love to have fresh flowers in every room, every day….something to dream about!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you! Are they holly berries that you see? I read that my Portuguese Laurel is supposed to have lovely berries and white flowers; I have had my hedge for about 5 years now and not a berry or flower have I seen 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

