Flower arranging for our mutual benefit

The other day, after spending some time in the garden enjoying the   bee chorus and the blue, spring flowers, I felt inspired to refill my vases. My little flower containers have been empty and neglected in recent weeks, through lack of time and inspiration, but when the  bees sang their songs, and the flowers  waved and swayed and entranced my senses, my hands and heart were set in motion; picking  and sorting, and putting a stem here and turning another there, until every bloom and piece of foliage ‘felt’ right to my own peculiar sensibilities; my own perception, and understanding, of  how each  precious creation should be honoured.

And this is what came about:

first this;

Geranium and Hebe

Geranium and Hebe

then this;

Rose, Ivy and Hebe

Rose, Ivy and Hebe

and, finally, this.

Heuchera, Hebe  and Catmint

Heuchera, Hebe and Catmint

Then, with the vases set before me, I sat for a while and enjoyed delightful moments of ‘squee’ at the incredible, intricate gorgeousness of the petals  and leaves. And, THAT, if we are to believe (and I do)   The Botany of Desire , by Michael Pollan, is most likely what the flowers and plants want me to do; squee!!! These flowers, this foliage, are designed, and created, to appeal to the same nurturing part of every individual  that makes us love puppies and kittens and babies, and, maybe, bees with their sweet, good honey. Something in the plant’s genetic code  reaches out to ours, and, if we are willing and open to persuasion, it allows us to work together  on a beautiful, mutually beneficial arrangement.  For, in this modern age, our lives are impossible, one without the other. Or, so I believe 🙂

© silkannthreades

70 thoughts on “Flower arranging for our mutual benefit

  1. Pingback: All the parts of the whole picture | silkannthreades

  2. ordinarygood

    Thank you for the lovely post and a real reminder for me to stop and smell the roses/flowers. It has been hectic here, one way and another. We had a day of summer weather yesterday and lots of flowers appeared. So the next fine day (wet, windy and chilly here today ……again) I will go and smell the flowers and allow their images to come to me and my camera in a gentle fashion.
    I talk to my plants as I believe that helps both parties!!!:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It has been hectic here today with my son deciding that it was possible to do a final exam, clear out his flat, get a WOF for the car and catch a plane to Auckland….in less than 10 hours. Well, of course, he could and did, but my house is now littered with flat contents….quick ,I need those flowers again. And I do believe we have mutually beneficial conversations with our plants and our birds 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Even the smallest bunch of flowers makes a huge difference. Do you remember the time when recipe books always had a section on ‘invalid care’? One of my old books says this ” When serving food to Invalids, remember to: set the tray daintily; use the most attractive china and linen; use a flower or small posy on the tray…..” Those helpful hints always make me smile! And apply not only to invalids, in my opinion. And, if I can’t find flowers, bowls of fresh fruit lift the spirits too 🙂

      Reply
  3. Tracy Rhynas

    I love the thought that plants and flowers want us to ‘squee’ at them. Fresh flowers in the home is so uplifting – your bouquets are beautiful. I get a lot of my jewellery inspiration from flowers.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And you must have a lot of beautiful flowers around to inspire you. I have just looked at the website for your Botanic Gardens which apparently have a beautiful rose garden, and then on your Parks website it says this “With more than 10-million trees, the City of Johannesburg looks like a rain forest on satellite pictures. There are more than 4-million in private gardens through the city’s suburbs and about 2,5-million trees in parks, cemeteries, nature reserves, conservation areas, roadsides and on the city’s pavements.” I think the squee factor must be at work in your city to have so many trees etc; as you told me before, Jo’burg is supposed to be one of the greenest cities in the world.

      Reply
      1. Tracy Rhynas

        In my little garden, my Strelitzia’s are my favourite flower. I haven’t been to the Botanical Gardens in a while – there is one here in Joburg, and another in Cape Town – time for a visit soon I think. It is quite heartening that as urbanisation increases tree planting schemes are trying to keep the equation in balance. In our little area alone they have probably planted about 300 saplings in the last few years. Hopefully the squee factor will keep going strong!!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          The Strelitzias are striking 🙂 And 300 saplings is a magnificent effort. A few years ago the Council planted Scarlet Pin Oaks in our street. They are growing quite well but I think I would have preferred a smaller tree right against my fence line!

  4. KerryCan

    This is great! I love, LOVE, that book by Pollan–it changed my way of seeing the world, literally. And your arrangements and photos help make his point so well. Plus, of course, anything about flowers is welcome here, now that ours are gone for the year!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It changed my views too! Have you seen the documentary done by PBS? I have seen a link to it on Youtube but haven’t actually watched all of it. I wonder if it helps or messes with the flower world to show flowers all the time. Perhaps the idea of autumn and winter is to make us to feel even more in love with flowers when they reappear? If only I could hear what the plants are saying 😉

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I was so pleased to find a use for the bulbous (lovely word) container. I have a few of them in different colours. They used to contain fragrance. I think I will have fun with them this summer, as more flowers come in the garden 🙂

      Reply
  5. Mrs. P

    Beautiful arrangements…I especially like the Heuchera, Hebe and Catmint. It has very nice contrasting colors and textures. 🙂

    Reply
  6. YellowCable

    Those flowers and foliage are lovely and so your arrangements of them in the vase. I like the “finally, this”.

    Thank you for the link to “The Botany of Desire”. That is an interesting study. I think plants and us are friends with benefits 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      As I am sure we all are, if we allow ourselves to be. Imagine how wonderful the world would be, if we all took even a minute a day to release our inner artist 🙂

      Reply
  7. Travelling Kiwi

    I know what you mean about the Botany of Desire – beautiful flowers beautifully arranged are very soothing to the spirit. Your arrangements soothe my spirit beautifully.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am so pleased to hear it. Weren’t we lucky to grow up surrounded by beautiful tropical flowers? And to know that it was okay to put a flower in your hair 🙂 just because.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I wouldn’t get a job as a florist but I have fun in my own way! I am sure I could replace the heuchera with parsley! In fact, you may have given me an idea about how to fill a very big flower container that I have!

      Reply
        1. pleisbilongtumi

          My dear friend, I really need your help. Does my blog display properly as usual? I think I click wrong thing that caused I can not see the image on my dashboard. Please let me know. Thank you.

        2. pleisbilongtumi

          No, have not post new thing yet. That is OK. The problem is in my dashboard. I will find out and ask the support what is going on. Thanks a lot for your report. I am sorry for bothering you. Have a nice rest

Leave a Reply

