Despond and a piece of humble pie

The other night, when I was putting the house to bed, (locking the doors, closing the windows, turning off lights, drawing the curtains), the curtain, plus rail, in the living room came galumphing down and nearly took out my shoulder. After a few  of these  #@!%@#*! , I galumphed in to a chair myself and thought, “Well, that just about sums up my week; broken and broke!”  And I went from being in a funk to floundering in the  Slough of Despond.

This miry Slough is such a place as cannot be mended; it is the descent whither the scum and filth that attends conviction for sin doth continually run, and therefore is it called the Slough of Despond: for still as the sinner is awakened about his lost condition, there ariseth in his soul many fears, and doubts, and discouraging apprehensions, which all of them get together, and settle in this place; and this is the reason of the badness of this ground.’

Isn’t that such a great description of despondency?  It made me feel better just by reading it and wallowing, for a while, in its awful miry  scumminess.

Most of my funk came from the outcome of 4 month-long pension review/battle with  our government pension department. It’s too vexing and complicated to explain in this post but, basically, the outcome was not in our favour. As a result, our pension income is, now, several thousands of dollars  lower per annum than we expected it to be. The review results were delivered, this week, in a pleasant letter, and came with the offer of taking the matter through to further reviews and committees; and was signed, yours sincerely, ( by a sincere young man whom I have come to know well, mostly through an exchange of  very annoyed letters on my part 😦 )

Yes, well, harumph and grump; I am not entirely sure I can be bothered with continuing my pension crusade. Whilst all this was going on, Vickie Lester at  Beguiling Hollywood   posted this quote, from Franklin D Roosevelt, which entirely suited my mood

Let us not be afraid to help each other—let us never forget that government is ourselves and not an alien power over us. The ultimate rulers of our democracy are not a President and Senators and Congressmen and Government officials but the voters of this country.

She was, of course, using the quote in relation to the shutdown of the US Government but, in my dealings with Government bureaucracies and officials and official forms, over the years, I have often felt that there is a complete lack of understanding by Government, (and its officials) , of its purpose and role; that is, it is OUR service and its workers are OUR servants whom we ask to use OUR money wisely and for OUR benefit. Democratic governments were never intended to be our rulers, our disempowerers,  forever telling us what to do, and not to do, and which part of form WXB para. 8 c, sub-clause 24  we forgot to complete or completed incorrectly, and, and, and………….oh, and, by the way, does anyone remember when they last received a letter from a Government official signed, ” Your most humble and obedient servant.” ?

Thought not! That practice went out the window a long time ago. The Queen is about the only one who still remembers to use those words 🙂

Well, rant, rant……enough of it. To cheer myself, I made, and ate, my humble pie, otherwise known as  Crostata. The recipe I use is based on thisone  by Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa.

I am relatively new to the art of Crostata-making but I love its easy, rustic free-form style. And it is very forgiving of mistakes and carelessness. My Crostata, this week, had a filling of rhubarb and apple, spiced with orange peel and ginger.  I used up some pastry I had leftover from a potato pie I had made earlier in the week .  Until quite recently,  I was afraid of pastry making, worried that it was too complicated for my culinary  skill levels. But, in a moment of epiphany one fine day, it occurred to me that pies were once the most commonplace of foods and, therefore, should be as easy as pie to make. And so they are;  with the help of a kitchen whizz,  a good helping of nonchalance, and a light touch with the rolling-pin and a good hot oven.

Free-Form Pie

Free-Form Pie; rough as….

Perhaps it’s not the best looking pie you’ve ever seen but it tasted absolutely delicious.

And to cheer myself even more, I challenged myself to make a sound recording. It’s as rough and ready as my Crostata but, hey, I did it.  🙂 Perhaps there’s still a little filling left in the old girl yet!

© silkannthreades

120 thoughts on “Despond and a piece of humble pie

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving from afar | silkannthreades

  2. cindy knoke

    Curses, curses, curses ( I don’t swear) on the WP reader! I had to go and find you and I am incompetent at this and look what I missed!! When oh when, can I ever come to tea?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      WP reader does get muddled sometimes! But I am glad you found me. Did you follow your nose? When I am cooking, most of our side of the street know what is for dinner. The kitchen ventilation exits on to our driveway and then the scents waft down the road!!!! I am sure you will be here for tea one day 🙂

      Reply
  3. daniellajoe

    I am happy you kept a piece of pie for me 🙂 and I love how it looks very delicious and “real” looking lol
    Sorry about the pension I hope they can reconsider soon, you earned it…

    Reply
  4. teamgloria

    Oh.

    Oh.

    Missed this one. Just got into Mr. Leonard Cohen poet of broken hearts and lost souls on the one above and saw mention of a Slough of Despond and came looking……

    Oh.

    We truly sympathize with every Official receipt of a Letter that brings sadness. That is awful.

    We are putting on the kettle and warming up the pot and placing the nice cups on the tray and bringing it through to where you sit by the fire. Sometimes the nicest thing to do in the world is sit and drink tea and offer solace.

    Even if it’s virtual.

    Hugs.

    -tg xxxx

    ps: don’t they know you have a seriously influential international blog and might be linking up with other people across the globe in the same situation to bring light on the matter of pensions?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, I especially love nice cups on a tray; even virtual ones. Some of my most important daily decisions revolve around which nice cup I will use for my coffee or tea or hot cocoa 🙂
      And your postscript has me doing one of your *tg* sideways glances! Do you think our GCSB (Government Communications Security Bureau aka spies) has noticed an upsurge in traffic from this address? Help 🙂 Shall I invite them to tea and polite conversation?

      Reply
  5. Heather in Arles

    Oh my goodness, I usually like to read all of the comments here as you are in contact with such interesting people but this time…I gave up! But I did not give up on hearing your voice even though I saw this a few days ago–alas that was on my wonky old laptop and so I put it aside and presto! May I say that you have an absolutely lovely voice? You really do. It doesn’t surprise me in the least as I feel that the voice is another window to the soul. But coming from this former theatre actress–bravo!!
    And the pie? Made me very hungry. I am not a baker (and thank goodness, can you imagine? Dessert on top of all of the French cheeses I eat???) but that is exactly the kind of rustic apple goodness that I adore.
    Bisous and hope you are starting to feel better. We have also had a very stressful week, well, several weeks actually so I understand.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, dear Heather….the comments went on over-drive for this post. No wonder you gave up 🙂 I do so enjoy the virtual conversations though. You are lovely to compliment me on my voice. I hadn’t thought of the voice as a window to the soul but, in many ways, it is a much clearer window than the eyes. I have not done theatre or voice training but perhaps a very little of the family interest in drama/singing has brushed me ever so slightly. My daughter sings, beautifully, my nephew is a professional actor (and singer) and my brother is a brilliant amateur actor and wonderful high school drama teacher. They have gifts 🙂
      As for French cheese! I am thinking I would have enjoyed some with my rustic pie……
      Let’s hope we all have better times, filled with good cheese, and rustic pie and lovely people and happy dogs and beautiful music.

      Reply
      1. Heather in Arles

        Oh that is a lovely wish–one too wonderful not to send back to you full force!
        And yes, back to the voice–the eyes can lie but the voice? Rarely. I am so frustrated with American movies here in France because they are always overdubbed in French! I don’t want to hear the French version of an actor but the original…

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          ARRRGHHH to dubbing. I much prefer sub-titles. A while ago I tried to watch a programme on Maori Television. It was a Chinese(?) production of Monkey Legend; the Asian actors were dubbed in Maori and there were English sub-titles but my ears and eyes couldn’t handle all the strange auditory and visual combinations. I gave up watching.

  6. Pingback: Light in the Dark | silkannthreades

  7. Clanmother

    I am so proud of you!!! You are on Soundcloud and you made your own recording. You have inspired me! As for the humble pie – I’ll eat it anytime, anyplace, for any reason!! Looks delicious.

    As for the Slough of Despond – my favourite Pilgrims Progress character (if that is the appropriate word) was the Giant Despair, who was the owner of Doubting Castle where Christian was imprisoned. I had a couple of sleepless night over that incident until I read that Great-Heart took care of him…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So Wise Clanmother, would this be the origin of the expression ‘dungeon of despair’? I am off to check you on Soundcloud! Be back soon to serve you Pie.

      Reply
  8. Sheryl

    The crostata looks delicious. I really like rhubarb, and will need to try to remember to come back to this recipe next year when it’s spring in the US.

    Reply
  9. mmmarzipan

    Your crostata looks absolutely delicious! I love a rustic apple pie… and rhubarb, orange and ginger would make a pie sing.
    So sorry you are dealing with those pension issues. I truly hope you are able to resolve them somehow… easily and quickly. All the best to you xx

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your good wishes. I am not a fighter by nature so, perhaps, I should look on this pension business as an opportunity to improve my sticking-up-for-myself skills.

      I like the idea of a pie that sings.

      Reply
  10. Forest So Green

    By now, I suppose the pie is completely gone, it does looks delicious, I hope your week is starting on a high note 🙂 Annie

    Reply
  11. KerryCan

    I hope you’re keeping the despond at bay–sometimes a few days can make a difference. I know pie always makes me feel better and I’m going to be very brave and try making one myself. I’ll use your recipe and remember that it should be “as easy as pie”–thanks!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      A few days does make a difference. Do try the pie. I expect with chocolate making you have to be precise and meticulous. Is that right? Pie is a much more relaxed affair; well, that is my ‘humble pie’ opinion.

      Reply
  12. lizzierosejewellery

    Lovely to hear your very clear voice although I had to put my headphones on to listen to your recording (I have a very small laptop with small everything on it, even sound)! You know rhubarb is my favourite – was it freshly picked or did you freeze some for such occasions? That looks an easy pie, maybe even I can do it. I daren’t ask if your curtains are back up?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You did well to hear my recording at all. It did have volume problems! The rhubarb was fresh from a friend’s garden, so was very very lovely. The pie is easy and you can make it rustic like your home-made pizza 😉 Curtains are still grounded 😦 Just as well I had the windows cleaned a week or so ago because I now have an awful lot of bare window to look at/through.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I really only have the curtains to keep out the cold, otherwise I would be happy to live without them. And the window cleaning is a bit like the ironing in this house; only done as an act of desperation!

  13. pleisbilongtumi

    I have re-follow you. In fact I have missed some of your post which was not appeared in my inbox recently. this post is perfect with my experience in facing the government officials and dealing with bureaucracies. I have taken the piece of pie for me. Thank you 😀 .

    Reply
  14. Pride in Photos Photography

    Humble pie huh….don’t ever feel like you need to apologize for expressing your feelings here. This is YOUR blog and you can do whatever you want….We all have our bad days and you are entitled to have yours. Sorry to hear this about your pension…very sad.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah yes, that we do; all have our bad days. The saying goes that a problem shared is a problem halved, so I reckon by sharing with all my lovely readers I must have reduced this problem to its rightful size 🙂 What do you think about that?

      Reply
  15. gpcox

    I remember one time being so angry about a boss and had such an awful day, that like you, I wrote each event down. After reading it back, It sounded like a skit out of the Keystone Kops! I laughed so hard the exasperation and despondency were gone. (wish I had had a piece of that well-stuffed pie)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Now you are making me think of Charlie Chaplin or our very English Mr Bean and all their hilarious antics. So many situations have a wonderful funny side to them if we stop and think about it. I am sure I looked very funny gawping at the broken curtain rail! And I do not normally swear, so that would have been funny if it had been recorded!

      Reply
  16. ordinarygood

    Does the Slough of Despond behave in a tidal manner I wonder. It seems to ebb and flow in my life these days almost on a daily basis….but there is pie and today delicious lemon cake out with a friend for lunch and I could taste every morsel:-))
    I loved your recording. You have a wonderful read-aloud voice. I can picture you reading to your children when they were little….wonderful rhythm and inflection. Did you enjoy listening to radio programmes and records when you were growing up? It was such a part of my childhood. I adore listening to stories on the radio. My brain is such an auditory processor.
    Perhaps you could record the recipes and any story behind them onto the Sound Cloud!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Now you mention it, the Slough of Despond is tidal! Very tidal; thank you for pointing that out 🙂 And tides go according to the moon, and one of my good friends says everything is always ‘madness’ around full moon time! Why do I always forget this wisdom 🙂 ?
      Glad you could taste the lemon cake. I was going to suggest you try some lemon/citric flavours to revitalise your taste buds. I don’t know why, but I thought they might help.
      I loved listening to the radio and records when I was younger, and I still do listen to the radio a great deal. National Radio is my favourite station 🙂 Glad you liked my voice. It’s always strange to listen to one’s own voice; never quite sure what to make of it. Thanks for your lovely email. I will answer shortly. We have a lot in common, that’s for sure.

      Reply
      1. ordinarygood

        Jazz is very tuned into the full moon so we know why he is a bit more unsettled than normal. I will try lemon in hot water with some cider vinegar to try and pep up the missing taste buds…..thanks for your thought on my behalf.
        It is strange to hear our own recorded voice. I get startled every time I hear my answerphone voice message! I think your could work on the radio! Radio NZ is great, my fav too!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Just after I finished university I had an interview for a radio presenter’s job. I didn’t get the job, obviously, but it was because they didn’t think I would be able to handle the technical side of the work . Funny to think about that now! I am still a little technically challenged. Oh, and thinking about the moon and frisky creatures; we have a visiting hedgehog already. It is having such feasts in the garden. Do you know how your wee rescue hedgehog is doing?

        2. ordinarygood

          I need to check on the whereabouts of Isra. Jaqui had hoped to release her back here but they regularly bait areas near our home which is not good news for hedgehogs. It means my garden and surrounds are full of birds.

        3. ordinarygood

          We have busy areas very close by and ‘hogs walk kms a night evidently so Isra could easily toddle down to the baited area. I worry about dogs but the signs are clear to people.

        4. Gallivanta Post author

          Such a pity that we need to bait possums. Someone should start a fashion for eating possum. Make possum pie the national pie of New Zealand, maybe! And give every child in the country possum merino socks?

        5. ordinarygood

          You are correct about a possum industry across different avenues. I think the labour intensive nature of trapping and then hand plucking the fur for yarn makes it uneconomic…..
          Do you have a possum pie recipe….Nurse Maude may have the inside info on the nutritional value of the critters:-)

        6. Gallivanta Post author

          No possum pie recipes but I bet my grandmother or great mother would have known how to cook possum. Nurse Maude has recipes for Roast Rabbit, Poor Man’s Goose (using sheep’s fry) and Potted Meat aka Trembling Bob!

        7. ordinarygood

          Trembling Bob! Now that piques my interest. I have a WDFF cookbook that includes “Jugged Hare” and more!
          And my mother’s Tui’s 3rd Cookbook with some interesting “treats”…..
          They do interesting possum dishes at the Wild Food Festival on the West Coast of Te Waipounamu….lovely name for your Island.

        8. Gallivanta Post author

          Trembling Bob contains pig cheeks, I think. The Wild Food Festival sounds like a lot of fun, though I have yet to go. I can imagine Tui’s cookbook has some interesting recipes 🙂 And, yes, isn’t Te Waipounamu lovely? I saw your comment on Ruth’s Reflections that you addressed your letter to Te Ika-a- Maui. I must remember to follow your example.

        9. ordinarygood

          Hmmm Pig’s cheeks- I might give that one a miss but the name is great- I have visions of a jelly like dish.
          I did put Hamilton and then Te Ika-a-Maui on the envelope as it was an insurance claim and I needed it to find its destination:-)

  17. The Tablescaper

    This sounds so wonderful, particularly on these autumn days.

    I host a weekly link party called “Seasonal Sundays”. It’s about all things seasonal and I’d love to have you link. The link goes up Saturday evenings at 7 pm EST.

    – The Tablescaper

    Reply
  18. Tracy Lee Karner

    I can imagine some day, some erudite lover of words wondering where that phrase that everyone uses comes from… you know, the one that goes, “when it the slough of despond, bake a crostata.” And the answer will be–Gallavanta first recommended that one might be released from the slough of despond by backing a crostata (pie) in 2013…

    Lovely post. I’m glad we found each other!

    Reply
  19. utesmile

    I am so with you at the moment. I feel the same, totally the same, and I haven’t done such a lovely pie, I am cherishing yours. Having 2 days of solid DIY, I am completely pooped and tomorrow is Monday so back to work, I think I shall rest there. It is rather annoying when you cut a wire and it was the telephone wire…. then put this new chest of drawers together and notice at the end that I have put the runner of the 5 drawers in the wrong way round. Did lay the carpet well though. There is always a silver lining
    All fixed now…. I think I should leave DIY to the professionals … and I still have to put a bunkbed together..oh dear.
    So I shall look at your beautiful pie again and enjoy the taste in my mind.
    There will be always another day , a better day !

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      What a brave DIY-er you are! You put down your own carpet as well. Impressive! I should send you a dozen pies as a reward for your efforts. My curtain rail is still hanging 😦 I should try more DIY.

      Reply
      1. utesmile

        I love your pies! Thank you! I think when I do DIY I shall always think of your pie as a reward. That should make it easier! 🙂
        Your curtainrail will be still up, have faith in yourself!

        Reply
  20. greenlightlady

    Wow! You are a spunky lady. I admire that you rose from the ‘slough of despond’, made a pie, and even a pie-related audio recording (lovely). How is your shoulder? I appreciated your reference to ‘Pilgrim’s Progress’ and I’m thinking that at times life does, indeed, hand us pills that are grim… but you seem to have progressed in spite of the bitter after taste by having your pie and eating it too. Good on you!

    It is disheartening to hear of so many retired people having their pensions reduced unexpectedly – it has also happened to relatives of ours. Best wishes on your pursuit of fairness.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you for your blessings and good wishes Wendy. My shoulder has survived 🙂 I think I may still have a couple of toes in the Slough of Despond but I am sure they will wriggle out eventually 🙂

      Reply
  21. tiny lessons blog

    It was so nice to hear your voice! Just make sure to send Slough on his way. He is not good company in the long run. We had a very similar outcome when we tried to find out our future pensions for the service we did for our “old” country up north. Ice water! But when I think about those meager news that we have to live with, I always marvel in the one and only “victory” I’ve even won against the higher earthly powers: almost 60 USD in a health insurance complaint that I took, by myself, through the system up to the highest insurance court in the country…I felt justice had been served for once 🙂 Lastly, the idea of a cook book is a good one. You have so much talent in that department – also. Seriously!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I love your 60$US victory!!!! I also feel it is not so much the amount in question but the justice or injustice of a situation that matters. Thank you so much for your vote of confidence on a cook book 🙂

      Reply
  22. mixedupmeme

    Nothing like a good pie to de-dispond oneself.
    But to think I had to read all your harumph and grump before coming to the good part! I think the recording is wonderful. It sounded great to me. And it added just the right something for the post.
    Expecting a little tune next! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh dear! Sorry to put you through the slough of despond before the good part! I think the little tune will be a long time coming. You may get another voice recording though, without accompanying despond.

      Reply
  23. lagottocattleya

    I think you put exact words on what many people feel about the government and politicians who really are put there by us – the people. In Sweden we are not very good at protesting. If something is wrong we protest between friends and not in the streets to really get something done. The French are good at that. They fill the boulevards with tractors and manure if they are not satisfied.

    Love your pie. Hope you feel better and Have a great Sunday!

    Reply
  24. vsperry

    I am borrowing the slough description, it sounds an awful lot like my brain cloud, yet more poetic and civilized. We had a discussion this morning over pancakes and bacon about government’s role in our lives (yes, prompted by the insanity that is happening in our country). It is a difficult and complex question, unless you are my husband who lives in a black and white world. I’m sorry about your difficulties, I know the feeling of a faceless person (or persons) having control over your well being. Hang in there.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, slough of despond is a truly awesome expression but I still find your brain cloud very evocative. Oh, sometimes, I long to be a black and white thinker; my head might hurt less or should that be my heart?

      Reply
      1. vsperry

        I agree, sometimes I wish I were a pig farmer without the capacity for deep introspection. But I don’t wish it for very long. I think life would be too boring.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Life would be boring without introspection. Do you think pigs might be introspective?. They certainly wallow in slough …but they seem to enjoy it. Is there a message there? Sorry, just being silly 🙂

  25. Mrs. P

    I am so happy that you feel comfortable enough to share your rant with some friends! Yo can bend my ear any time. 🙂 And that humble pied looks delicious!!!

    Reply
  26. YellowCable

    I am sorry to hear how this week went with you. I completely can understand your frustration with it (I am not sure that I used the right word. Please forgive me). I hope you had your curtain rail fixed. I do not like things broken down. For some reason that is always get to me.

    US Gov shutdown depressed me a bit. I do not understand all of it … who started and what are the based of the fight. But it seems (IMO only) that they do not look overall benefit of we “People”. I think I should stop here.

    Your humble pie looks delicious. The rhubarb and apple, spiced with orange peel and ginger bring out nice colors of the filling. Glad to hear you feel better. Thank you for the piece that say “for you” 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My curtain rail may be fixed next week. It is an old one, so it is hard to get the spare parts to repair it. I think almost every one in the world was puzzled by the US Govt shutdown. I suppose the history books will explain it one day. In the meantime, I am glad you enjoyed the pie ‘for you” 🙂

      Reply
  27. Joanne Jamis Cain

    Well, everyone is still sleeping here so I’m not going to listen to the sound recording just yet! But the pie looks delicious and I “Pinned” the recipe to my Dessert Board on Pinterest (are you on Pinterest?) so I can try it one of these days.
    I am sorry for your government woes and hope for the best. Perhaps some catastrophic event will occur and they will change their minds. You never know 😉
    Blessings for a happy day…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I am on Pinterest but I keep forgetting to go there. Next time I am on, I will look out for you. The sound on the recording is very low but I agree you are wise not to wake up your family with the sound of my voice!!! They might think Halloween has arrived early 😉 Thank you for your blessings; my day looks all the brighter for them.

      Reply
  28. kiwiskan

    I so agree with you about the governance of our country. Democracy is a funny word that doesn’t live up to expectations… Would love a slice of your humble pie, but I guess I will have to make my own – sigh…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I only have virtual pie on offer which makes it a bit lacking; like the servant in the governance. However, it could be worse; like no pie at all 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure you make a wonderful pie. It has been a week of pies. I have made 3. And I still have a little pastry left……perhaps that should go in to the freezer for a while!

      Reply
  29. Marylin Warner

    Your title whipped me back to PILGRIM’S PROGRESS! There’s no phrase that is more emotionally descriptive than “Slough of Despond,” is there? Right on target.
    I’m sorry you’re fighting all these battles, but you will prevail. And if that is humble pie, then please, may I have a piece?
    Excellent post!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, Pilgrim’s Progress it is 🙂 Only this pilgrim’s progress has seemed mostly backwards lately 😦 Pie helps and, yes, there’s a slice for everyone who would like some. It’s the magical blogosphere so there’s no end to the pie I can serve! It’s a cost-effective, economical humble pie, this one.

      Reply
  30. melodylowes

    As soon as I saw your title, I thought to myself – ‘Self, it has been many years since you heard the word ‘despond’. Perhaps not since reading of the Slough of Despond in your childhood…’ I see I was right about your meaning, too! 🙂 I have often mucked about in those troubled waters – not to the betterment of my clothing or mood or outcome, I’m afraid. However, I have found that pie sets most things right sooner or later! I’m sorry to hear about your money troubles. I like your quiet nudge to remember that it isn’t so much ‘us against them’ as it is ‘us IS them’! (Grammar being sacrificed momentarily to make a point…) 😉

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, Yes, the power of Pie! But pie is something we usually sit around and share which is a good thing to remember. I am not usually in Despond but I thought a Slough of Despond was appropriate especially when in the dark of night I nearly got knocked out by a curtain rail!!!!!! The money was an “expectation’ so I suppose this was a lesson in how not to count your chickens before they hatch 🙂 And if I still have bread and pie and a home, life should be good. Right? So shall we send Slough on its way?

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, she is quite right. And we have lots of icy cold water here, especially in winter. I was a little waylaid when making my crostata pastry and it went a bit awry but it still tasted good.That’s why I think it’s a forgiving recipe, or may be I should say a ‘giving’ recipe. It gives pleasure 🙂

      Reply
  31. Travelling Kiwi

    I am sorry for your brief sojourn in the Slough, but glad that you were not stuck in its miry clay. It can be so dispiriting dealing with bureaucrats who hide behind their offices, and appear to have no sense of personal accountability. But I hope that one day soon you will receive an epistle with good news, AND signed ‘your most humble and obedient servant.’ Hope springs eternal…
    I haven’t attempted Crostata, but yours looks delicious. And I loved your sound recording. More, please!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think minor bureaucrats have to hide because they are so imprisoned and controlled by rules and regulations and box ticking themselves. I wouldn’t want their job for all the world. It must be like living in permanent Slough. Hey, maybe I will get a message from the Queen; that would be fun. Crostata is easy and you can pretend it’s very good for you if you use wholemeal pastry and lots of fruit 😉 More recordings may be forthcoming….we will see.

      Reply
  32. Vickie Lester

    Be dogged, pursue further inquiries and reviews – it’s sounds exhausting, however, you have a cause, and I do know that when dealing with bureaucracies persistence is key. (Sorry, if I sound like your mom.) In the meantime, ever thought of writing a cookbook? Love your voice. Hugs, V

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, persistence is the key but ……I need more fortifying pie, methinks. 😉 But thanks for the encouragement. A cookbook? Well…. I do like food! And my voice would have been much clearer if my son hadn’t broken my good microphone. It was fun to do a recording, all the same .

      Reply

Leave a Reply

