Hodgepodge

I am in a disorderly, unruly mood today, for no reason, except ‘just because’. And ‘just because’ that is so, I have decided my post is going to  be a hodgepodge; a veritable stew of unrelated subjects; a mingle-mangle, a gallimaufrey, an omnium-gatherum and a farrago, as well. It may even be a salmagundi too, although I don’t propose adding a recipe for that.  I will, however, tempt you, later, with another food item,  Boarders’ Favourite……..which I am planning to make for supper tonight. 🙂

So let’s begin with my menu of  hotchpotch, in no particular disorder.

From Felicia Dorothea Hemans,  she of ‘the boy stood on the burning deck fame

“For man can show thee nought so fair,
As Nature’s varied marvels there;
And if thy pure and artless breast
Can feel their grandeur, thou art blest!”

These words and photos are  in support of Silvana http://tinasca.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/nature-is-victim-again-yasuni-itt/ who, with friends, is trying to save the Yasuni in Ecuador. The photos, which I have chosen, ( two of which are Japanese  Mon), represent, for me, the unity of life on earth and how our ecosystems are intimately connected, no matter where we live on the planet.

The leaf Mon, also represents my first teeny-tiny attempt at using the paint tools on Gimp. And the amount of hand/eye coordination, and fine motor skill control, that programme required of me,  leaves me in awe of all my followers  who paint and sculpt and craft. You are amazing!

One such sculptor/blogger is Virginia at Muse-ings.     In her latest post she wrote of using the self-timer on her camera, and, immediately, a little light pinged in my head, and I remembered that I, too, have a timer on my camera.  And this is what happened, as a result; an old-fashioned, unruly ‘selfie’….

Unruly and Disorderly

Unruly and Disorderly

and, then, it was such fun using the timer, I tried it again and again. Later, encouraged by Heather in Arles, http://lostinarles.blogspot.co.nz/ I tried to photo edit one of the images, which created much bafflement for me, because, as my daughter says, Gimp requires ‘counter-intuitive’ thinking, of which, it seems,  I have very little. Hey ho….can anyone intuit what I did, or did not do, with my editing? As you can see, I am thinking upon it myself, hand to chin, lost in thought 🙂

Now, as a reward for sampling the hodgepodge menu, here’s some  chocolate deliciousness in

BOARDERS’ FAVOURITE!

Fair Trade Chocolate

Fair Trade Chocolate

and one of my favourite songs from New Zealand’s  own Bic Runga

© silkannthreades

67 thoughts on “Hodgepodge

  1. ordinarygood

    The more I thought about things the more I thought “hodge podge” was an apt description of my life of late. Bits of this and bits of that hence my lack of time and attention in the blogosphere.
    Bic Runga is stunning – I have two of her CDs.
    Your “selfies” and view of your neck and hair offer such a glimpse of your good self not a gimp/gimped to me. And what a number of places in the world you have visited or lived in…..I hope my hodge-podge life moves into a more settled pattern again very soon so I can keep up the regular bloggers I read….you included:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Hodgepodge is a word that is useful for many situations. My life gets very hodgey-podgey too. And it’s a total mish mash if I ever get sick! Glad to know you are a fan of Bic Runga. I particularly like her latest album, and I was playing it again and again, until I was told by a certain young member of the household that he had enough of it and could I please ‘change the record’ !!!

      Reply
  2. silvana1989

    Hello I just came back home, I was participating as speaker in some conferences about Yasuni is good to find place to talk about this. I wanted thank you for your mention in this post. GOd those brownies look delicoius. I should try this recipe.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Do try the recipe! I am impressed that you are also a speaker at conferences now. Well done. I hope you had time to read my earlier post about the conservation/ preservation of the Wollemi Pine. I thought it would be an encouraging story for you 🙂

      Reply
    2. Gallivanta Post author

      Do try the recipe! I am impressed that you are also a speaker at conferences now. Well done. I hope you had time to read my earlier post about the conservation/ preservation of the Wollemi Pine. I thought it would be an encouraging story for you 🙂

      Reply
  3. lagottocattleya

    I tried the wonderful recipe you sent – and we all loved it! Now chocolate is never wrong either… This post is a lovely mix for the whole of me, I believe. The Mon beautiful, the cake, photos and a lovely song too. I love it when there’s only a guitar and song. She’s talented, the young woman.

    You certainly know how to get me into a better mood – I’m having a terrible cold and couldn’t go to work today. Hope your Hodgepodge got you in a better mood too!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Hodgepodge is a good tonic for everything, I suspect! I am pleased the rice bread turned out well. I like that it is not sweet and you can add all sorts of delicious toppings. Perhaps you need some chocolate to chase away the terrible cold; the colds always seem to come a few weeks in to the new school term, don’t they? Rest well. And by the way is there a wonderful Swedish word for hodgepodge?

      Reply
      1. lagottocattleya

        English is a much more versatile language…We have hotchpotch, röra and mishmash. I think I use röra mostly…I like your word more!

        Sunday – if I feel better then – I’ll make some new bread again!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Mmm….well they seem like good words to me. Strangely, in Kathmandu, our children’s ayah (nanny) used to make us a very hot curry and I am sure she called it ‘mish mash’. As if mishmash were a Nepali word…..when I google it, mish mash curry seems to have a connection with the Gurkhas so did we get the word from Nepal or did they get it from us, I wonder? Whatever, mish mash means a hodgepodge 🙂

        2. lagottocattleya

          Have you lived in Nepal? How wonderful! I also heard from Madhu about some other similar words Swedish and Indian dialect. My guess is that as our languages all belong to the indoeuropean tree, they originate from Asia somewhere and wandered up here.

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, I lived in Kathmandu in 1991/2. Loved it. Tracing language and words is fascinating. I think, after a little more investigation, that mish mash may have travelled from the British to the Gurkhas.

        4. Gallivanta Post author

          Indeed it does, and with WordPress everything gets more and more interesting all over again, every single day. My husband was working. I was a ‘trailing spouse’. One day, I will get round to writing more about that 🙂

        5. Gallivanta Post author

          What a wonderful time that must have been. I didn’t ever dream of going there but, sometimes, life just happens and happens very nicely, at that.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So glad you enjoyed it. Keep warm in cold Berlin 🙂 I am sure you will bring us lots of wonderful new ideas from that great city. The only time I was in Berlin it was still divided; so that was a long time ago.

      Reply
  4. Sheryl

    Your hair looks great even when it’s “unruly and disorderly.” Now, it you want to see hair that’s really unruly and disorderly you should see my hair on a humid summer day. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Bic is Great. And, I agree, hodgepodge is fun; like when you are a child and a parent lets you loose in the kitchen to make your own, anything- you-want- to put in it – cake!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ute, I was fixated on the food elements and the photo elements and I didn’t realise, until you told me, that I had provided so much else. Clever you for discovering this 🙂 I feel quite chuffed!

      Reply
  5. Forest So Green

    I love your hodgepodge post. I really like your leaf Mon and I am so impressed that you created them. I see that the first image has bird heads inside the graphic, that is very cool, now to sample your chocolate 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Was the chocolate good? 🙂 Glad you liked the Mon; I only did some editing on them and some paint work and, yes, isn’t it lovely to see the bird heads inside the graphic! I would like to know their original Japanese meaning. They remind me of Celtic/Coptic ever-lasting knots/circles

      Reply
  6. tiny lessons blog

    Loved it! Hodgepodges are good – even better than brownies. It was very nice to see “selfie” as well. What I think you did with your editing was to increase the contrast and the maybe also the brightness of your shot, no?

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Ah, good to know. As I mentioned in another comment, my ability to use some programmes seems to be limited by the age of my laptop and my OS. ( My age may be an issue too :D)

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          I don’t really buy it much either, not really :D. But it does take me a little longer to learn new things than it used to. However, as you say, an old dog can learn new tricks. And enjoy doing so.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Glad you enjoyed Bic Runga. I said she was a New Zealand artist but I forgot to mention that her hometown is Christchurch, so she is our own hometown ‘girl’.

      Reply
  7. Mrs. P

    Unruly? Unkempt? No, no,…my friend…natural and carefree! It’s the glass half full conundrum! I see your clipped hair and I think natural…and as I stared at the two pictures, feeling like a kid again looking at a a “what’s different in these pictures?” test question, I discovered that you cropped a bit of the left side of the picture…I am a crop artist, myself. 🙂

    And to add a distraction to your hodgepodge day…you are my plant guru…have you ever seen, even better…know of this flower? The flower is from a tree? Sorry, a US tree…but the flower is so beautiful, I was hoping to find out it’s name. http://ppazucha.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/indecision-is-fun/#jp-carousel-16541

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Natural, carefree; oh, I like those descriptions. And I am very glad you could see some differences in the photos. I spent so long editing one of them and I really didn’t think it made much difference. I have a lot to learn!
      Yes, I do know the flower. Or, at least, it looks very like one we grew in Fiji and which, I think, was called a Coral Hibiscus. It is very, very pretty. I haven’t seen one for decades 😦 This looks like the wiki reference. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibiscus_schizopetalus Is it in your neighbourhood?

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        I wish! Another blogger friend of mine took a picture of it at a botanical garden. It is so pretty, I asked what the name was but sadly, many of the plant labels were missing. I had a hunch that you would know. 🙂 Thanks!

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am just eating spoonfuls of my dark chocolate pudding right now. It must be morning coffee time for you 🙂 whilst you look out at beautiful autumn colourings.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is a good reason although children never seem to find it an acceptable reason.’Please put away your shoes?’ “Why” ‘Because” “Because why” “Just because” ‘But why”……….fortunately, that is past history in this house! I have had my camera for about 3 or 4 years and this was my first time to use the timer. I suppose I didn’t bother with it because I don’t normally want to take photos of myself.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      😀 but, oh,oh, thinking of Ingres, why didn’t I find one of my beautiful shawls and drape it round my shoulders? That would have been nicer than an ‘ordinary’ as in an ordinary every day T shirt!! Silly me; I need to improve my multi-thinking/multi-tasking skills.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yep, possibly, need to eat lots of chocolate to recover my energy and boost my memory cells because I don’t quite remember where I put my shawls. After the earthquakes, every thing in the house was stored and rearranged and tied down in new combinations, so it takes me ages to find anything. You many have similar problems when you return to your home 😉

  8. Heather in Arles

    I personally love hodge-podge now and again. What a good way to find room for all of the little bits and pieces that get lost by the wayside otherwise! I had to look up Gimp. My that looks confusing! But let’s see…the crop is different in the Gimped version, including the wall to the left and it looks as though you lightened the contrast?
    I admire your leaf Mon enormously. What a fine subject! I will listen to the song a bit later–I too am always on the earout for new artists. And oh–thank you the mention and link too!
    xo
    H

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You understood my editing perfectly!!!! (what I can remember of it!!!) I tried to download a free trial from Adobe and that was going very well, until Adobe and I both realised that I didn’t have the minimum requirement of Windows 7!!!!!! I remembered then that my daughter uses Gimp so I thought I would try it; but I think it is unnecessarily complicated for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

