Be still….and listen

My recent posts have been noisy and busy, by which I mean full of details and links and information. Today, I made a promise to myself to quiet my loud mind and try, try to be still with my thoughts and my post. (But it’s  hard to restrain myself; so hard…..)  Here goes; be still…….

I adore the work of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres.

I adore the work of nature along my garden path.

Blue pathway

Blue pathway

And did I mention that I adore the paintings of  Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres; the rich fabric, the colours, textures, details, the sweet plumpness of the curves….. every moment my eyes linger on this painting of Madame Moitessier, I discover new delights…

And did I mention that I adore Nature’s Canvas too, with its myriad textures,

Details

Details of Ajuga the Bugleweed

soft folds, jewel-like colours, tiny, ever-surprising details and

and silken opulence.

Be still…… and listen; do you hear Spring singing in the garden? Can you see the music playing?

Still

Still

“When the chamber of the scarlet-clothed Hours is opened
And the nectareous flowers usher in the fragrant spring,
Then are scattered, then, on the immortal ground
The lovely petals of violets; roses are wound in our hair;
Loudly echo the voices of songs to the flutes,
And choirs step in procession to dark-ribboned Semele.[69]”

Pindar

© silkannthreades

65 thoughts on “Be still….and listen

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Most likely I will! I am more than a little obsessed with Ingres and nature and flowers and a few other things besides. Oh, that’s right, did I mention Pearls? 😀

      Reply
  1. Pingback: The sweetness of lines that endure and endear | silkannthreades

  2. Heather in Arles

    I was called away from my langurous gazing at the Ingres paintings and so didn’t scroll down until now. More please!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. It is the one time of the year when I look at the plants on the side of the path and am overwhelmed by their loveliness. Spring over… and the rest of the year that area is just prone to mess!!!!!

      Reply
  3. lensandpensbysally

    Quietude is essential to a well-lived life. The juxtaposition of aesthetics created by human nature and Mother nature are apt places for this silence. Well done, and thanks for a bit more insight into yourself.

    Reply
  4. Just Add Attitude

    Nature is doing sterling work in your garden. It’s hard to compute that spring is springing in your part of the world as, I think, today the 22nd September marks the official start of Autumn here. 😉

    Reply
  5. Mrs. P

    So much beauty is so much stillness. It’s like a child trying desperately to hold on to a secret that he is dying to share…such poetry you grace us with today…and violet and blues are my favorite colors. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Ah, I think you picture ME(not only the garden) exactly. I was every bit the wriggly child, hand in the air, waving frantically, my mouth closed but pleading silently and excitedly, “Pick me, pick me, teacher, I have something to tell.” 😀 But I did manage to hold on to some stillness :). Violet and blues are wonderful aren’t they? I find them hard colours to capture in a photo though.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you 🙂 I may have mentioned to you before that our main art gallery is closed because of earthquake related problems. This means that the art gallery and artists have been renegotiating how to show case art without the usual exhibition spaces. They are doing a wonderful job. In some ways, my post is my own exploration of how to enjoy art in a different landscape.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I really like the idea of sitting for a portrait but whether I would actually enjoy it ,in reality, is another matter! Portrait or not, I would love to try on one of those dresses; just to see what it was like to wear something so beautiful.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you, Ute 🙂 If you ever go to the National Gallery on one of your London exploration adventures, take a look at Madame Moitessier , for me, and tell me if she is really as lovely as I imagine. 🙂

      Reply
  6. YellowCable

    The painting works are amazing to me. It is hard to believe they are hand painted. The details of fabric and every thing are so real. Thank you for sharing.

    I am not sure your garden is the work of nature alone. It looks like it is well trended and planed. A nice spring welcome in your back yard!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The fabric in the paintings is amazing, isn’t it?! My garden does have a plan but, lately, I haven’t done much in the garden. Nature has been doing most of the work for me. I am very grateful 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, yes, how fabulous that would be. The finished result would, hopefully, be divine. The process might be a bit painful and long though and the dress mighty heavy!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I am glad you found some quietness in the photos and paintings. I do find the portraits very calming even though there is much detail in them. However, it seems my mind is incorrigible, so some noise (‘music”) did find its way in to the post 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

