What you need to get your church moving….

We have been for a Sunday Drive and seen many sights: daffodils; cherry blossom; dogs; a river; blue sky and “A What you need to get your church moving”. Which is this; a TITAN

A Titan for the Task

A Titan for the Task

which is yellow and sturdy and very tall…..

In January this year, I wrote a post about a little chapel called St Saviour’s. You can see the post Here. I told some of the history of the chapel and explained that  the chapel would soon be returned to its original home town, Lyttelton. Turns out that the ‘soon’ is now.

Although the Titan  was having a Sunday rest, it has obviously been busy. Here is how the Chapel looked when I saw it earlier in the year. It was boarded up and ready to go.

St Saviour's

St Saviour’s

Here is how it looked today

St Saviour's is Going

St Saviour’s is Going

Although St Saviour’s is obviously on the move, I can’t find any information on whether it is being moved via a land route or by barge. I did discover an article on some of the costs involved in the Chapel’s relocation and restoration http://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/hills-and-harbour/8963217/Historic-St-Saviours-chapel-granted-143k  However it is travelling, I hope it will soon be  put together again because, right now, it looks very uncomfortable and undignified, and dishevelled. Not unlike we get when we are on a difficult and long journey, especially if we are no longer as young and spritely as we once were 🙂

© silkannthreades

34 thoughts on “What you need to get your church moving….

  1. Forest So Green

    I watched an historic house being moved a short distance and it was an amazing sight. I bet the church will be grand at the new location.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure it will be just perfect. Occasionally, we see a truck with a house on board, travelling down our street; which is an extra wide street. That happens in the early hours of the morning. It is quite a sight. I haven’t seen an historic house being moved. That would be a great sight.

      Reply
  2. Mrs. P

    My daughter’s pediatrician saw an old historical house that was being prepared for demolition and decided to buy it and have it moved to her property instead. It didn’t take to long to get the restorations done and it was simply a beautiful house. She turned the front enclosed porch into a waiting room and occasionally we would drop by if my daughter had an ear infection develop after hours, which is almost unheard of these days.

    I think your chapel will do just fine. Perhaps the news will report on it, after the fact.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Weren’t those old time medical practices lovely? For the patient anyway. I am sure there will be a big write-up in the papers when the Chapel reopens in its new location.

      Reply
  3. utesmile

    It looks rather sad at the moment. You do funny things in New Zealand…. moving churches. We couldn’t do this as ours are built of stone. Obvioulsy it is cheaper htan building a new one, I guess. I do hope it will come back to its’ old glory as it looked nice before. You need to tell us , if you know and find a picture, please.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I will be sure to update you if I do see it again in its restored state. I suppose it is a funny idea to move churches. We move houses too 🙂 It is the advantage of wood. You may remember that we, NZers, moved this church too. https://silkannthreades.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/sensible-simplicity-endures/ And fellow NZ blogger Maureen has lovely posts on a little church that was moved to another location http://kiwis-soar.com/2013/09/11/all-saints-mititai/

      Reply
  4. ordinarygood

    Your lovely church reminds me of that wonderful story “The Little House” by Virginia Lee Burton…..slightly different story but a tale of restoration, comfort and security…..this church seem all that and Lyttelton will love to have it back having lost so much in the earthquakes.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I feel happy that it is going home although I did love seeing it in Christchurch on its corner site near the Park. Not sure I know The Little House, but I would love to read it. Sounds exactly like my sort of story.

      Reply
  5. YellowCable

    This makes me think of this church is like a small toy that the town just decide to give (move) to someone or town and then take (move) it back. I am afraid that some unavoidable damages will happen. On the other hand, that might be a good thing that the chapel is maintained as part of the process.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I expect there will be some small damage in transit. And the chapel will certainly get a good upgrade before it is open to the community again. In the long run, it will prolong the life of the chapel which is wonderful. I like your image of the church as a small toy 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I would very much like to do that. It’s not too far away, but, to get to Lyttelton, I either have to drive through a tunnel or take the route over the hills. I am not good on hills and not good underground, so I will need to put on my very brave face to do the trip. 😦 The chapel won’t be put together again for some time, I expect, so I have a while to find my brave face and put it on.

      Reply
  6. Heather in Arles

    I agree that she looks rather dishevelled in her current state! I hope that she finds her way back home soon…
    Wishing you a lovely Sunday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

