How did I do with my bread, Annie?

Some of my followers may recall that I love to make bread. I wrote about my enthusiasm for bread making Here  I haven’t made any bread for a while because I have been enjoying an upmarket-supermarket bread, made with Flax and Spelt. Yesterday, however, I was in exactly the right mood to make my own bread again, so, how timely was this post from Forest So Green http://forestsogreen.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/making-oatmeal-bread/  It’s a perfect, detailed, easy to follow recipe for making oatmeal bread.  I followed Annie’s instructions carefully; especially this very important one “While the bread is baking, it is going to smell very good.  Ignore your thoughts to open the oven door.  The bread is on its own now and it knows exactly what to do.   Just sit back, enjoy the delicious aroma, and wait for the kitchen timer to ring.”

Here is the result. How did I do Annie? The loaves aren’t as beautifully shaped as yours but they taste ever so good. Thank you for a wonderful recipe 🙂

Annie's Oatmeal Bread made by Gallivanta

Annie’s Oatmeal Bread made by Gallivanta

I know that many folk no longer eat wheat based breads because of gluten intolerance/allergies, so they won’t share my adoration of all things bread. But, for me, there is hardly anything more soothing and rewarding than the process of bread making, followed by that first bite, from that first slice, of fresh-from-the-oven bread.

© silkannthreades

 

66 thoughts on “How did I do with my bread, Annie?

  1. knitnrun4sanity

    There is nothing like home made bread. I used to make it all the time but unfortunately I have joined the merry band of gluten intolerant. Will have to find a decent recipe to meet my special needs!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Gluten free bread is tricky. I used to make a very good one in my bread making machine using a bread mix. My next post may interest you. (when I get to write it!!!!!).

      Reply
  2. teamgloria

    *peeringcuriouslythroughtheinterweb*

    what’s that in the lovely faded ceramic blue bowl?

    do you grow basil?

    *impressed*

    and those lemons look so cooling. (it’s v hot here – we’re Up Against the Fan)

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          As a former British subject and daughter of the far flung colonial realm, I have inherited a strong streak of the ‘make do’. The Make it Beautiful sometimes goes awry but that is why we need Constance to remind us of what is possible.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Sometimes the bread mixes are useful if you are not sure of the quality of the flour available. However, if you can get bread flour and good yeast, making it from scratch is not so hard. I love a good pun, or even a bad one. Puns are fun.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      There’s plenty left for you. And I have any topping you would like to go with it. Come on over 🙂 Would Little Man like a slice too? In fact, I have so much bread I have had to put one loaf in the freezer!

      Reply
  3. Elephant

    Ah, the bread made as play rather than work! You followed the golden rule: you played when you made it, when it baked and when you ate it! You are on course!

    Elephant

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You ‘called’ it! I was always think it is better to play with dough 😉 Speaking of play and fun, makes me remember fairy bread; buttered bread sprinkled with hundreds and thousands….is that still a birthday party treat, I wonder?

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      And I would love to share it with you. I would make a special buttered piece for Malus too. Would he eat honey? Maybe he would like his with salmon 🙂

      Reply
  4. vsperry

    Okay, this is going to get made in our house, perhaps I will get my pastry chef husband to make it for me! It looks REALLY good and a perfect vehicle for…um…butter!!! (Diet, what diet?)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yep, butter and honey ; or butter and cheese; or butter and peanut butter. And I had mine with butter and vegemite. Did you encounter vegemite on your travels?

      Reply
  5. pleisbilongtumi

    Oh I didn’t eat bread for a while because I didn’t go to the market recently. Your picture made me drooling, like I can smell the aroma. I think I must go to a supermarket tomorrow for some bread. 🙂

    Reply
      1. pleisbilongtumi

        I am not talented in making bread but some other pastries. I had tried several times but failed. The bread become so hard and all finally found the right place, my neighbor’s fish pond ! Oh yes, that would be so nice to go with the fresh Java coffee that I usually have. 🙂

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I am sure the fish were happy 🙂 Often times, even here, the problem is the flour, or the yeast, not the person who is making the bread. I hope you now have some delicious bread from the store and a lovely cup of Java coffee.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think the two smaller shapes are the best. They fit nicely on a regular oven tray. The advantage of Annie’s recipe is that it is very precise and orderly. The only thing I had to judge was exactly how much flour I needed and that wasn’t hard. Have fun. And, of course, as Annie says, the moment when your hands are the most sticky something happens; and it did!!!!! The phone rang.

      Reply
    2. Gallivanta Post author

      I think the two smaller shapes are the best. They fit nicely on a regular oven tray. The advantage of Annie’s recipe is that it is very precise and orderly. The only thing I had to judge was exactly how much flour I needed and that wasn’t hard. Have fun. And, of course, as Annie says, the moment when your hands are the most sticky something happens; and it did!!!!! The phone rang.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

