From Oostburg to Christchurch, we are connected.

Yesterday, Ellen Grace at http://ellenolinger.wordpress.com/  prompted me to look more closely at the clip art she uses in her beautiful, gentle posts. I visited her link to Dover Publications and signed up for their free Sampler email. On signing up, I received access to a selection of clip art. The one that caught my eye immediately was this one, which is by Pugin.

99631x-114

Pugin, my mind thought. Pugin? Why does that name sound familiar? With a little more thought, I remembered that I “met” Pugin for the first time in December last year. I mentioned that meeting in this post

https://silkannthreades.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/random-meetings/

Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin  (1 March 1812 – 14 September 1852) “was an English architect, designer, artist and critic, chiefly remembered for his pioneering role in the Gothic Revival style; his work culminated in the interior design of the Palace of Westminster.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Augustus_Pugin

His influence extended to New Zealand and Australia, as did that of his son Edward Welby Pugin. If anyone is interested in Gothic Revival architecture here is a link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gothic_Revival_architecture  What I like most about the  Wiki article are the photos which show how we are linked all over the world by Gothic Revival ideas and buildings. Just goes to show how ideas and fashions criss-crossed the world, long before the internet, Google and Wiki.

Thanks, Ellen Grace, for helping me make all these connections 🙂

25 thoughts on “From Oostburg to Christchurch, we are connected.

  1. Pingback: The Tendrils of the Sweet Pea | silkannthreades

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure you would find some lovely examples of art circa the period you cover in your blog. It’s nice, as Ellen does, to keep these freely available artworks in the public view.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Isn’t it lovely? And lovely too that Ellen’s creativity, Haiku and gentle spirit connects us all, as well. I love her Haiku lessons for the Haiku foundation.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Have fun 🙂 I have been having a great time learning new things! I don’t have a link for the Google images of the Pugin Tiles but do Google! The selection of tiles is awesome.

      Reply
  2. Just Add Attitude

    Augustus Welby Northmore – what a wonderful trio of names. I knew the name Pugin but nothing about him so thanks for bringing him to my attention and I am now off to google ‘Pugin tiles’ …

    Reply
      1. utesmile

        Thanks for the link, if you google Pugin tiles, there are lots of beautiful creations of him, yes I have seen them before and I didn’t know it.
        Very interesting and lovely! Thanks for the eye opener!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

