Ring in the spring

The daffodils in this post are for Lizzie Rose Jewellery and Teamgloria , and my mother, because they all love daffodils but daffodils don’t, and won’t, grow in their delightfully warm garden spaces.

The words in this post are especially for Lost in Arles, Heather ,as a way of thanking her for the link to Jean Vanier’s beautiful words in Wisdom of Tenderness  http://www.onbeing.org/program/wisdom-tenderness/234    Jean Vanier is the founder of L’Arche.http://www.larche.ca/en/jean_vanier/

“The curve of the earth lies fissured, its mantle cracked like a poorly cast  bell, yet with the warmth of spring’s caress, a vibration shimmers, swells, seeps, riverine, through the hollows and cracks of the slumped soil.

Fissure

Fissure

In the movement of the spring,  the bulbs, buried fast,  sense the tender loosening, the sweet lightening of their winter bedding. They awaken.   Stretch upward. Outward. Yawn, and smile a happy-sunshine smile.

And , then, precisely then,  we know, deeply, that even a broken bell has its own essential resonance; its own beautiful chime to ring. Listen.”

Essential Resonance

Essential Resonance

Chime of its own

Chime of its own

For those of you who like to know about location and history; we spotted the daffodils on a sun-drenched river bank on the Avon Loop. We were near the place on the river side which was once, very long ago, home to  the Canterbury Rowing Club. The Loop is a heritage area of Christchurch which was badly damaged in the earthquakes of 2010 and 2011. Most of the land on that small bend in the Avon River is no longer suitable for housing, so the broken homes currently there will be removed/demolished. Eventually, the land will form part of a natural recreational park system along the river. It promises to be lovely and, strangely, in its new life it will almost be a reincarnation of its old life, which, beginning in the 1860s, was a wonderful, open space where thousands of Cantabrians enjoyed picnics and the sport of rowing. http://lostchristchurch.org.nz/opening-of-the-boating-season-avon-river

© silkannthreades

59 thoughts on “Ring in the spring

  1. Pingback: Light in the Dark | silkannthreades

  2. The House of Bethan

    Loved this post and the pictures of the daffodils. Funnily enough, they were (and remain) my favourite flowers from childhood. They were so bright an colourful, just like the sun. I think I may have tortured a few by picking the heads and trying to stitch them into gowns for my Flower Fairy dolls! xx

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Watermark Moments | silkannthreades

  4. beautycalyptique

    ooooh this is lovely.
    we’ve already had our first cool morning that smelled like autumn. and you are growing daffodils. it’s a wonderful world!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is, it is; very wonderful. And it’s wonderful that you mention the smell of autumn. At the change of the seasons there is always a change in smell and a change in the quality of light; very distinct but ,for me, impossible to capture in words.

      Reply
      1. beautycalyptique

        yes, you just *sense* it. it’s the magic of our connection with the seasons. you notice the light, and you notice the scent – and even if the days are still summer, at night, autum peers out of the cooling shadows. it’s my favourite four times of year – the change of season.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Favorite four times of the year; a wonderful expression. I think I would add the day we change to daylight saving for the summer. I adore the magic of long summer evenings.

        2. beautycalyptique

          I second that!
          long summer evenings are fabulous.

          I wonder if one could tour the world to always stay at the brim of a season.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you :). The daffodils are THE harbingers of spring for me. When I lived in Africa and thought of spring, the first image I recalled was the daffodils; then the freesias and then the blossom.

      Reply
  5. andrea

    Hello my friends and Wpler students.My Wpadresse has changed please write an email with your email address you all me briefly thank you…

    Come on my Wpseite see me was the question

    Reply
  6. ordinarygood

    Daffodils and Christchurch go together and always will no matter the shaking of the earth and reshaping of the city. My daffs are bedraggled now after such an early showing. I think the daffodils in our nearby reserve will be a picture this weekend so maybe I will capture a vista to share too.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Do hope you get some daff photos to show us. The daffs in my garden are nearly out; only have a few but I can see them from the kitchen window and they are such a cheerful sight.

      Reply
  7. lizzierosejewellery

    Thank you for posting those lovely photos of sweet daffodils. I did think they were in your garden to start with (and the fissure!). Spring must definitely be arriving, wishing you warmer days ahead. Cath

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, I would love the daffodils to be in my garden but, sadly, no. And thank goodness the fissure is not on my property. Glad you like the daffodils 🙂

      Reply
      1. lizzierosejewellery

        I do, and I’m glad the fissure’s not outside your door too. You’ve prompted me to visit the Flower Shop this week to see if there are any Daff’s in stock (if not I will have to stick with the common orchid – what a shame..)!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Please do! I was trying to see if New Zealand exports daffodils or indeed any flowers to Singapore but Google is not helpful today. NZ does export orchids though but not sure to which countries.

  8. teamgloria

    OH! OH! OH!

    the DAFFODILS are glorious!

    feeling so happy (smushed up against the air conditioning unit where it’s hotter than new orleans in high summer and only 08:13 – we need to move to the beach – we need to earn the money necessary to move to the beach – wishing on a daffodil!)

    🙂

    lovely post.

    and we’re Tickled Pink by the dedication.

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          and bluebells too. The bluebell in my garden sulked last year and didn’t appear. And I can’t see any sign of it now so maybe it has had enough of me.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you 🙂 The Lost Christchurch site is excellent. The dedication of the writers on that site is impressive and they do record the most interesting stories. Bless them, I say! By the way, did I ever mention that one of our main newspaper reporters in Christchurch is from Calgary? I didn’t know this till the other day when he wrote a report about going home to help his parents sort out their flooded home.

      Reply
      1. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

        That’s interesting! It IS a small world!

        It’s sad that his parents were in the flood zone – there are so many people having problems coming out of this whole thing with insurance and rebuilding and now winter is looming. But everything takes time, as you’ve mentioned with the rebuilding of Christchurch. These things don’t happen overnight.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          They certainly take time and I think your insurance system may be slighty less generous than ours, although that doesn’t make ours any better or more efficient. Most of our stress now comes from trying to work out and understand insurance issues in relation to our homes.

  9. Virginia Duran

    If I close my eyes I can picture the scenery, no buildings, just a yellow field. It’s such a beautiful thing to be able to start again, like another opportunity to do things right. Also, can’t believe is spring there. I discovered your blog when you were in summer, remember? Time flies.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is amazing to be able to start again. But everyone is wondering and worrying if we are going to make a good job of the new city. And whatever we do has to honour the lives lost as well. I also can’t believe how time flies. Seems just a minute ago that I was in the midst of winter and feeling that the dark hours would never end. And, now, here I am in spring and it’s like winter didn’t happen.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am guilty of cheating a bit with the photos. I was trying to get as many daffodils in the frame as possible so I got down very low to the ground to take the photo; hence the field effect. However, at this time of the year there are other places which are huge areas completely covered with daffodils. They are spectacular. However there are also lots of people at those places , so it was nice to have this fairly large riverside patch all to ourselves 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Is your air conditioning having to work over time at the moment? I hope that at least you get some relief from the heat during the night.

      Reply
      1. YellowCable

        Fortunately, it is not having to work overtime into the morning time at the moment. The weather will get hot and humid into the afternoon and evening. The unit will be working overtime into the night.

        Have a great weekend!

        Reply
  10. Heather in Arles

    “And , then, precisely then, we know, deeply, that even a broken bell has its own essential resonance; its own beautiful chime to play. Listen.”

    That is so beautiful and so perfect. I am so glad my link spurred the verbal part of this post! Did you watch the link that David Terry left? It is amazing and she is an inspiring woman who has respected her own essential resonance as well.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I haven’t watched David’s link yet. I was utterly exhausted emotionally by the time I had finished with Vanier and MLK. I had a lot fun learning about bellfounding for this post :). Hope your weekend is lovely and thanks again for your inspiring words and photos and links.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

