No Bull ….in my city, yet!

It’s the truth; there’s no Bull in my city.  Not at the moment. There was one. In fact, we had two Bulls.  That was a little over a year ago.

This was one of the Bulls, called A Peak in Darien.

One Bull

One Bull

Here’s the other Bull,  known as Chapman’s Homer.

Another Bull

Another Bull

These Bulls, by Michael Parekowhai (http://www.thearts.co.nz/artist_page.php&aid=70&type=bio ) had been to Venice http://www.thearts.co.nz/artist_page.php&aid=70&type=video&video_id=92 and Paris and then, as promised they came to us, last June, for one month. When they were first promised to us we hadn’t had any earthquakes but, despite the mess our city was in by 2012,  everyone was brave and decided the Bulls should come anyway. And we loved them.  They looked magnificent, indomitable, indestructible in the midst of the messy, broken landscape.

And now we want to have one of them back, as a forever friend.  We want Chapman’s Homer. (Well, we can’t have A Peak in Darien because he’s already been taken. ) The public is being asked to pledge donations to the Christchurch Art Gallery Trust. The target is $NZ 200,000. Many people think that purchasing Chapman’s Homer is a waste of money, but, for me, this Bull, this mighty sculpture is welcome in my city. I don’t  truly understand what he has to do with Homer, Chapman or Keats but he will be a wonderful addition to our cityscape. Much better to have an expensive, bullish  sculpture that thousands will see and visit and admire every year, free of charge. Rather this, than a new multi million dollar stadium that will be used occasionally, and only by those who have the money to buy the tickets.

So, now I am off to contribute to the Bull. Our country prospers on agriculture, so why not have a Bull in the city!

On First Looking in to Chapman's Homer

On First Looking in to Chapman’s Homer

https://www.pledgeme.co.nz/1276  Back the Bull Pledge (The Bull  is currently on loan and on display at the Arts Centre.)

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173746  Keats  “On First Looking into Chapman’s Homer

http://realruth.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/hitchin-heritage/  a little more about  George Chapman

© silkannthreades

23 thoughts on “No Bull ….in my city, yet!

  1. Pingback: We did it…. the Bull is here to stay :) | silkannthreades

  2. vsperry

    On the grounds of Hotchkiss School, a very upper-crusty private school in my home-town, are three over-sized bulls by artist Peter Woytuk. While I generally love all of his work, the bulls make me smile every time I drive through the gates of the school. (The school has one of the best galleries in town, I go there every time I visit my dad.)
    I remember the Christchurch Art Gallery, it is (was?, will be again?) an impressive building, pulling your quaint city into the 21st century. Personally, I liked the Canterbury Museum better, but I honor what the Art Gallery is trying to do. Yippeeeeeee…more Public Art!
    (P.S. I don’t get the piano thing either…guess I’ll read all the links…or not.)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Wow, Hotchkiss is some school! And I have had a look at Peter Woytuk’s website and I can see why you smile. His Bulls are lovely and I loved his Kiwi. Our Art Gallery is out of action till about 2014 I think. Still undergoing repairs. Whereas the Canterbury Museum is open again, thank goodness. And YES, more public art please.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I do hope so but I think the Pledge site is a bit vexing because one has to log in to pledge. Many people will probably find that too much effort 🙂 unless they are used to this kind of fundraising.

      Reply
  3. Forest So Green

    I certainly hope the money is raised for the bull. It is a magnificent symbol of strength. I think public art is very important for a community.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      If you do get to read the references ( I hope they work :)) you will see the great difference in the exhibitions spaces for these well travelled Bulls; Venice and Paris so elegant and then Christchurch so bleak and barren; and ,yet, wherever they are placed they are magnificent. They transcend their exhibition space and time; remarkable, I think.

      Reply
  4. Mrs. P

    I love them! There are so many statues that are more abstract in which way too much money was spent on them but these bulls have a lot of character and the fact that they are on pianos makes them more interesting. I think Homer would look great outside a music/performing arts center.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      They are full of character, aren’t they? We do have a number of interesting sculptures and statues in the city already but I really really would like to have Chapman’s Homer. I find him reassuring somehow. I would have him in my backyard if the city would let me 😉

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The Piano is part of the sculpture. And I am afraid I don’t fully understand the whole concept of Bull and Piano but it looks brilliant. I have read a few explanations but most seem to trail away in to vagueness…such as a mixing and remixing of cultures. If you can get the Venice link to work there is a small video clip which tries to put the sculptures in context. I think the film The Piano has relevance as well.

      Reply
  5. YellowCable

    I hope the Christchurch Art Gallery raise enough money to get the bull. My town do not have the bull but as small as it is the town has many sculptures around the main street of the town. They definitely make the area look more interesting. I do like them but for some reason the town keeps changing them after few years. That is refreshing but I am afraid that cost tax money unnecessary.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That’s wonderful to know that your town has many sculptures. I think they add a great deal to town/city life. Strange that they change though, unless they are on loan from somewhere. I would love to see some of them if you have any photos of them.

      Reply
  6. Just Add Attitude

    I hope that the Christchurch Art Gallery raises enough to buy Chapman’s Homer. He looks familiar, I wonder if he is the same bull that I saw in Paris a few years ago outside the Musee du Quai Barnly?

    Reply
  7. ordinarygood

    I heard about this fundraising venture a week or more ago. I think a charging, snorting bull is a great symbol to use against earthquakes. We need one here too perhaps? The recent swarm does seem to be reducing. It is almost two weeks since we felt one here but I note on GNS today that there have been some bigger 3+ quakes in the Seddon area today….you just never know with earthquakes.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You just never know! I am bit sad that the Bulls have been split up. I would have liked both of them. We may not even get Chapman’s Homer if the fundraising falls short. But, hopefully, the Trust will be successful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

