In my night kitchen

I am causing mayhem in the kitchen again.

There’s mess and chaos, just as before, https://silkannthreades.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/kitchen-chaos/

but this time, I am cooking by the light of the moon…not really…..but there is a big, bold moon in the sky which I can see from my well-lit kitchen.

Here is what is happening:

There are cookies and crumbs

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

from  the excellent The Sensitive Gourmet, Antoinette Savill, http://www.amazon.com/The-Sensitive-Gourmet-Imaginative-Cooking/dp/0722537131

And there is divine chocolate cake, and more crumbs,

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

from the Healthy Food Guide http://www.healthyfood.co.nz/recipes/2007/may/gluten-free-chocolate-cake

And, to the cake, I added healthy, blueberry sauce and a helping of not so healthy ice cream.

But ice cream decadence is permissible when the moon is full and round and one is cooking in the night kitchen. Even snakes and dogs are permissible; as long as they are still.

That’s enough nonsense from my night kitchen, except my silliness has reminded me of a wonderful rhyme we loved when we were children :

I went to the animal fair, the birds and the beasts were there. By the light of the moon the giddy baboon was combing his auburn hair. The monkey he gave a jump, and sat on the elephant’s trunk. The elephant sneezed and fell on his knees and what became of the monkey, monkey, monk….

All my recipes tonight are gluten-free and dairy free but definitely not chocolate free.

© silkannthreades

80 thoughts on “In my night kitchen

  1. beautycalyptique

    I came for the recipes and stayed for the rhymes (and the dog, uuuh, aaaaw, is it a schnauzer!?)

    blueberry sauce is great (unless stuffed with colorants) and there are amazing vegan coconut-based and soy-free ice cream concoctions out there, so veganising all of those would be pretty easy actually 😉
    but, shhh, I occasionally do use a pasture egg or two. support your local green farmers, I say.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, my dog is a miniature schnauzer although not as mini as some. He loves a bit of coconut oil when I will give it to him! The blueberries are beautiful gorgeous organic ones from NZ; no colourants. I won’t tell about the eggs!

      Reply
      1. beautycalyptique

        pretty perfect recipes!

        the dog is ubercuuuute!! my mum has a zwergschnauzer (is it miniature?) but he’s rather bigger than average. well, he’s 11 kilogram instead of 7 in our book 😀 pure muscle! (not even kidding)

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          My dog is about 8 kg. But he LOVES food so he puts on weight easily. Like me, his minder 🙂 However, Jack is fit and all muscle. I am not! Sigh.

        2. beautycalyptique

          that’s because us humans, we only chase our tails online 😉

          good night from me (well, in berlin it’s really the dead of night) = a good morning to you! 😀

        3. Gallivanta Post author

          Thanks; I like the sound of Berlin in the dead of night. A New Zealand writer lives in Berlin; she often talks about the dead of night in Berlin. I think it is her favourite time. Sleep well. I will chase my tail online for awhile before I do some real work.

        4. beautycalyptique

          maybe because it’s daytime at home for her? 🙂
          just kidding.

          but yes, empty streets at night have their charm. drunk hordes of students not so much (we live in quite central a place).

        5. beautycalyptique

          😀
          I think I can outbid this!

          Drunk student hords peeing on the street en passant. As in: not even stopping to do so.

        6. Gallivanta Post author

          The endless possibilities must be why Berlin is a favourite destination for New Zealanders. Though I hope they don’t make a nuisance of themselves like the students.

        7. beautycalyptique

          It’s ironic, because so many Berliners RAVE about New Zealand and dream about becoming motorcycle guides in paradise.

          The grass is always greener, I suppose 🙂

        8. beautycalyptique

          it is indeed!

          p.s.
          din replied to your chickpeas addiction comment over at the deathmatch post 🙂

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It was a night out of the ordinary. For a change, I wasn’t falling asleep on my keyboard or in my chair by the TV. 😀 We don’t need to be gluten free anymore because my gluten intolerant son doesn’t live at home now. However, I do believe it is good to have as much variety as possible in one’s diet. Otherwise we do limit ourselves to the same old, same old and there are so many lovely wheat alternatives. Enjoy your gluten-free month.

      Reply
  2. lagottocattleya

    Now this was something to look for…reading backwards! Sooo yummy looking and with chocolate and that beautiful rhyme …I really do must have some coffee…right now, on the spot!

    Wish for an old express mail with your cake! (Worked in the Post Service for 22 years, so the old express mail still lives with me…) Maybe I can tempt my chocolate lover of a son to have some coffee with me too even if it is late…this is his last week living with us…moving out on Saturday. Oh, comforting chocolate!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I hope you have lots of yummy chocolate and coffee times with your son this week. My son used to love chocolate but he takes it very rarely now.(Perhaps too expensive for his student budget??) And, I loathed chocolate when I was young but I can’t stay away from it now.
      In years gone by, we did send cake by mail, and not even by express mail. They were fruit cakes or pieces of them. Do you remember the tradition of sending friends and family a piece of your wedding cake if they weren’t able to come to your wedding? Perhaps people still mail cake!

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Boysenberry, in or out? The original recipe actually calls for boyesnberries but I didn’t have any, so I made blueberry sauce to go with the chocolate cake.

  3. ordinarygood

    Gluten and dairy free rings true for my oldest son, sugar and dairy free for my daughter and dairy free for the youngest.
    Is your snake a paper weight of sorts? He/she has a certain look in its eye!
    Jazz is merrier at full moon time and we seem to sleep more fitfully. Perhaps we should be up cooking treats too….and include some for Jazz. He has been known to enjoy muffin crumbs.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s a challenge trying to cater for everyone, isn’t it? But I think it also means that we get to eat a wonderful variety of food. The snake is a paper weight, especially for keeping the pages of recipe books flattened. It was a gift from my daughter, years ago. And yes, as far as full moon cooking is concerned, as Mr Dilmah would say, “Do try it”. Jazz will love you for it.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Spring equilibrium | silkannthreades

      1. leapingtracks

        tee hee 🙂 I can just imagine you dancing around your kitchen, having the most wonderful time. Does the resulting baking taste different from when you make it during the day?

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      They are super great! With enough chocolate and caffeine in them to keep you working till morning!!!! So we will save some, for when you wake up; that might be better.

      Reply
  5. cindy knoke

    There are cookies, and cake, and ice-cream and a Schnauzer snoozing. This is why I need to drop by. I need to help you clean up your kitchen like the good sport I am, and then I can have cookies, and cake and ice cream, and wake up the snoozing schnauzer…….
    Of course, when we meet up at Necker Island, none of us will have to cook~

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      If you come at the time of moon madness, no one will be required to clean up. We will simply feast and be merry. But, no cooking at all, sounds even better.

      Reply
  6. utesmile

    It all looks lovely and yummy. The sweet snake in your kitchen too 🙂 I ‘ll have some of the cookies please and icecream with blueberry sauce! I’ll clean the crumbs up for it….

    Reply
  7. tiny lessons blog

    Oh, I missed that blue full moon and the permissible indulgence! I went out to look for it but it was hiding behind a thick cloud cover. Maybe I can blame that and have some of this later? Like a rain check, maybe….it looks so GOOD!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, take a rain/moon check! I saw the moon clearly the other night and then we had clouds for a couple of nights, but last night it was lovely and clear again. I’ll have some chocolate goodies for you at the next moon madness 🙂

      Reply
  8. Forest So Green

    We also had that animal rhyme but the words were a bit different. The ice cream and blueberry sauce really catches my eye 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      When I looked for the words for that rhyme on Google, a lot of variations came up, so I just went with the ones I remembered. What were the words that you knew?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

