The world is in good hands….

Woke up this morning feeling wearied, and weighted, by the woes of the big world and of my little domestic world. On the home front, there was the minor despair of realising that the repair work on my bathroom had stalled yet again. On the international front, there was the sadness of remembering that today, 6 August, is Hiroshima Day. And to make the 68th anniversary of that dreadful day even more distressing, there was the news of further problems at the Fukushima nuclear power station; namely that radioactive water has been leaking in to the sea. http://www.stuff.co.nz/world/asia/9006381/Radioactive-water-emergency-at-Fukushima

What next, I woe..ed to myself. Some port wine, or gin, to fortify my spirits, as recommended to our women folk in years long gone by.  Not quite the tonic at 10 in the morning, I decided, but   only  just. Also I didn’t have any  in the store cupboard :). So, what next? Well,  what came next was exactly the tonic I needed. It was a television interview with our New Zealand Wonder Woman, Helen Clark.  Helen Clark used to be our Prime Minister. She was the first woman in New Zealand to be elected Prime Minister http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helen_Clark  Her government was defeated in 2008, and Helen, looking weary and disheartened ( at least, I thought so), resigned from politics.  In 2009, she was appointed head of the United Nations Development Programme; she is the first woman to hold that position. And, she has recently been appointed for a second, four-year term. According to Forbes, this makes our Helen the 21st most powerful woman in the world and a possible candidate for the first female United Nations Secretary General.

But it’s not Helen’s power, or her ‘firsts’ for women, that inspire me the most. It is her compassion, her love of her family, her hard work and her wonderful intelligence.  Oh…and her skiing and mountain climbing prowess  are impressive, too. It was a joy to hear her talk this morning about the importance of bringing hope and resilience to places like Haiti and Niger. She is obviously challenged and energised by the problems of the world; tackling them with intelligence and common sense and profound understanding. She has found her feet on the international stage and she is thriving again. Helen,  good Helen, I thought, if the world is in your hands, we have hope.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7e/Helen_Clark_UNDP_2010.jpg(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Helen_Clark_UNDP_2010.jpg)

Hopefully, this link to the interview will work for those of you who are interested and live outside New Zealand.

http://tvnz.co.nz/good-morning/extra-helen-clark-video-5527781

http://www.odt.co.nz/entertainment/books/267242/academic-addresses-well-worth-effort

And, if there is hope for the world, there is hope for my bathroom. A minor problem, for sure, but vexing all the same. I have a feeling that Helen, being the good Kiwi lass she is, would have got stuck in with paint and plaster and fixed the problem herself by now.

© silkannthreades

29 thoughts on “The world is in good hands….

  1. melodylowes

    I love to hear about women who are making an impact in positive ways in our world – go Helen! And yes – I do imagine she would have fixed the bathroom by now. What is your excuse?? 😉

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    I am sorry to hear that work on your bathroom has stalled again, that sounds frustrating and stressful. But I am pleased to hear your spirits were lifted by watching an interview with Helen Clark – I like, so much, that she is attempting to bring hope and resilience to places like Haiti and Niger. Good luck with getting the bathroom finished. 😉

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      She is…fascinating. When she was Prime Minister and we saw her very frequently on the news etc we became critical and bored. But we did her a disservice . She is a fine person with the work ethic, intellectual ability and integrity to do a power of good in the world.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh that is a great reminder; one step at a time, so we don’t get overwhelmed. The bathroom work is on the go again. I didn’t expect anyone to arrive today, but a painter came so early that I was still asleep! Took me awhile to realise that someone was knocking at the door. He says he may have the painting finished by the end of the day. That would be wonderful.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, we all have something to contribute to the well being of our environment. Glad to know we are both reluctant bathroom repairers and painters 😀

      Reply
  3. Forest So Green

    I really enjoyed reading your post and I am certainly going to check on the links. It is so easy to feel weighed down by the woes. It is good that there are leaders like Helen 🙂

    Reply
  4. tiny lessons blog

    We need more Helens in this world, for sure! And some invigorating tonic in the cupboard for a “rainy day”. I have a Japanese friend who – when I feel down or despair over something – always says to me “this too shall pass”. I’ve learned to love that phrase because it’s so true. Wishing some sunshine for your winter morning!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      ‘This too shall pass” is a wonderful expression and a great comfort. The sun is trying to appear this morning. And guess what the painter has appeared as well.!!!!! He must have read my post 😉

      Reply
  5. Marylin Warner

    I DID read the fascinating articles you linked to this, and Helen is indeed an amazing woman. And “switched on” is my new favorite expression.
    Wonderful post. I learned so much!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I learned so much too. It’s so wonderful when we have good people in important positions. She was a great Prime Minister but I think New Zealand was too small for her talents and ability.

      Reply
  6. Clanmother

    Hope is the most powerful word, for it carries both love and compassion. I am going to check out every one of those links – but I think I’ll wait until tomorrow. It is 1:00 in the morning. Take care – loved the post! Refreshing to know that we have many kindred spirits in this world. Hugs!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

