“With Bold Needle and Thread” by Rosemary McLeod

In my post yesterday I mentioned ‘With Bold Needle and Thread” by Rosemary McLeod. This morning I read this wonderful review of the book by fellow New Zealand blogger Ordinary Good. Enjoy her good words and her blogs as well.

Koru knits and crafts

“With Bold needle and thread” by Rosemary McLeod.

I loved this large, beautiful book that I recently borrowed from the library.
DSCF5406
I will borrow it again so I can once again enjoy the gorgeous visual presentation but also the immense amount of information, history, and projects to dream about.
DSCF5407
While it is a book about stitching and creating clothes and useful household objects it is also a book about social history/herstory in New Zealand.
Rosemary McLeod is a collector of textiles and fabrics as well as owning a vast library of patterns, designs, and magazines relating to handcrafts of every kind. She also likes creating things from fabric and textiles without using a pattern.
There are plenty of projects and instructions to follow in this substantial book (495pp) dating back from the 1920’s to more recent times. Bags, aprons (I remember my Gran having an apron made from sacking but…

View original post 407 more words

15 thoughts on ““With Bold Needle and Thread” by Rosemary McLeod

  1. Sheryl

    The book looks really interesting. The description of how it is also a social history/herstory of New Zealand sounds really intriguing.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, and I think you would find a lot of magazines articles in it which are very similar to the ones you use for your blog. The author mentions that she has in her collection titles from these US publications, The Modern Priscilla, McCall Needlework and Decorative Arts, Needlecraft. She also mentions that “In the less celebrity-driven time of the 1920s to the 1950s, women’s magazines also offered the sense of being part of an international community at a time when women in New Zealand were unlikely to travel overseas in their lifetime.” So it is possible that the magazines you write about were also part of the fabric of our herstory in New Zealand. Needlecraft and domestic trends uniting the world 🙂

      Reply
  2. utesmile

    Funny thing, I love crocheting and knitting, but I am pretty useless with needle and thread. I do the odd crossstich, but that is how far it gets….. this looks nice though!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am not much good with needle and thread either but this book gives me hope. The author said she was hopeless with needle and thread and knitting and dressmaking to begin with 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I find writing book reviews very challenging so I was delighted to discover that ordinarygood had written such a great review of this excellent book.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

