Out ‘there’ forever

Whenever I prepare to write a post, a pint-sized, shadowy, but very vocal, bogey man appears over my right shoulder.  A bogey man; well, more a creature of unspecified gender who repeats ad nauseam and ‘whiningly’,”Remember,  remember, whatever you put out on the internet stays there forever; be careful, you may live to regret what you let loose in public….blah, blah, blah…out ‘there’ lives evil….”. And I cower and hesitate and write ever so cautiously, and recheck and rewrite, and waste a great deal of precious time pandering to this scaremongering spectre of  certain doom and ruin.

Where this creature comes from, I am not sure, but, yesterday, I determined to give it a little tap on the shoulder; tip it off-balance a bit, and maybe, if I am lucky,  see it tumble to my feet with profuse apologies for being such a wretched nuisance.

So, here I go with my attempt to dislodge the harbinger of the awful doom awaiting  me (and you) on the big world-wide web.

NEWSFLASH! bogey creature……. on the day we are  born, our lives enter the public sphere, and there is no going back. We become a matter of public record from our first breath. And, as any genealogist, archaeologist, historian, or little Rumpelstiltskin, will tell you, we are, from that beginning moment, out ‘there’ forever, our lives always trackable and traceable and scrutinisible.  Perhaps, not in every fine detail, but certainly enough detail to be able to  leave our mark on history somewhere, somehow. Thus it has ever been, and ever will be, internet or no internet.

Case in point. Here is a photo which I found the other day. I hesitated, thanks to bogey creature, about showing it to you. Then, in an epiphanous moment, I realised, that it is an official photo which has probably been readily available in  public archives  for about 36 years.

For all to see

For all to see

What am I doing? Well, I am not sleeping! I am listening  intently to a debate. I will leave you to ponder, until my next post, where and why, and the story behind this photo. In the meantime, I am travelling back in time to listen to the ancient prophets/creatures of doom as they watch our cave dwelling forbear raise his/her hand to paint that very first stroke on the cave wall. I hear the critters say, in tones of eerie menace, “Be Ware, Be Very Ware…..once you mark that wall, your life will be out ‘there’ forever, for all to know where you have been and what you have been doing; you are open season; prey to all….muahahahaha”  And the cave person turns to face the menace, and paints the wall anyway. Thank goodness h/she did.

Note to self: the creature hasn’t tumbled yet but it is looking disconcerted 🙂

© silkannthreades

 

56 thoughts on “Out ‘there’ forever

  1. Mrs. P

    I completely understand the bogey man feelings. I experienced them a lot when I wrote about my family history but continued on because my own research into the family was fascinating and I was glad for all the documentation that I was able to find. As far as the photo goes, I have always looked at a persons words in an attempt to glean the person behind them. It is those whose words I admire, whether the ideas be the same as mine or not, that draw my participation into their life. But oh, the picture does make those words seem even more pleasurable. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I like to hear and understand the words too; the photo of someone is a bonus 🙂 Your family research and bringing it online was brave but rewarding too….you were about to meet someone with knowledge of your mother I think?

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        Just got back from vacation and haven’t had time to follow up yet. I’ll share when I get anything worthy of reporting.

        Reply
  2. utesmile

    Finally time for a bit of back log reading.Been extremely busy at work, fell regularly asleep once I was at home, so time flies. Well weekend now, time to relax and chill.
    Well this bogey man…. I had no idea how much he knows and I realised that every time I buy something from Amazon, Asda, or any other internet shop, I leave a comment, do a review, I am being watched and recorded. I have nothing to hide so I don’t mind, but thinking what the FBI would get together if they researched me…… They will know what I wear, what I read, what toilet paper I prefer, which charity I help, I wonder what sort of person they would make me. They surely cannot get my character out of here…. or?
    On one side it is scary, but hten we couldn’t do anything if we cared, so I don’t and shall leave this comment here under my psydonym.
    Much love from etu 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Such a sensible attitude Ute! And you are quite right, every time we buy something anywhere the information is recorded somewhere. It is funny to realise, as you say, that our toilet paper habits, are known! Makes me want to mess with the system and confuse everyone by buying different toilet paper or in weird amounts. Hope you are having a lovely weekend. The sun is out here today for a change which makes me happy.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I can tell from your posts that you don’t permit that mean spirited creature determine your blogging creativity. I sense that ,with you and other bloggers here, we have a force for good that should send that bogey man running for the door 🙂

      Reply
  3. teamgloria

    gosh.

    we just took a moment to read all the comments (and your very considered and thoughtful and generous responses) to your Very Brave Blog Post and we have to say that you Win “Best Visitors To A Blog” (time period extended indefinitely).

    and it was lovely to get a little glimpse.

    splendid cheekbones if we may say so.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Gosh (to borrow your phrase); I’m blushing ( I did that a lot back then!) and thank you. Yes, it’s my best side (smiles) but, perhaps, today I might have to add a little double chin to the splendid cheekbones. And lots of hairdresser- defying, heavy, white tresses scooped up with a clasp in a vain attempt at some sort of elegance.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oops, and I forgot to mention the pearls. Very very partial to pearls. Pearls age with us so beautifully. It’s one of the extraordinary qualities of pearls; they suit us at any age, which can’t be said of other gems or precious metals….in my opinion that is 🙂

  4. Letizia

    Now I am curious to know what you were listening to!

    I love what you wrote about the bogey man. I feel it too, that sense of needed privacy. As long as we all do what we’re comfortable with and find our own creative limits, we have no need to be too shy (for me at least, it’s a bit of shyness!).

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, deciding what is good for one’s own individual personality and situation is important. I think my difficulty maybe that the bogey is hindering my decision making capacity.
      And now you make you laugh with your question because, although I remember I was listening to a debate, I realise that I no longer remember the exact topic of the debate. With some extensive research I could probably find out, but ,in the meantime, I have posts to read and places to go on the internet 🙂

      Reply
  5. vsperry

    I think caution is not a bad thing, there are many instances where a person’s online presence is used against them. However I think the opposite is true much more often, positive connections are made by the millions every day. It is true that total privacy is not achievable and probably never has been. But it is also true that what is posted on the internet is subject to a myriad of interpretations by the readers. The written word is often translated according to someone’s life story and thus takes on a whole new life of its own away from the creator. This is the same with my artwork, I put my story out there and immediately it becomes someone else’s.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I would agree with you that more positive connections are made online than otherwise but somehow, when offline, I am bombarded , mostly via media, about the negative connections. I am glad to have your perspective as an artist. I hadn’t really thought of my words taking on a new life once they are out in public but I can see now how that is so. Do you sometimes feel that you would like to take your artwork back because it has become something that you didn’t intend it to be?

      Reply
  6. cindy knoke

    Oh kick him hard in the shins and send him out the door.
    Slam it. Lock it.
    You know what I think is much sadder? All the people who leave no traces of their creative selves at all, except maybe bones.
    All the people who don’t blog.
    In the digital age, the most lasting thing we can publicly leave of our creative selves is our online blog posts, that conceivably are out there forever.
    Imagine someone 40 years after your death, researching early childhood education in Fiji and finding your post on kindergarden, and including the snaps in a report? Or someone gathering data on Shutei and finding your post.
    I got a call awhile back from someone I hadn’t seen in ages who was suprised that I was an expert on some sort of very old Barvarian carved wooden furniture in Germany. I laughed and said it’s someone else. I’m not.
    But I then googled their search criteria under image search, and there were my photos, right at the top!
    Your blog posts are record of your creative self and your life experiences, and yours are so interesting. Why write under a psuedonym? Your blog, like you, is wonderful and unique.
    Think of it like a memoir you are writing, because that is what it is.
    And now that I’ve said this, I hate it that I know you so well, but forgot your first name. I won’t share it. But sign one of your comments with your first name and I’ll write it down. Thank God I blog! My memory is going!! 🙂
    Cheers to you & keep blogging!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You made me laugh Cindy because I really thought about stomping that critter under my feet ,not just kicking it in the shins, but that seemed a little too rash for my pacifist inclinations 🙂 And I would certainly like to leave a legacy that is more than just old bones; although I am sure I will make very lovely old bones 😉 You are an inspiration. I am sure if we lived next door to each other you would have me on all sorts of adventures. Maybe even rattlesnake ones. Name will be forthcoming.

      Reply
  7. mmmarzipan

    Very interesting! I am curious now!
    I too wonder what goes on once something I post online is “out there”… especially as I blog “anonymously” and am not seeking any kind of fame from my blog, but rather use it as a forum for gaining/sharing inspiration. I always feel a slight stab of nervousness when I hit “post”!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I wonder if part of our nervousness (I get nervous too) stems from that antipodean “culture” of discouraging or frowning upon Tall Poppies and people who do something more out there. Julia Gillard has certainly suffered some of that! As did our Helen Clark to some extent. I am not saying we are in that league but that critical and self critical approach is part of our cultural background. Gaining/sharing inspiration is like Clanmother’s desire to make a difference in good faith and compassionately. Anonymously or otherwise, it is a great goal to aim for.

      Reply
      1. mmmarzipan

        Yes, I think tall poppy syndrome may have something to do with it. Also for me it involves wondering whether what I post belongs in a journal (I am an avid journal writer and have been for years) rather than online. But yes, Clanmother’s intention (and yours too) about sharing positive things that can make a difference is one that I like to think I share also. And that is enough to keep me doing what I do here. I really debated with myself as to whether I should share anything of my pregnancy story on WP, but the more I connected with others who had suffered high risk pregnancies, the more charities I discovered, the more meditation I did, the more I saw that it was worth sharing… even if only one person out there was encouraged or felt less alone. I met some wonderful people as a result of discussing that period of my life…. and it really helped me too 🙂

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Our private journals are another valuable form of expression, that’s for sure, and a place where you can write for yourself and to please no one else but yourself. Your decision to write about your pregnancy was brave and so right. And as for inspiration; your posts on clutter inspired me to tackle my linen cupboard and every time I go to it now, I say “thanks Miss Marzipan” 🙂

  8. Clanmother

    This is an excellent discussion and one that everyone participates in whether we know it or not. We all want to make a difference, but making a difference means taking on the challenge of difficult subjects and themes. By remaining silent we let others speak for us, which it not fair to either side. I think the important thing to remember is to write in “good faith” and compassionately. Writing is about communicating respectfully. Can hardly wait to find out what you were listening to.
    “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Good faith and compassionately; those are excellent guidelines. And, yes, silence through fear, or any reason, does us all a disservice. Those of us who can add faith and goodwill to the world should do so as best we can. (Otherwise it’s a bit like having the right to vote in a democracy and failing to do so.) Thank you for your wonderful insight, as always.

      Reply
  9. melodylowes

    Incredibly intriguing. Now the questions swirl – what is this mystery? 🙂 The internet has certainly changed the speed at which information flies about – and our access to it. Caution isn’t always a bad thing – but I know how much I appreciate openness and transparency in some of my favourite writers. So – you will have to strike your own balance, and fence those cave dwellers at the right spot!!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Striking a balance is exactly what is needed. In cooking terms, getting the recipe right 🙂 Just thought of that., because balance made me think of scales and scales made me think of weights and weight made me think of food/recipes which made me think of my weight tipping the scales! Mmmmmmm….think it’s time to retreat to my cave.

      Reply
  10. tiny lessons blog

    Lovely reading! We all know the bogey man, but as you say he’s behind his time…everything about us is already out there in one or another form, more or less accurate. So we do well by continuing to paint and write on the wall of our modern caves. Looking forward to the story about that pic!

    Reply
      1. tiny lessons blog

        We can always hope! I go and check at “me” every now and then…have found myself to be 89 years old (prediction?) and in my late teens (too good to be true) – the truth of course lies somewhere in between 🙂

        Reply
  11. Forest So Green

    One thing I really like about blogging is that, at least in my little part of the internet, everyone has their own style and different amounts of privacy. So I say blog in the way that makes you feel comfortable.

    Reply
  12. Katherine's Daughter

    When I read motivational instruction on writing, most of it says to write with abandon, letting thoughts spill out onto paper with a sort of reckless freedom. Give it your all and more will come. I like this way of thinking and that’s what I try and practice.
    My favorite book is Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird. She helps to overcome the writing willies (bogey creatures), reservations and over thinking. Have you ever read the book? It’s wonderful….
    xo Joanne

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      No, I haven’t read Bird by Bird but I did read another of her books that you recommended. Temporarily forgotten the name and have lent the book to someone else, so it is not here beside me to check. I enjoyed it greatly. And she certainly has an endearing warmth and openness in her style. As do you. I will take heart from both of you :). I am a great over thinker!

      Reply
  13. YellowCable

    It is an interesting thought about this new territory – internet. I think it should be thought of being conscious about the nature of the internet of things and how much information you want to real to not just to your close friends but everyone. Unless telling someone something verbally, every thing is highly recorded.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, you are right. Except for most verbal conversations we are a highly recorded society, world wide now. The situation does need some careful thought and reasoned thought, without unnecessary fearfulness.

      Reply
  14. Heather in Arles

    Oh gosh, I don’t know if I ever really gave that much thought before but now I will! But how good just to get things out there regardless. Sometimes it can help or inspire!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Well, I am quite in awe of people such as yourselves who seem so relaxed about your online presence; relaxed in a confident, not a careless way. But in our little corner of the world, there seems to be a lot of the negativity and fear surrounding our presence on the internet; and somehow it manages to invade my space.

      Reply
  15. realruth

    This reminds me of a cartoon in the “Press” this week, with three cave persons. It said something like: Og invented the wheel, Grog made fire, and Blog wrote on the cave walls every day. Blog might be the person who painted the wall, and our remote foremother.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, wonderful. I missed that. I manage to read the paper most days but every now and then it slips by me. I will see if I can access it somewhere.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

