What do you see?

What do you see?  What do you hear?……..All EarsI see a box; I see a rug;A box, a rugI see a flower on the Tree of Life; I touch a flower on the Tree of Life;Flower on the Tree of LifeI see a tray;Tea TrayI sense tea; I taste cake;Tasty treatsI feel the shape of the tea-cup in my hand;Cup for my handthe warmth of the teapot in the afternoon sunWarm feelingsand I hear the quiet silence of my house on a winter’s afternoon.

Today, 27 June,  is Helen Keller’s birthday.  If you would like to honour this remarkable woman, spend a few moments honouring and treasuring each of your five senses, no matter how perfect or imperfect they may actually be.

Then enjoy some time with the wonderful people at Helen Keller International; and be inspired by my dear friend Victoria Quinn as she writes about the Human Yardstick; and, finally, check out Good Housekeeping and up date yourself on 10 Facts about Helen Keller. Did you know she loved dogs?

https://www.facebook.com/HelenKellerInternational

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/victoria-quinn/checking-in-on-the-human-yardstick_b_3404554.html?utm_hp_ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=global_motherhood&comm_crv

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/family/inspirational-people/facts-about-helen-keller#slide-1

© silkannthreades

38 thoughts on “What do you see?

  1. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose

    Quite often I think we get rushed and perhaps take our senses for granted…we do not always stop to “smell the roses,” so to speak, or to fully enjoy and understand our surroundings and our interactions with the physical world. A beautiful reminder….

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. America is the birthplace of so many remarkable people but, on the basis of universal influence, Helen Keller must be one of the most remarkable. Would you agree?

      Reply
  2. Clanmother

    She is my favourite! And my favourite quote of all times is:

    “Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.”
    ― Helen Keller, The Open Door

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Do you think Helen would appreciate the daring? In a way we are feeling our way through a new landscape; learning the language and how to communicate in a new medium.

        2. Clanmother

          I think she would be ecstatic over the progress of technology and would be blogging right along side us! Maybe even have a twitter feed. Imagine….

  3. cindy knoke

    What a lovely post! How homey. Now I want to come to your house for tea. Helen Keller is remarkable. Thank you for the links and for honoring her birthday~

    Reply
  4. Vickie Lester

    One of the most compelling and pioneering spirits — “Everything has its wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I may be in, therein to be content” — thank you for posting about her birthday.

    Reply
  5. Forest So Green

    I remember we read about Helen Keller when I was in school, maybe age 10 or 11 and I really was inspired by her story.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It’s wonderful how her legacy and spirit have travelled the world. I haven’t thought about her for awhile so this birthday seemed a good time to refresh my memory. Still so much to learn about her, though.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      So true! I tested and sensed them for you! The cake was very tasty. 😀 My dog is much too cute for his own good. And he is so silky and soft to stroke.

      Reply
  6. valeriedavies

    Lovely, lovely post, and what charming photos… I knew someone who had met Helen Keller when she was seven, and Helen Keller an old lady. She said that Helen Keller radiated happiness and joy, and she never forgot it…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. It is unforgettable when you meet someone who radiates joy and happiness; I have met one or two like that …not famous, simply radiant.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

