Why I like New Zealand…..

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/8788982/Afghan-interpreter-families-officially-welcomed

The story and the accompanying photos in the above link made me very happy this morning.  It’s at times like this that I remember why I like New Zealand.

New Zealand’s first formal refugee resettlement programme was  in 1944 when 734 Polish orphans  and their helpers were brought to New Zealand for the duration of the war. http://www.nzonscreen.com/title/the-story-of-seven-hundred-polish-children-1966 

This link gives more information on refugees and their history in  New Zealand http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/refugees/page-1 Apparently the earliest refugees to find their way to New Zealand were Danes, Jews from Tsarist Russia and French Huguenots.

” More than 20,000 refugees have arrived since 1944, when refugees were first distinguished from other immigrants in official statistics. While the total number is low compared to the many millions of refugees and displaced people in the world, it is high in terms of the country’s population of 4 million.” ( The Encyclopedia of New Zealand)

What made me very unhappy this morning is the discovery that the charger for my camera battery seems to have vanished off the face of the kitchen bench; its usual home.  I am suffering great perturbation. Perhaps if I reread the links I have given you, I will calm down and thank my lucky stars that my problems are so minor. But, but, but……I can’t help but be vexed.  Deep breath……relax…… Relax

 

 

83 thoughts on “Why I like New Zealand…..

  1. Pingback: ‘U’ is for Ula | restlessjo

  2. restlessjo

    Glad the charger turned up 🙂 I’m having camera troubles too. I got mine wet yesterday while out walking. Calamity!
    I struggled to find the video, Ann, but it came up when I put it in the ‘search’ window. What a heart wrencher! The tears flowed. It’s rarely that I would sit transfixed for 15 minutes. The lady whose mother died with her baby on her lap in the snow in Siberia- I’m so glad she found her happy ending! I would like to use the link and feel that it might better sit in the post I am currently writing, ‘U is for Urszula’. You have every right to feel proud of your country. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Mmmm…I am sorry the link didn’t work but I am not surprised it didn’t ; I was still learning how to do things back then. But I would love for the story to be more widely known. Our New Zealand has been enriched by this connection with Poland. Oh dear; hope your camera recovers.

      Reply
  3. melodylowes

    Glad you found your errant charger – and that you have not had to experience the flight of a refugee yourself! I know that Canada has been a new home for many refugees, as well – another reason to feel proud of my country that I have never thought about before. It is pleasant to think of a beautiful place like NZ being a welcoming point for people in crisis, isn’t it? Nice info…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I was so pleased to have my charger again. So pleased! New Zealand must be so different, and so far away from anything familiar, for most refugees, but at least it is peaceful.

      Reply
        1. melodylowes

          It is rather lovely – at least the parts I’ve seen. The east and est coats and the Rocky Mountains are pretty incredible. The prairies have a beauty of their own – not majesty, but pastoral – lots of lakes and rivers up north, and endless farmland with wide-open sunsets!

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          A visit is on my wish list. I did a school project on Canada when I was about 10 or 11. I still have the project (it makes me smile). So, you can see my interest in that part of the world has been long standing. My nephew is currently in Calgary playing in the Canadian Professional Golf Tour. We would all like to be there to watch him.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, that must be lovely. I have to say the US has some fabulous scenery too. I adore New York State and Maine. Cape Cod…I could have stayed there an entire summer.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          That is a long time. Maybe when time and finances permit you can treat yourself to a holiday in our part of the world and visit Australia, which appealed so much to your father.

        2. Gallivanta Post author

          I can imagine you would have such fun with your notebooks and camera and computer visiting all the military site. Auckland War Memorial Museum in New Zealand. The various military sites in Wellington. Then the city of Canberra in Australia has a wonderful war memorial too. I think with the help of your blogger friends accommodation would not be a problem. Something to dream on 🙂

        3. gpcox

          Yes it is. You don’t think I would go there without telling my blogger friends, do you? My tour would depend on their advice.

  4. Marylin Warner

    Thanks so much for the links; I’m learning amazing things about NZ! I knew of the Polish orphans, but much of the other information was new for me.
    Best of all are your personal details. You have a delightful, balanced perspective.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Lovely that you enjoyed the links. I am fascinated that you knew of the Polish orphans. Is that in general or in relation to the ones who came to New Zealand?

      Reply
  5. Mrs. P

    And yet another fascinating fact about WWII…so many stories that have yet to be heard. Glad you’re back…missed you for a few days and was wondering if all was well.

    Reply
  6. lagottocattleya

    There are numerous reasons to love New Zealand. I love all of them… I had a penfriend from NZ when I was about 15, and she sent me a calendar with the most magnificent pictures of forests, mountains and lakes. I still have this calendar! Being a nature lover It made me want to go to NZ as soon as I had enough money to do so – but our resolution to meet in her country never came true. We wrote to each other for som years but eventually lost contact.

    When my daughter was working for GVN and we went to NZ the whole family last year, I tried to find my old penfriend. I brought out all letters I had and tried to contact her, her parents and her schoolmates even… But no answer. It would have been great fun to meet and find out how life had turned out for her too. I wrote letters by hand and I tried the Internet – nothing. This still grieves me. Maybe she emigrated to Australia or to the US, I don’t know.

    But, finally I have seen the country of my dreams – and I want to visit once more before I die. I met so many wonderful people and saw so many fantastic things, animals, trees, landscapes and…everything. I never made it to Stewart Island, though – so I would love to go again some day. And of course to visit some of those people I learned to love too.

    Reply
  7. Sofia

    New Zeeland seems wonderful! Do you now if the success with The Lord of the Rings had bring some new members to your country, or more tourists then it used to be?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I think we do get quite a few visitors because of The Lord of the Rings. Certainly there are some popular tours where you can visit The Lord of the Rings sites. I have done one myself. It was fun.

      Reply
  8. teamgloria

    love the cat! (and the elegant rug and the blue trim on the curtains……gorgeous)

    dear friend – did you get hacked? we got a strange two paragraphs about Fiji Water in the comments section chez teamgloria.com – *worriedlook* from your domain…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      no no! I am sorry to confuse you.
      The comment was from me about Fiji Water. Because Fiji Water was sponsoring the art walk you took the other night. Or so I discovered when I investigated your link.
      Yes, carpet and blue trim of curtain; quite perfect.

      Reply
  9. Sheryl

    One of the things that I enjoy about blogging is learning about the characteristics and history of various places. The articles about refuges are wonderful and heart-warming. I can see why you are proud of New Zealand.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Glad you enjoyed the article. Often times I find myself being critical about my country, so it is good to stop, now and then, and reflect on what is good about where one lives.

      Reply
  10. utesmile

    You know, as a child, well teenager I was already dreaming of New Zealand. My sister and me cut out pictures and stuck them to the walls of our bedroom, we loved that part of the world and still do. My sister has since visited New Zealand many times and brought back fantasic stories and pictures. For me it is still on my to do list…… one day!
    Could your charger be under that cat??????? 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I love that you stuck pictures of New Zealand on your bedroom walls when you were a teenager. I did suspect the cat! But, no, my son found it in the back of his car. Why was it there? Who knows? He doesn’t and I certainly didn’t put it there. We have had a lot people in our house lately. So things have been a bit out of order and he probably just scooped it up with his books one day by accident. One day, we will welcome you to New Zealand, Ute.

      Reply
  11. ordinarygood

    We had a photo in our paper during the week of 25 women who had just been granted NZ Citizenship and they were very happy. The photo was of women only to commemorate that it is the anniversary this year of women getting the vote in 1893. I feel so proud of that fact but as a country we need to do more to improve the lives of many, many women who live here.
    I wonder if the charger has “appeared”…..I know how frustrating that can be…..”it must be here somewhere”……
    Your mostly outdoor cat looks very comfy – is she on a large donut or a bean sack I wonder?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      What a lovely way to acknowledge women getting the vote. Was the photo in the Dom Post? Or? Yes, there is still so much to do for our women, our children and indeed our people! As for that charger; it has charged off into oblivion as best I can tell. And THAT CAT! She was on the dog’s bean bag and the dog didn’t even protest.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes. I only glanced at the front page of our Press today. Yet another distressing story on the earthquake recovery. Government threatening (note that word) to intervene in the City Council consenting process. Why threaten? Is that the media’s interpretation? Or was that really what was said? Shall we invite them all on to WordPress and help them with manners 🙂

        2. ordinarygood

          I heard that report too. This Government seems to use a lot of “tough talk” across all manner of issues. It is such a common feature that I doubt that the media orchestrates it every time. Audio clips tend to support our feeling on this.
          I do agree with you about the manners of the WP bloggers that I follow and enjoy.

    2. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh, GOOD NEWS, the charger has appeared. Somehow, and goodness only knows how, my son found it in the back of his car!!!!!!!! Now that is a mystery that neither he nor I can explain.

      Reply
      1. ordinarygood

        Excellent news about the gallivanting charger! I suspect the aggrieved dog removed it to the back of your son’s car in silent protest at the cat taking over his very comfy looking dog bed!

        Reply
  12. Forest So Green

    New Zealand is a beautiful place and I find your post interesting. I think the cat knows the hiding place of your charger 🙂 Annie

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you so much. I need all the help I can get. Glad you liked the article on the interpreters. I just loved the smiles on the faces of the children.

      Reply
  13. Travelling Kiwi

    I hope you find your charger. My advice is to stop looking for it. It will only come out of hiding when it thinks the game is over. Have you asked the cat, btw? She looks as though she’s hiding something.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I have my suspicions about that cat too. But she refuses to tell me what she knows! I lost a garden sprinkler some while back. And a vegetable steamer. I found both of them in very obvious places about a year after I had misplaced them!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      True, true. I haven’t found it yet and I am feeling quite demented about it. I have started to look in places like the freezer and the laundry basket and the linen cupboard :D. I mean where else do you go once you’ve even emptied out the rubbish bin. I can’t believe how stressed I am!

      Reply
      1. Mike Howe

        You’re gonna have to sit calmly and replay your movements with that charger in your mind, I know it’s difficult, sometimes I lose things only seconds after I had them in my hand 🙂 Where you taking it somewhere? Where did you last use it? Have you gathered it up with other stuff like laundry? If all else fails you can order one online, it’ll be with you in a few days….calm calm, cup of tea, and think….:)

        Reply
  14. jaggh53163

    New Zealand is one of the top locations I have always wanted to visit… and Australia comes much further down on the list. I didn’t know very much about New Zealand but I’ve learned quite a bit tonight. Thank you… now I know why I like New Zealand even more!!!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I knew some of the story for this post but I learned a great deal more whilst I was gathering information. I was interested in the French ‘refugees’ or the French Huguenot part of our NZ history.

      Reply
  15. cindy knoke

    Now see, Rebecca is so knowledgeable. I didn’t know THAT is why middle earth is in New Zealand. I didn’t know any of this about New Zealand. And I liked New Zealand before! Now I like it more. Did you know Nicole Know Nicole Kidman has never been to New Zealand, even though her hubby is from there? It’s true. Watch this on Letterman. It will de-perturbate you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2zEuEo92yQ
    This is the oddest interview I have ever seen.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It is a very odd interview! I am really surprised that Nicole hasn’t been to New Zealand. I hope you had a wee look at my link to the Polish children who came to NZ. I thought of your Polish ancestry and your empathy with children when I watched it myself.

      Reply
  16. Clanmother

    And do you know what I found out just today about New Zealand! – Women’s suffrage in New Zealand was an important political issue!! New Zealand was the first to give women the vote in modern times – 1893! That is why Middle Earth is located in New Zealand. BTW, I know that you will find the charger. They like to hide from time to time….

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Indeed we were the first! We led the way. We started early but it took a long time to get our first female Prime Minister. We eventually got there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

