A birthday and a Coronation

This weekend is a long one. It is Queen’s Birthday weekend and on Monday, 3 June, we celebrate the Queen’s official birthday. The Queen, being Queen Elizabeth the Second , who is our Head of State.  Today,  2nd June, we also happen to be acknowledging  the 60th anniversary of the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth.

As a child of the colonies, and, at one time, the holder of a colonial passport that designated me as a British subject,  I have a soft spot for the Queen.  She was Queen when I came in to the world, and I simply can not imagine what life would have been like without her. Always there, always serene, always beautiful, and always the Christmas message of calm and goodwill.

So here is my little photographic tribute to the Queen on her birthday and on her Coronation anniversary. CoronationI don’t know what the perfume bottle has to do with anything; it’s just conveniently there. The silver bangle was a 21st birthday present from my parents and has a special hallmark for the Queen’s Silver Jubilee. The charm on the necklace, I gave to myself as a memento of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, and it bears a special hallmark for that occasion.  The silver necklace dates back to my Africa days and is made from  Zambian silver. I wouldn’t be surprised if the Queen has some Zambian silver too ;),  as it is a country which also has ties  to the Monarchy.

The book in the photo is a charming story by one of my favourite authors, Paul Gallico. It was first published in 1962 but was reprinted last year for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. It is a small delight, and the adventures and emotions of the Clagg family as they attempt to participate in an event of historical importance are as timeless as they are endearing.

For a little more information on the Coronation, try this link which gives some fun accounts from people who were there on 2 June 1953. ( http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/real-life-stories/queens-coronation-60-years-on-1924555 )   As an interesting side note, news of the successful summit of Mt Everest by some of Her Majesty’s subjects, reached the Queen in time for her Coronation. Quite a Coronation gift, it was.

© silkannthreades

40 thoughts on “A birthday and a Coronation

  1. Virginia Duran

    Interesting post. I just realized that every time I finish reading I get the feeeling that I would like to read more about the matter, and always bang! a link in the end. I got to know more about the Queen with the video, very very interesting to me who doesn’t know much about her.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad you enjoyed the post and the links. The Queen’s life story is fascinating to me and I loved looking at the old photos and videos.

      Reply
  2. cindy knoke

    How intersting. She really is a remarkable person isn’t she. She even makes scones on a campfire. I wonder if she’ll ever step down and let Charles take over. He is quite an intelligent person with a wide area of interests.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      She is remarkable. It’s hard to imagine that she will step down but I am sure she will slow down more and more and let the younger ones take on more of the workload. It’s amazing to see that given the right conditions and support that older people can live well and work well to a very great age.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I thought you might like to see some jewellery! I love looking at The Queen’s jewels! We were in Botswana and Zambia from 82 to 87. That’s almost ancient history now 😉

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      How lovely. I think it’s always fun if you can say ” I was born in the same year as the Queen or the Queen Mother or……” which I wasn’t 😦

      Reply
  3. lagottocattleya

    Interesting and a beautiful post! I was in Scarborough during last year’s anniversary. So much celebrations and all the little country schools had their children doing her portrait. This is far from Sweden and the Swedish ways – but lovely.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      How lovely for you to be in Scarborough last year. Our link with a monarchy so far away from us is quite strange really but it is so much part of our history and culture and tradition that it is hard for me to imagine it could be any other way.

      Reply
      1. lagottocattleya

        I think it is beautiful in many ways. Many people in Sweden don’t have any connection at all to the King and the Queen. They would rather have a President. I cannot understand them. I think the best thing is to keep the monarchy – they are doing a great job. A President would cost a lot of money and there must be expensive and (in my eyes) unnecessary campaigns and so on. It’s a relief to have a system with nonpolitical people representing the country.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, I think, as I get older, I appreciate more and more the stability that the Queen has provided to our system of Government. It is hard enough to put up with electoral changes all the time. I wouldn’t want to add a President in to the mix as well.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Bailey, do you think you would like a silver and pearl collar? And I am wondering if you are fan of the Queen. She has all those corgis and I don’t know if she has a cat. Do you?

      Reply
  4. Forest So Green

    I have watched some documentaries on TV about the Queen’s life and find her to be a fascinating and interesting person. I like your collection of mementoes.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      No, I don’t think so. I am rather tired at the moment. Have had builders/repairers in the house and it’s exhausting just watching them 🙂

      Reply
  5. Sheryl

    I like the photographic tribute. I think that I have an old perfume bottle somewhere that is similar to the one in the photo. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Perfume bottles are lovely keepsakes. That one is now full of dried lavender 🙂 I also have a lovely smelling salts bottle. Do you think Helena, or someone in the family, had a smelling salts bottle?

      Reply
      1. Sheryl

        I’m not familiar with smelling salts bottles. I know that in old novels women were always fainting. Did people actually use smelling salts years ago?

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes, I believe they did. But perhaps out in the fresh country air, smelling salts would not have been necessary. Unless they were part of a first aid kit.

        2. Sheryl

          Interesting. I’ll have to pay attention when I’m browsing through old magazines, and see if I can find any ads or references to smelling salts.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. It seemed to be a good time to bring them out and give them some time in the spotlight. Not quite like the Queen’s Crown Jewels but precious to me 🙂

      Reply
  6. Clanmother

    We are indeed blessed to have a gracious queen who has given us the very best of all of her years. Long live the queen…

    “I cannot lead you into battle. I do not give you laws or administer justice but I can do something else – I can give my heart and my devotion to these old islands and to all the peoples of our brotherhood of nations.” Queen Elizabeth II

    Reply

Leave a Reply

