What did I do with the medlars?

So, what did I do with the medlars? In my previous post on medlars, I left you with a hint of my intentions. Here is the hint, again, in this photo. Time for the next stepHere’s another hint; it involves a little time, plus pears, medlars, sugar, lemon, water, plate, spoon, pot, stove top, bowls, frying pan, a strainer, and absolutely no autumn leaves. Their purpose in the photo was decorative only.  So, yes, you guessed it. I made medlar pear jelly. Actually, more pear than medlar because I had 3 pears to brew, and only 2 medlars.

I chopped and chunked the fruit, skin and all; placed it in a small pot with a quarter of a lemon, skin and all; barely covered the fruit with water and, then, had a merry boil-up, till the fruit was soft. Next the contents of the pot were sieved through a cheese cloth . More shoved than sieved because I am not patient with jelly making and rarely do the proper thing, which is to let the fruit liquid seep very, very slowly through the cheese cloth into a container.

The end result was a lovely, pale amber extraction which made me think of mead, or honey wine. It didn’t taste like mead;  it did taste like soft, sweet pear juice, flavoured with a drop of medlar  essence and a squeeze of lemon.

The next stage was to take one cup of the juice, a quarter cup of lemon juice and one and a quarter cups of sugar and boil the mixture until it jellied ie until a small splodge of it set freely on a cold plate. I like to make jelly, or jam, in small quantities and in a small frying pan, as I find that I get a quicker set that way.  And here is the result; three small bowls of golden jelly, ever so firm and smooth and subtlely  pear-ish, spiced with the lightest touch of medlar. Would you like some? It is scrumptious on toast.

Don’t mind if I do! Jelly with Mead would be nice, thank you.

Footnote: Mead, like the medlar, has a long history. Mead has ancient origins throughout Africa, Asia and Europe and, most likely, pre-dates culitvation of the soil. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mead  Cats have  an ancient history too 🙂

© silkannthreades

43 thoughts on “What did I do with the medlars?

  1. Sharifah

    Looks wonderful! I’ve always wanted to make pineapple jelly. Perhaps your post will give me the
    impetus to turn it into reality soon!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, I am planning to make some pure medlar jelly. My other medlars are almost completely bletted so perhaps in a day or two I will make some more jelly. The cat snuck inside and when my son saw her sitting at the table he placed a plate etc next to her and took the photo. She makes us laugh. If we had put something/anything on the plate she would have eaten it.

      Reply
      1. lizzierosejewellery

        Of course she would! Cat’s love to eat! They are so funny sometimes. I’m looking after a cat this week and she’s nearly deaf, I keep scaring her and she can open sliding doors with her head, amazing!

        Reply
  2. Forest So Green

    Wow, I could smell that wonderful jelly cooking as I read your post. I bet it was very delicious 🙂

    Reply
  3. utesmile

    I’d love to try, I love jelly. It looks a bit like Quince jelly which my mum used to make, which is incidently my favourite as it has such a wonderful flavour. Your jelly looks similar and I bet it tastes divine. totally ymmy, oh you are so good in the kitchen, I really could learn a lot from you!
    I did make some banana muffins yesterday (12) which disappeared mysteriously during the day, my 2 sons were around…. at least I had one. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The case of the mysterious vanishing muffins! I haven’t made Quince jelly but I imagine this jelly would be much the same. I like making jelly; it always looks so pretty 🙂

      Reply
      1. utesmile

        My mum also used to make apple jelly form the apples of our apple tree in the garden,we used to cut apples all day…and a worm in each was normal…. they were well organic, no pesticides, and tasted beautilful as jelly.
        The apple tree has gone now it fell apart in high winds as it was very old. 😦

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Apple jelly is lovely. I believe those old apples, complete with worms and bugs, make the very best jelly. So sad the old tree is gone.

  4. Clanmother

    How absolutely beautifully elegant. And you have given us a beginning to end explanation. I felt I was there stirring the pot. Interesting links to mead! You feed my curiosity. Here I am at 10:30 p.m. researching mead. And I found this link that may encourage you to make a trip to my side of the world. I never knew we had a meadery on Vancouver Island. I am going to try to add the link – hope it works!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I love that you have a meadery. When you next research mead, I hope you will have a glass of mead in your hand! I am thinking that perhaps I should have added the Americas to my list of mead areas for surely if there are bees there will be some version of mead.

      Reply
      1. Clanmother

        It seems that we only have one in Western Canada! I have a feeling that Mead might be having a revival. BTW, I held my breath when he was handling the bees without any gloves. It appears that the bees like him…

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          They sense that he cares for their welfare 🙂 I like the way they give the bees a diversity of plants to range amongst. It is good if mead is having a revival because it will be another reason for people to care about the survival of the bees.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. There was hardly any sun on that day but suddenly there were just a few beams shining through the jelly that I had left to set. It was a golden moment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

