Short and sweet, but not too sweet.

This post will be short and sweet, but not too sweet. It’s about cake; shortcake. Feijoa and Ginger shortcake to be precise.

Take a peek at the shortcake, freshly baked and cut. It’s rough and ready in appearance, exactly like the every day setting of my kitchen. Plain and simple; short and sweet

Now please help yourself to  a piece*….of shortcake Piece

and take a bite Tasteand let your taste buds linger on the soft buttery crust and luscious feijoa and ginger filling.

Here’s how it’s made:

110gm( 4 oz) butter & 110gm (half cup) sugar & 1 egg & 225gm flour, sifted &  1 tsp of baking powder & 7 to 9 feijoas, peeled and sliced & 9 small pieces of crystallised ginger, chopped & 2 T of sugar.

Soften butter and beat with sugar until creamy. Add egg and beat. Fold in sifted flour and baking powder. Shape into a ball and roll out on baking paper into a large oval shape. Leave the rolled pastry on baking paper and carefully place on baking tray. Slice feijoas reasonably thickly and cover half the pastry with the slices. Scatter the ginger over the fruit slices. Sprinkle with sugar. Carefully pick up ends of baking paper to ease empty half of shortcake over the feijoas. Crimp two edges together.  Bake at 170C -180C deg for about 30 minutes until cooked through and nicely browned.

The recipe was dictated to me by a friend. It is one she uses a great deal but I don’t know its origins.

Finally, here is a photo of the  feijoas, or pineapple guavas, from a  previous post. For those of you who can’t find feijoas in your markets / shops, experiment with another slightly tangy, firm fleshed fruit.  Fabulous Feijoas

*Something to chew on:

In my paternal grandmother’s family, if you were offered a ‘piece’, it meant a piece  of bread. The piece of bread would be buttered and spread with jam and then sliced off the loaf.  I don’t know if the use of the word piece in this way was widespread in early twentieth century New Zealand or was something peculiar to our family.  Please note that there is a loaf of bread in the photo collage. You are welcome to a piece 🙂

© silkannthreades

33 thoughts on “Short and sweet, but not too sweet.

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Please try. It is really just a basic shortcake recipe. I like it best when it is warm from the oven with cream or icecream or full cream yogurt.

      Reply
  1. Mrs. P

    Looks delicious! I’m glad I am not reading this first thing in the morning as I am sure it would make me drool and that would not be a pretty sight! Thanks for the pineapple guava picture. I still haven’t found it in the stores but at least I know what to look for. 🙂

    Reply
  2. utesmile

    It looks delicious, you are so good in the kitchen, I could take lessons from you! I guess I soon have to make something nice and show it in my blog….. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You too! The annual feijoa glut. If you return to my Pineapple Guava post, you will find in the comments a recipe for guava jam. I tried it, with some trial and error, and it came out like a fruit cheese or paste. Utterly delicious.

      Reply
  3. ordinarygood

    Oh I can taste your delicious shortcake. My Mum made wonderful feijoa + other shortcakes….often with apple but she did add other spices and fruit with the feijoas at times. She and Dad lived in Hawkes Bay for many years and they had a glut of fruit to enjoy/ deal with.
    Mum always said that shortcake mix was tricky to work with and I would have to agree.
    Your “piece” is not something I remember from my Kiwi childhood.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That’s good to know. I wondered how apple might work with the feijoa. I do make an apple shortcake from an old Edmonds recipe. That pastry has very little sugar in it because the fruit itself is sweet. The shortcake recipe that I use for the feijoa shortcake is very easy and must be fool proof because it has yet to fail on me 😀 Do you remember what other fruit your mother used in her shortcakes? Yes, the origin of the “piece’ intrigues me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

