At least I tried…….

For those of you who are very skilled with cameras and computers, this little home made video clip of mine will seem very quaint. However, I want to place it on my blog as a record of my first ‘successful’ attempt at a) taking a video with my Panasonic Lumix camera and b) saving the video to my laptop and then loading it onto my Youtube account and then onto my blog. That process was a lot of hard work for little old me; non digital native that I am. But, at least, I gave it a go; I tried. No doubt there are easier ways of doing it but I haven’t found them yet 🙂

And, as a reminder of how antiquated I am, (and, therefore, how tricky I find digital life), I should tell you that I began my life in a home with a kerosene fridge, a primus stove for cooking, a copper for boiling clothes and making soap; a big old fashioned radio, no hot water system and no telephone, and just enough electricity for a few light bulbs. The one luxury we had in Fiji, which gave us a certain superiority over some of our relatives in ‘wealthier’ New Zealand, was an indoor toilet. See how far we have come! Not really sure how that relates to anything, but, at least, I tried to explain…
© silkannthreades

42 thoughts on “At least I tried…….

  1. Mrs. P

    I completely understand this post! When I did my post of my grandson riding his bike, it was my first time through the process. Hopefully I won’t forget how and the next time it will be easier!.. Kudos to you!!!

    Reply
  2. teamgloria

    bravo!!

    the First Moving Pictures are always exciting.

    yes.

    we remember the blackouts in england and trying to Read by Gaslamp (true story – not fun) – always lovely to see how far we’ve all come.

    *looksaroundlovelyapartment*

    _tgxx

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      My first moving picture; sounds grand. Should I be inviting you to one of those director’s discussions, post movie, that you so love? I could host one and you could be my star guest.

      Reply
  3. utesmile

    A sleeping dog is easier than a jumping dog…… I am with you , I ahve problems in htis digital world, I am ever so proud that my pictures on my phone come out beautiful! Well done to you!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks Ute; we will keep each other company on the digital road 🙂 I haven’t mastered the photos on the phone bit yet. You are leading the way on that one.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I agree. I loved watching his bushy eyebrows twitching. Actually I was so tired yesterday I would have been happy to curl up next to him on the bean bag . I am sure he would have made room for me.

      Reply
  4. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    hey! of course you took an appropriate video of a sleeping dog! how fun, and congratulations! yes, clearing all of those hurdles gives us a sigh of relief and gives us encouragement to tackle more difficult ones!

    i have that brand of camera as well; with the leica lens, it does a great job of photographing artwork w/o distorting the edges. my little burro of a camera is on its last legs; capturing the moment when a sea turtle dropped her eggs in the hole int he sand was worth having sand hurled in the camera’s face (and in mine!) i will certainly buy a new one when this one finally says, no more!’ (it now has a cataract, surely from moisture / tropical air.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, you are right. Someone in my family said,’But why did you take a video of a sleeping dog?” I said that I took other ones too but I accidentally deleted them. This boring one was the only one I had left on my camera! 😀

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I am quite happy with my first attempt. I still remember the first black and white photos I took! Now that was a long time ago but it is the pleasure of the achievement that makes these small events memorable.

      Reply
  5. Tracy Rhynas

    Very impressive! I have a Panasonic Lumix, great little cameras aren’t they? I have never tried to use it to take a video clip…..so you are most certainly one step ahead of me. Amazing how the world has changed through your lifetime!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The changes make me feel older than I am! I love my Panasonic but it has taken me a long time to get round to trying the video function. And then on Youtube I saw all the ways I could edit the video….but that was just too much for me to cope with in one day 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

