If you need a good book…..

In my previous post, I expressed the fanciful notion that my little dog showed a vague resemblance to a Tibetan Snow Lion. Some of you may have thought, “Huh oh, Gallivanta’s gone barking mad.” Or, at the very least, inhaled too much of her precious, essential oil of rosemary.  However, let me reassure you that my flights of fancy were most likely the result of a rekindled imagination, courtesy of a very cute little chap, called Fred. Not just any old Fred, but FEARLESS FRED.

Here he is. I think he is adorable; from the tip of his colander helmet to the toes of his red rubber boots.  Fearless Fred Fearless Fred has a trusty mate, of the canine variety, who doubles as a trusty steed to Fred’s knight in shining armour. Together they go hunting for a dragon, and a dragon, of sorts, is duly encountered. And, then, it is home in time for tea; a tea of that quintessential New Zealand meal; fish and chips.

Fearless Fred , with its wonderful mix of imagination and reality and humour, is the creation of writer and fellow blogger, Maureen Sudlow. The delightful and whimsical illustrations are by Kat Quin Merewether. If you are looking for a book that will appeal to adult and child alike, look no further than this little gem. Ask for it at your bookstore, or suggest to your favourite librarian that your local library needs a copy on its bookshelves.  You can also find Fearless Fred at this link (http://kiwis-soar.com/fearless-fred/) and learn more about Maureen’s day at the library with Fearless Fred at this link( http://kiwis-soar.com/2013/05/01/freds-debut/.) The kids, in their Fearless Fred armour, and Maureen look as though they are having a great time.

Maureen’s  book was a Finalist in the Storylines Joy Cowley Award.  Joy Cowley (http://www.joycowley.com/) is a renowned New Zealand author of children’s’ and adults’ books. She is also known  internationally,  especially in the education sector for her excellent and enjoyable educational readers.

Thank you, Maureen, for adding to our rich heritage of children’s literature. Fearless Fred is placed next to me as I blog. He makes me smile. I wonder what imaginative adventures he will take me on next.

© silkannthreades

33 thoughts on “If you need a good book…..

  1. Pingback: Imagine | silkannthreades

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think we share that weakness! I would buy out whole bookshops of children’s books if I could. And I love the children’s section of the library. I hope you get to read Fearless Fred one day. He’s fun and an adventurer like yourself.

      Reply
  2. lagottocattleya

    Thank you for letting us know about this book – I would have taken it to my heart immediately for my own children. I do not have any grandchildren yet, but this would have been something!The front page illustration is so right for children too. Next time I go to the library I will give them a hint.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I don’t have grandchildren either, but, if I did, I would enjoy reading Fearless Fred to them. Apart from the good story, each page has lovely details for an adult and child to discover and discuss together. By the way, are you familiar with the writing of Linda Olsson? http://www.lindaolsson.net/?page_id=15 I had never seen her books until a friend in Norway told me about her and that she lived in New Zealand. She retains strong links with Sweden and her books are very popular in Scandinavia.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Please do. It is such fun. The back cover gives you an idea about the lovely text inside :
      ‘Down in the muddy hollow
      Fred was thrown from his horse
      and he heard the dragon snorting.
      It had seen him fall of course.’
      The poet in you will appreciate the text 🙂

      Reply
  3. utesmile

    Sounds delightful, i must have a look for it, as I buy lots of children’s books for our school where I run a bookshop. Buying chilrden’s books is my favourite part of work.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Oh you will love this one. I think it has universal appeal. If you go to Maureen’s website, she will be able to direct you to the best source for her books. I often buy books online but this time I went to a bookshop to buy Maureen’s book. I like to support local bookstores if I can.

      Reply
        1. mmmarzipan

          He is read to in both English and Swedish (and sometimes Finnish too). He goes to a bilingual nursery school where all the teachers speak English and Swedish and at home we speak both languages. He understands and speaks both equally well and, at this stage, has no preference. I tend to read to him in English, though, as it’s my native language 🙂

        2. mmmarzipan

          🙂 I feel that too. I tried to learn other languages when I was older than he is, but without daily exposure to them it was hard.

  4. Mrs. P

    As someone who has literally read thousands of children’s books, this book has an immediate appeal. The cover is outstanding! I hope that it gets the marketing she deserves.

    I wonder if it will be available in the US?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes you must have read thousands in your time. And had a lot of fun doing so. When I saw the illustration of Fred I thought immediately of your grandson on his bike. I don’t know if the book is available in the US but Maureen would be able to tell you.

      Reply
  5. lizzierosejewellery

    I used to love reading books like this to my children! They picked up the love of reading when they were old enough to read themselves and always had a book in hand. It’s so sad that now, as teenagers, they never read a book (unless it’s for school and even then, under sufferance). I hope that when they are adults and the attraction of iphones and computers has worn off, they will revert to reading a good book. Sorry, that’s my moan over with! Cath

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Me too. This is exactly the type of book I would have loved reading to my children; especially my son who lived in his red gumboots! What I am finding very interesting, as I age, is that the books I remember really really well are children’s books. It makes me realise how important that childhood reading is. Or am I entering my second childhood :D?

      Reply
      1. lizzierosejewellery

        Maybe! I have kept all my children’s books, I can’t let them go and will look forward to reading them to my grandchildren one day! We probably remember them as we read them over and over again!

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Our storage cupboards are full of books from my childhood, my parents’ and my children’s childhoods. My daughter would never speak to me again if I gave any of them away. Every now and then I take one of them out and enjoy it all over again.

Leave a Reply

