Well matched

My good friend, Jack, was outside in the garden this afternoon and, as usual, decided it was necessary to bark at unseen persons passing by his property.  His noisy conduct meant he was hauled inside, where he sat ever so sweetly and innocently at my feet. I couldn’t resist taking some photos of the penitent noise maker; not so much for the expression on his face but because, in the autumnal sunshine  his curls and fluff and colour blended so beautifully with the woolen rug.  For a brief moment, he could almost have been a 3 D extension of the floor covering, or a little Tibetan Snow Lion (vaguely) come to life from the carpet. ( Well, those Tibetan carpets are in the other room but still…..the rug whereupon he sat does have Oriental origins.)

Although Jack is the wrong colour for a Snow Lion, I think he has a little of its spirit. Wiki tells me that the Snow Lion, a celestial animal of Tibet, symbolises fearlessness and unconditional cheerfulness.

© silkannthreades

15 thoughts on “Well matched

  1. Clanmother

    I have often wondered if they see something we don’t see. Like the birds sensing danger when we blithely go about our merry way. Or is it something that they hear with their sensitive ears. I do wish that I could understand their language. They seem to understand us much better than we understand them. Gives new meaning communication.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      “Some people talk to animals. Not many listen though. That’s the problem.”
      ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh
      I think I may have used this quote before but it is worth repeating.
      In my younger days, in a simpler urban setting, dogs were expected to bark at the slightest ‘threat’ to their territory. It was the order of things. In a city setting, we expect dogs to be more civilized like ourselves. It worries me a little that we are controlling their freedom of expression. But ,then, although my dog is reprimanded for barking, he is allowed to ‘sing’ with complete joy when his favourite brother (my son) comes home. It is a glorious greeting. Would Jack greet a fellow dog this way? Doubtful. Curious, isn’t it? As you say, gives a new meaning to communication.

      Reply
      1. Clanmother

        I love that quote! And you pose interesting questions. I recognize that joyous greeting that comes from our dear four legged friends. We couldn’t live without them….

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. He is a handsome lad. We love that his coat is naturally soft and silky. Never ceases to amaze us how soft it is. And he doesn’t shed which is just bliss.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

