Peace and Reconciliation

Today, Anzac Day, we spent some quiet time at the Park of Remembrance.Peace and Reconciliation

It was a beautiful, sunny, autumn afternoon.Peace in the Autumn Sun

A few of the wreaths from the Dawn Service in nearby Cranmer Square had been placed at the base of the statue of Sergeant Henry James Nicholas V.C., M.M.   Sergeant Nicholas was awarded the military’s highest honour, the Victoria Cross, for his bravery in action in Belgium in the First World War.

Our Governor General in his Anzac Address this morning mentioned that, on this day, one hundred years ago, people were experiencing their last year of peace for the next four years. The following year, 1914, the world was engaged in The Great War; the war that people thought, or were told, would end all wars.

Peace, as we know it today, is incredibly precious.  Sergeant Nicholas did not live to enjoy that Peace.  We must live and honour that Peace for him.

For more information on Sergeant Nicholas go to the following link (http://christchurchcitylibraries.com/heritage/people/henrynicholas/)

© silkannthreades

15 thoughts on “Peace and Reconciliation

  1. Clanmother

    Oh, I forgot to tell you, my son is taking part in a special remembrance Anzac day at Victoria Square in downtown Vancouver. Canadians are remembering on the other side of the world.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      This is wonderful news. Please send me a link to a news item if there is one. We have a Victoria Square in our city too complete with a statue of Queen Victoria. As far as I know that statue stood as firmly as that of her Victoria Cross winner, Sergeant Nicholas, throughout our massive earthquakes in 2010 and 2011. Other statutes of lesser dignitaries toppled. Brings a little smile to my lips.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      We are keeping our fingers crossed. Everyone is hoping it will be repaired enough to be used in 1914 for the Centenary. However, if not, we seem to becoming experts in making do. Bit of the Anzac spirit in that attitude.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oh yes, 2014 would be better 😀 My brain has obviously been spending too much time in years gone by! Either that or I didn’t drink enough coffee this morning.

  2. Clanmother

    My thoughts were with you.
    I always liked Mr Roger’s take on peace!

    “When I say it’s you I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is far more than anything you can ever see or hear or touch. That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without which humankind cannot survive. Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.”
    ― Fred Rogers

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Wonderful Mr Rogers. I love this quote too “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”
      ― Fred Rogers

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. It was a lovely time but the Anzac celebrations are still somewhat makeshift with all the usual sites out of operation from the earthquakes of 2010 and 2011. I didn’t make Anzac biscuits this year either.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes I thought about South Africa when I read Peace and Reconciliation on the noticeboard this afternoon. In many ways, I would say reconciliation can be harder work than conflict or war.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

