The Pineapple Guava

At this time of the year, with autumn leaves in full fall, there is very little left to harvest from my garden, with the exception of pineapple guavas or, as we like to call them, Feijoas.  The Feijoa tree is a relative newcomer to my small plot but it is already a prolific fruiter. I think most Feijoa trees are.  It is also easy care and has beautiful flowers which appear around Christmas time.  And it is evergreen, so it provides visual delight all year long.Feijoa feast

Feijoas are one of my favourite fruits but I find they are a very polarizing fruit in New Zealand. People seem to either hate them or love them.  I love them. I love them raw  and I love them cooked….. with, what else, but GINGER.  I make a delicious Feijoa and ginger short-cake (not available today, sorry 😦 ). Here’s a feast of photos instead.

If you would like to know more about Feijoas/pineapple guavas here is a Wiki link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acca_sellowiana

One interesting fact about Feijoas is that the fruit is ready only when it falls on the ground. So we pick the fruit from the ground and not the tree, although I believe that, if you want to hasten the harvest, you can tickle the fruit and catch it as it falls.

© silkannthreades

71 thoughts on “The Pineapple Guava

  1. Aquileana

    Great, dear Gallivanta… We call that fruit “Guanabara”… I am not sure it will work out here… unless probably in Misiones (where we have the Iguazu Falls) as it is the most tropical province in Argentina, neighbouring borders with Brazil and Paraguay….
    It seems a success in your garden!?. Do you like how it tastes?… It is like a passion fruit?…
    Sending love & best wishes! 😀

    Reply
  2. Mél@nie

    @”I love them. I love them raw and I love them cooked…” – same here, Lady-Ann… 🙂
    * * *
    I first time had them in Taiwan and then, in las Canarias(Canary islands), where they use it both as a fruit and a veggie(fried or cooked!)… so, as I told you @ facebook, do hope you have some spare ones for me… 🙂

    Reply
  3. Robbie

    Wow! The flowers are stunning on these plants. I wish I could grow them in our area:-)
    Fascinating, I never heard of them before in my life. If I ever get to your country, I want to try one some day-look so interesting:-) I have never seen them sold in our stores. It always amazes these foods that we do not ever hear about-local ones ,too:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      There’s fascinating produce in every corner of the world. When I visit my sister in Australia she always introduces me to new foods. I am sure there are lots of fruits and vegetables in your area that I haven’t encountered before.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: “It’s In His Kiss” in my kitchen | silkannthreades

  5. alan geeves

    Can feijoas cause hives?
    Ive eaten feijoas for years without problem but this year we have a bumper crop and the family have decided they dont like them so Ive been eating 4 or 5 a day and suddenly Im itchy all over. I used to get hives from stawberries and even now wont eat them on consecutive days or in big helpings.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Gosh, I have no idea. But one of the reasons I planted the feijoa tree is because it doesn’t produce much airborne pollen, so it is asthma friendly, which is great for me, an asthma sufferer. I love feijoas but I think I would struggle to eat 5 a day. Would the family like them if you turned them in to Jam?

      Reply
  6. Xraypics

    I love guava. Those growing here are mostly self seeded and we fight with the parrots, the possums and the rats to get them. I’d love to get enough to be able to stew them in syrup. My favourite. I wonder if Feijoas will grow in NQ? Tony

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes I love guavas too; the kind that you have. I know that feijoas do grow in Australia so it might be worth asking at a garden centre if they would do well in NQ. The birds in my garden don’t seem interested in the feijoas.

      Reply
        1. traditionis

          I came to post the recipe for guava marmelade! 300g very ripe guavas. 100g sugar 1/2 lemon juice Peel the guavas and take the seeds and cut.Place the guavas cut in a pan covered with sugar and lemon juice.Cover the pan and let rest for 1.30 m. After the break,take cooking over very low heat and stirring constantly so they start to boil.Cook for 30 minutes,until the point of staying in jelly into pieces.Once done let get cold naturally. Is very good to follow up with bread and cheese. Today I’ll post a recipe that I use this Guava jelly to fill.Have a nice day.

  7. Shakti Ghosal

    I have never had the opportunity to taste a Feijoas. Are these native to New Zealand?

    You are indeed blessed to have a garden and live amongst trees and plants.

    Shakti

    Reply
  8. Sheryl

    This a new fruit to me. I wish I could taste it so that I could determine if I loved it or hated it. (In general I like most fruits, so I’m guessing that I’d love it.)

    Reply
  9. IRENA

    It is quite funny to read about autumn leaves now as here spring just arrived 🙂 Anyway, I have to check local grocery if they might have that green thing – would be so funny to have it on the garden 😀 And for New Zealand a big ❤

    Reply
      1. Tracy Rhynas

        Yes, we too are entering that time of year where everything is turning yellow and the trees are becoming bare…. We’ve probably just had our last rain until September.

        Reply
  10. Mrs. P

    I wish someone, possibly a farmers market would have a fruit and vegetable tasting…like a wine tasting…so that I could try out different types of new foods, prepared in a desirable way. I have tried some fruits which I surprisingly did not like, such as mangoes. Yet, I see so many people eating and enjoying them and wonder…was mine not ripe or was it prepared wrong? I also don’t mind fruits that present a challenge getting to the tasty fleshy part…such as prickly pear. I think your pineapple guava should be part of the tasting…maybe I’ll get curious enough to buy one at the store and try it on my own.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Fruit tasting would be a grand idea. Mangoes can be tricky. I don’t eat them anymore because of allergies but as a child I ate them. Some were delicious and some were horrible.

      Reply
      1. Mrs. P

        I actually looked for some guavas when I went to the store the other day…sadly there were none. I found both mangoes and papaya but wasn’t interested. I think I’ll hold out for the guava and try a different store…one that carries more variety.

        Reply
  11. E

    Cool! I thought fruits like that grow only in my grandfather’s farm. Haha.

    Actually, we have in our province what we call “Guapol” – a hybrid of guava and apple. It’s really big and sweet. And that pineapple guava looks delish, too! 🙂

    Reply
  12. ordinarygood

    Oh yummy , yummy. What a wonderful crop you have. I planted a new dwarf variety Feijoa last winter but the cold spring and drought saw the tiny fruit drop off despite my continual watering and feeding….maybe next year. It is called “Bambina” and all of the fruit is edible apparently.
    The taste of feijoas is very hard to describe. Someone once told me that they have a medicinal smell when ripe.
    A wee neighbour used to call them “freetoa’s” and we still call them that!
    I love the idea that you can tickle them off the tree!!!! I love feijoas.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Freetoas; delightful. Sometimes, if I am lucky, I can forage feijoas along a few walkways in the city. They are certainly free. My feijoa took a few seasons to start fruiting. I think my first crop amounted to 2 feijoas. This year, despite the lack of rain the fruit is enormous. I think once the trees are established they can be ignored. They are tough. My tree is a smaller variety but not dwarf. Yes, how they taste is a tough question 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Good question! A bit like a guava; a little tart; and like nothing else I can think of. Not very helpful descriptions. I don’t really understand the pineapple description.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

