Down to the basics

Once upon a time I was an avid viewer of Martha Stewart’s TV series. Yet, despite my avidity, I think I have only  incorporated a couple of Martha’s ideas into my household ways.

The first idea was Martha’s method of stacking cups and saucers.   (http://www.marthastewart.com/275482/kitchen-organizing-tips/@center/277007/kitchen-design#end )   Although my cup and saucer collection is paltry compared to Martha’s, her system worked exceptionally well for me…..until….. the earthquakes, when I decided that stacks of cups/saucers were not the way to go. To be fair, my small monuments to Martha’s organizational genius didn’t even teeter in the first big earthquake. They remained rock solid, but I thought they looked too precarious to survive any further assaults on their structural integrity, so I deconstructed the stacks and rearranged my cups and saucers in a plain and simple fashion. Like this.Plain, simple, secure

Very bland, and hopefully very secure and safe. (Particularly safe if I remember to latch the cupboard door. Before the earthquakes, I had a reputation for leaving the contents of kitchen cupboards fully exposed. I have improved my lax ways.)  I am sure Martha would give me points for clean and tidy, but  would she be compelled to roll her eyes over the uncoordinated nature of my china? I fear so.

The second Martha ‘idea’ to enter my life was in the form of her recipe for Potato Frittata. As with the cups and saucers, I have adapted the idea/recipe to suit my circumstances but it is a frittata that I make regularly.  It is completely delicious and completely easy. I love it.

Here’s Martha at work on the frittata ( http://www.marthastewart.com/254051/potato-frittata), and here is my handiwork. Not bad, if I say so myself.Fantastic Frittata

Four ingredients; onions, olive oil, potatoes, eggs; a pinch of Martha and me and there you have it; a good basic meal. A salad, and a crusty loaf of bread on the side, make for mouth-watering perfection. Hungry?

© silkannthreades

27 thoughts on “Down to the basics

  1. Marylin Warner

    I have a similar pattern, and I love using the saucers! It’s funny how they ebb and flow in style, but Martha really did bring back saucers.
    I’m going to try the Frittata, too! Thanks for a fun post!

    Reply
  2. mmmarzipan

    That looks amazing! 🙂
    I was just talking about Martha today with my husband… my first memory of her was of a guest appearance on Oprah where she was showing a trick to fold fitted sheets perfectly!

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oh dear, and I think it would defeat me to explain in words how to do it. It is a life skill that you can save to learn when you reach my age 🙂

  3. Letizia

    Your frittata looks good 🙂

    Are you still having earthquakes? I never thought of the damage even a minor one could do to one’s china….

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, the china can be damaged but I suppose, more than protecting the china, we are protecting ourselves. Proper storage prevents dangerous flying objects and the mess/danger of broken glass and china on the floor. I haven’t felt any earthquakes for some months but they are still happening at a very low magnitude.

      Reply
      1. Letizia

        Of course! The china can fall on you or on the ground and then be dangerous. I’ve never lived anywhere where there are earthquakes so I have never thought of the details.

        I’m glad that the quakes are a bit quieter at least but also glad you are all prepared and vigilant.

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Thank you. We are more prepared in a material sense, but I don’t think it is possible to be prepared for the psychological shock of a big earthquake. I wish I were like the naturalist John Muir, who according to Wiki, during a large earthquake centered near Lone Pine, California, in March 1872, ran out of his cabin “both glad and frightened,” exclaiming, “A noble earthquake!” Then he preceded to rush out gathering evidence for one of his theories. Love that story.

    2. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, the china can be damaged but I suppose, more than protecting the china, we are protecting ourselves. Proper storage prevents dangerous flying objects and the mess/danger of broken glass and china on the floor. I haven’t felt any earthquakes for some months but they are still happening at a very low magnitude.

      Reply
      1. utesmile

        oh good, I have never come across anyone else who does not like them. Mind you , I prefer pasta and rice too, but there are some nice potato dishes like yours here!

        Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      She may not.:) But, really, it was a very practical way to stack cups in pre earthquake times. I am a fan of most frittatas but I always have the ingredients on hand for this one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

