Late Bloomers

‘Leo the Late Bloomer’ is one of my favourite books. (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/225542.Leo_the_Late_Bloomer) Written by Robert Kraus, the story tells us, through the character of Leo the little tiger, that each of us will bloom in our own good time. ‘ Leo the Late Bloomer’ is  usually referred to as a children’s book but I think the theme of the story has universal appeal. So I, on my own authority, have decided to delete the ‘children’ from the book’s description. Sorry, kids, but you can’t keep all the good books to yourselves!

Occasionally, I think of the story’s theme in relation to myself but, today, my attention was caught by the late bloomers in my garden. Here they are, in collage format, because I wanted to emphasize the visual impact of the  blue hues of their lateness.  The actual flowers are scattered thinly in different parts of the garden.Bluetiful

In two of the photos the blueness has not yet emerged; later than late bloomers, those ones. Some of the blooms may, more accurately, be described as stragglers, or long-lasting bloomers, but the plumbago is my true late bloomer having only emerged for the first time this week. But each flower is beautiful and, at this time of the year, very precious. The borage is especially precious to the remaining bees.  In fact, the bees are probably the reason that most of the late bloomers in my garden are blue toned. The colours that we perceive as purple, violet and blue are the colours the bees see best.

Thank you bees, thank you beautiful late bloomers and, as an afterthought, because the word ‘bloomers’ can never quite be said without a giggle in my brain,

No Thank You to those horrible blue garments we once had to  wear to physical education classes. They were bloomers too and were certainly not beautiful, nor intended to be. They discouraged any notion of birds and bees.

© silkannthreades

21 thoughts on “Late Bloomers

  1. Clanmother

    I loved it when you said, “So I, on my own authority, have decided…” That is such a decisive act of courage. It seems that once something is named, we merely accept it without question.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Aww, thank you. I am not very good at being bold and decisive and forthright, so I thought a little practice at determination would do me good. 🙂

      Reply
  2. utesmile

    These late bloomers are beautiful , and they make me want to be Spring here even more, I love flowers and colours , it makes me happy. Lovely to see this in the morning, to get me starting my day happy. I love blue, I probably would have liked the PE shirt 🙂 We have 0 degrees and the heating on as I ahve cold feet. When I see the first bloom around my area I will not hesitate to take a picture with my phone and share it with you. I can’t wait! I have hope that it will happen soon……. (I am wearing my red anklet to make me feel like summer…)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I have just seen news photos of the snow in the UK and sheep being pulled out from deep snow drifts. No wonder you need heating and the red anklet to keep you warm in body and soul. Glad you enjoyed the blue flowers.

      Reply
  3. Mrs. P

    Wow… how interesting. Did I get it correct that you are starting fall right now? I a curious because I also have plumbago in my garden and it started blooming about two weeks ago and as long as I cut off the dead flowers, it is expected to grow all the way into fall. I have a large area that gets full direct light for about 10-12 hours a day and they are one of the few plants that seems to tolerate it without dying. I also have recently had success with petunias in pots. I love that you have blue geraniums, I have never seen that variety before.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, it is fall. And really my plumbago should have been flowering months and months ago. I think I don’t have it in quite the right spot. Not enough sun. It just gets going about now, starts to look good and then a frost will come along and that’s it till the next year.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Yes, you spotted the borage. The three photos in the right hand corner are borage. The left half of the collage contains all the plumbago photos. The single blooms next to the borage are from the my Johnson’s Blue geranium. And the other photos are lobelia. Phew! I remembered all their names. I am hopeless at plant names. So, no phlox.

      Reply
  4. ottomandandy

    Blooming is the awakining of the nature…New hopes , new appetite to live and cope with life…It’s great to see the sun shining again …Welcome Spring !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

